Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very comprehensive
This book is a very good resource for anyone interested in holistic and complementary therapies. It covers a broad range of therapies from relfexology to reiki, and includes comprehensive sections on physiology and contra-indications.

Easy to read format with informative diagrams, and set up in a way that does not exclude anyone who is simply reading from a...
Published on 6 Aug. 2007 by Saniem

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good overview on popular holistic therapies
This books gives a good overview on some of the most popular holistic treatments, but it would not be sufficient for studying the subject alone. It's probably of best use if one wants to have an insight before going on a course - however that might be rather pricey.

Contains: health and safety issues, chemistry basics, basic anatomy and physiology, energy...
Published on 19 July 2011 by I.B.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very comprehensive, 6 Aug. 2007
This review is from: The Essential Guide to Holistic and Complementary Therapy (Paperback)
This book is a very good resource for anyone interested in holistic and complementary therapies. It covers a broad range of therapies from relfexology to reiki, and includes comprehensive sections on physiology and contra-indications.

Easy to read format with informative diagrams, and set up in a way that does not exclude anyone who is simply reading from a point of general interest or from outside the courses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic reference book, 20 Nov. 2010
By 
J. Hales (Shropshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Essential Guide to Holistic and Complementary Therapy (Paperback)
I started a Holistic Therapy course at my local college and bought this book to help me understand all the therapies that I was being taught and more. I now have a successful Holistic Therapy business and still refer to this book. Very interesting and straight forward with straight forward pictures and descriptions. Brilliant, would definately recommend this to any budding Holistic Therapist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glad I own It......, 7 Oct. 2010
This review is from: The Essential Guide to Holistic and Complementary Therapy (Paperback)
I'm studying Complementary Therapy Techniques and this book has been worth every penny. It has clear and easy to read information on all aspects of my course, it is relevant and up to date too.

It is quite a big book (almost A4 in size) with 466 pages (adds weight to your bag if you're carrying it to and fro every day), covering 23 subjects from Health and Safety to Reiki, and doesn't use Jargon without explaining what the term means.

For general interest it's a good read, as a study tool it's brilliant and sits nicely with the City & Guilds courses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Guide = essential book, 26 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Guide to Holistic and Complementary Therapy (Paperback)
This is an excellent manual for professionals and students. Would recommend it to anybody starting out in complementary therapy. You will not be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Guide to Holistic and Complementary Therapy, 18 April 2010
By 
This review is from: The Essential Guide to Holistic and Complementary Therapy (Paperback)
I BOUGHT THIS BOOK FOR MY COMPLEMENTARY THERAPY VCTC COURSE AND FOUND IT VERY USEFUL. IT HAS ALOT OF DIFFERENT SUBJECTS COVERED, NONE ARE REALLY IN DEPTH BUT THEY DO COVER THE BASICS OF MOST THERAPIES PLUS THE ANATOMY AND PATHOLOGIES. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS BOOK FOR ALL THERAPISTS WHO ARE STARTING OUT OR IF YOU JUST WANT TO LEARN A BIT AT HOME.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful Book, 8 Nov. 2010
This review is from: The Essential Guide to Holistic and Complementary Therapy (Paperback)
I bought this book as I was interested in learning more about holistic & comlementary therapies. I found this book very useful, giving a good insight into therapies. Im sure this book is not only useful for general interest but for those training in complementary therapies as detail is provided regarding therapies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great purchase, 25 Jun. 2011
This review is from: The Essential Guide to Holistic and Complementary Therapy (Paperback)
Lots of really useful information. Has given me inspiration as to what treatments I want to train in. Would recommend to beginners like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money!, 6 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Guide to Holistic and Complementary Therapy (Paperback)
This is a very useful tool, for helping to write assignments, general back ground knowledge and revision. Would highly recommend purchasing this book! Am very glad I bought it, as I first came across it in a library it must have been very popular as I can't seem to get a hold of it. If you are a student make sure you have this book in your book collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An easy guide to conplementary therapy, 10 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Guide to Holistic and Complementary Therapy (Paperback)
If you've heard of this book, you know you want it and it delivers everything it's supposed to, easy to read and packed full of all the important background and facts on every subject a complementary therapist covers. my copy will be close at hand for many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good overview on popular holistic therapies, 19 July 2011
By 
I.B. (Solihull, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Essential Guide to Holistic and Complementary Therapy (Paperback)
This books gives a good overview on some of the most popular holistic treatments, but it would not be sufficient for studying the subject alone. It's probably of best use if one wants to have an insight before going on a course - however that might be rather pricey.

Contains: health and safety issues, chemistry basics, basic anatomy and physiology, energy overview (chakras, yin & yang, meridians). It provides suggestions for in the areas of client care, posture + figure analysis, interpersonal skills and some business planning. Then, moving onto therapies: basic massage techniques, aromatherapy with some essential oils information, holistic facial, indian head massage, reflexology, crystal thearpy, colour therapy, thermal auricular therapy, Reiki, hot stone massage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Essential Guide to Holistic and Complementary Therapy
The Essential Guide to Holistic and Complementary Therapy by Helen Beckmann (Paperback - 28 Jan. 2005)
£31.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews