Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bewarned, it's an extended version of 'How To Think Like A Programmer: Problem-solving for the Bewildered'
Having purchased and enjoyed 'How To Think Like A Programmer: Problem-solving for the Bewildered' by Paul Vickers I purchased this book thinking it was a different book completely which I think would be a fair assumption to make seeing as Amazon are offering an reduced price if you buy both books. What it actually is, in fact, is an extended version of 'Problem solving...
Published on 31 May 2010 by Tracey Couchman

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okish book
Had to buy it as was asked at Uni, I don't think that is a bad book to be honest, didn't finish it though.
Published 10 months ago by AAD


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bewarned, it's an extended version of 'How To Think Like A Programmer: Problem-solving for the Bewildered', 31 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Think Like a Programmer: Program Design Solutions For The Bewildered (Paperback)
Having purchased and enjoyed 'How To Think Like A Programmer: Problem-solving for the Bewildered' by Paul Vickers I purchased this book thinking it was a different book completely which I think would be a fair assumption to make seeing as Amazon are offering an reduced price if you buy both books. What it actually is, in fact, is an extended version of 'Problem solving for the Bewildered'.

The book itself is great, I match all the critera listed for whom the book is intended. I have being trying to learn Java, as both part of a uni course and now as a personal mission in my own time, and although I understood the syntax etc I couldn't quite get a grasp on the reasoning behind some of the logic and why programs are contructed the way that they are. This book explains all.

I recommend that if you are new to programming you would be wise to read this book first and then you will have a greater understanding of the logic behind programming which makes it easier to learn and apply a language to it.

I don't recommend that you buy both books, you'll be wasting your money, just buy this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good!, 31 May 2009
By 
Mr. Z "dureza" (Agueda, Portugal) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Think Like a Programmer: Program Design Solutions For The Bewildered (Paperback)
This book is, perhaps the best that I read about this topic. This is easy to read and simple to understand! I'm a computer science teacher and I use the book in my classes. Thank you Paul for your excelent work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really for the bewildered, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Think Like a Programmer: Program Design Solutions For The Bewildered (Paperback)
Excellent book if you find programming difficult! Really gives you a framework for working/solving problems and teaches you the very important pseudo-code. I recommend this book to everyone programming, the content of this book should be the beginning of every computer science class!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book -- I just wish there was an electronic copy!, 14 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Think Like a Programmer: Program Design Solutions For The Bewildered (Paperback)
UPDATE 07/12/12: My prior criticism of this book has been addressed by the author, so it's a full FIVE STARS for this little gem. The book that is, not the author (but I'm sure he's delightful)

This is an excellently written book that is conversational and straightforward without feeling dumbed down. The exercises are fun and allow for excellent memory retention and its length is not daunting, but certainly thorough in content. However, I really wish there was an eBook version available! It's a fair old lump to carry around all the time, and I'd love to have it saved to the HDD on my laptop for easy access wherever I am. Please Mr Vickers and/or Cengage, release an electronic version, and I swear I'll stick an extra star onto this review!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellently written, 1 Oct 2010
This review is from: How to Think Like a Programmer: Program Design Solutions For The Bewildered (Paperback)
Im studying Computer Systems and Networking and this book not only gets you thinking about how to solve problems within languages like Java but also real world situations. It applies programming problems to problems you have everyday to fully explain how to actively think to solve it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okish book, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Think Like a Programmer: Program Design Solutions For The Bewildered (Paperback)
Had to buy it as was asked at Uni, I don't think that is a bad book to be honest, didn't finish it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Web Technology student, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Think Like a Programmer: Program Design Solutions For The Bewildered (Paperback)
love this book!! It is very helpful! I'm a complete beginner and this book help me to think like a programmer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good book, 30 Oct 2012
This review is from: How to Think Like a Programmer: Program Design Solutions For The Bewildered (Paperback)
I found this book very useful as it was easy to understand, the way the author explained everything was good. No problems with delivery came within a few days book in very good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Think Like a Programmer: Program Design Solutions For The Bewildered
53.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews