Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant
Contrary to the review above, I adore the recipes in this book. However if you want to live on a bland boring diet, don't bother! Some of the recipe titles sound quite exotic, but 'Vermont baked custard' is simply a baked custard flavoured with maple syrup, 'hoki fish balls' white fish (recipe states you can use haddock or cod instead) in an easy tomato sauce. Other...
Published on 11 Feb 2008 by Kate Cooks

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed feelings about this one
I was looking for recipes that are not the usual stew or chilli. I like to put my slow cooker to work, while I am at work, so I get home to a ready meal. You can not do so with these recipes. For most of them you have to be present in the kitchen as they require adding ingredient mid-cooking. Also the preparation is quite long for many of the dishes. You get to put the...
Published on 11 Feb 2012 by mamarozi


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant, 11 Feb 2008
By 
Kate Cooks (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
Contrary to the review above, I adore the recipes in this book. However if you want to live on a bland boring diet, don't bother! Some of the recipe titles sound quite exotic, but 'Vermont baked custard' is simply a baked custard flavoured with maple syrup, 'hoki fish balls' white fish (recipe states you can use haddock or cod instead) in an easy tomato sauce. Other recipes include Lancashire hot-pot, tapioca pudding, baked stuffed apples and chocolate chip and banana pudding - this book offers plenty of basics and plenty of slightly more exotic recipes to choose from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars /step-by-step Slow Cooker Recipes, 28 Sep 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Step-by-step Slow Cooker Recipes: 60 Mouthwatering Meals with Minimum Effort But Maximum Flavour (Paperback)
I needed a book on recipes for my new slow cooker as the one that came with the device featured only 4 recipes! I have now made several of the dishes featured in the book and found them very simple and easy to follow. My cooker seemed to cook faster than was suggested in the this new recipe book but that's okay. I've only had the book a few weeks so have not made much more than soups (delicious) and a meat dish. This has been mainly because the weather has been rather hot for the type of meals we normally consume. Iwould recommend this book both for experienced users of slow cookers and novices like myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars slow cooker recipe book, 8 April 2010
By 
Helen Maclean (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Step-by-step Slow Cooker Recipes: 60 Mouthwatering Meals with Minimum Effort But Maximum Flavour (Paperback)
For those of you who don't know much about slow cooking this is a great introduction, it has some really nice recipes in it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed feelings about this one, 11 Feb 2012
This review is from: Step-by-step Slow Cooker Recipes: 60 Mouthwatering Meals with Minimum Effort But Maximum Flavour (Paperback)
I was looking for recipes that are not the usual stew or chilli. I like to put my slow cooker to work, while I am at work, so I get home to a ready meal. You can not do so with these recipes. For most of them you have to be present in the kitchen as they require adding ingredient mid-cooking. Also the preparation is quite long for many of the dishes. You get to put the ingredients to the slow cooker very late in the process.
But...I'm slowly starting to realize, that if you want to cook anything other than stews or chillies in the slow cooker, it takes a bit more work in order to make it taste right. I'll keep this book for days, when I'm at home and want to prepare something nice. For my work-days I'll stick to other books. The recipes are interesting and the pictures are really appetizing. I could debate about the "step by step" thing; it means you get an extra one or two photos of the food in preparation, but that's about it. The book also includes basic slow cooker information.
So, if you are looking for recipes, that are simple, "throw it in, plug it in and forget about it", this is not the book for you. But, if you are looking for a bit different slow cooker book, it's worth a try!

edited to add:
after a closer look I'm really curious, what recipes allowed one of the reviewer's son&daughter in law, to have their meals cooked while at work-there are no such recipes. Cooking times are very short and practically ALL of the recipes require adding ingredients at various stages of cooking and extensive preparation before you can put food in the slow cooker. It's not a recipe book you can use to prepare food in the slow cooker while you are away from home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - wow your friends with these recipes, 9 May 2011
By 
kelly woolley "Kelly" (Bredhurst, Kent, England) - See all my reviews
Try the beef in horseradish sauce recipe - ok there is a bit of prep involved but you won't be disappointed - it was worth the extra effort - my children loved it. My dad regularly cooks the meatball recipe for his friends. If you have a slow cooker you must own this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SLOW COOKING, 16 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Step-by-step Slow Cooker Recipes: 60 Mouthwatering Meals with Minimum Effort But Maximum Flavour (Paperback)
Bought this book for our Grandson & his lovely lady, they were really happy with it as they work long hours, yet come home to a cooked meal. The recipes are easy to follow, & very adaptable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 51 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars cooking for the adventurous slow cooker, 15 Nov 2007
By 
Mrs. M. Ainley "honeybunch" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book has 7 sections, soups and appetizers, fish and shellfish, poultry and game, meat dishes, vegetarian and side dishes, desserts and cakes, preserves and drinks. 95 pages.
Page 12 starts with the 1st recipe: French onion soup with cheese croutes. Many of the recipes sound delicious but be prepared to stock up your cupboards with many of the ingredients.
Its for the adventurous slow-cooker cook. Not many of the meals are family orientated eg, Spinach and Nut stuffed herrings, Hoki balls in tomato sauce, Creamy anchovy and potato bake and thats just the fish section. In the poultry section however, you could make Spring chicken slow-braised in smoky bacon sauce or the old english fave Caribbean peanut chicken. Failing that there`s Chicken in a cashew nut sauce !! (granny would raise an eye brow or two!) meat dishes consist of braised beef in a rich peanut sauce, hot and sour pork. vegetarian and side dishes consist of Mushroom and Fennel hot-pot (yummy) or you could grace your meal plate with the Coconut, tomato and lentil Dhal with toasted almonds recipe(only 18 ingredients in that one).
Should I go on with the Vermont baked Maple custard dessert or Poached Pears in Red Wine?
I think you may have got the message by now.
If you want simple family cooking there are about 8 recipes in this book that would suit both adults and children and most of them are in the meat and dessert dishes.
However, on the other hand if you are cooking to impress, then this book is for you Delia.... !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cook book, 18 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book of recipes for the slow cooker,nice illustrations and clear concise instructions making the recipes easy to follow.The proof is in the pudding as they say and so far I have not been disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice meals, 29 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Step-by-step Slow Cooker Recipes: 60 Mouthwatering Meals with Minimum Effort But Maximum Flavour (Paperback)
Some nice recipes in this book. Simple to cook and very tasty. I'm glad I bought this and its really useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars slow cooker recipe book, 14 Jan 2012
By 
pipkins (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have another recipe book for my slow cooker but it just contained stews etc, this book is brilliant, you can even bake cakes, a must for anyone thinking of getting or already has a slow cooker!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Step-by-step Slow Cooker Recipes: 60 Mouthwatering Meals with Minimum Effort But Maximum Flavour
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews