Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
17
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 August 2006
Dig Deeper! Or that's what the title to Nigel Beynon and Andrew Sach's book encouraged me to do as I read the Bible. Dig Deeper! Tools to unearth the Bible's treasure is a short 160 page book published by IVP UK, aiming to equip believers with the methods they need to improve their reading and understanding of the Bible.

The book contains 17 different `tools' for getting the most from the Bible including, the structure tool, the translations tool and the copycat tool, among others. Each `tool' is given a few pages of explanation, with a useful "worked example" and then followed up with exercises to do yourself. This makes the book easy to study and absorb, as the repetition of the concepts through the examples and exercises works it into your memory.

A word of warning however, this is not a scholarly book and nor is it in depth but neither does it claim to be this. In the bibliography at the back of the book other more advanced books are suggested for the reader, if they feel they would like to go further. This is a book that I cannot fail to recommend highly enough to the average non-scholarly Christian, providing an excellent entry level guide to getting the most out of the Bible.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
Really useful book! it's a fairly standard sized book, but I read through it in 2 days easily without feeling like I was smashing my brain up. The chapters are short and to the point and it covers the 'tools' of tackling bible passages. I can see it being very useful in the future for quick reference too!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2006
I think this book is very helpful. It is easy to read and gives good advice, which would be applicable to reading all sorts of books, not just the bible, though it focusses particularly on understanding the bible.

But there is one thing missing, and it is a huge oversight, I think. The bible is about Christ. You could conceivably miss this in reading the Old Testament, but it is, I hope, glaringly obvious in the New Testament.

The book gives many sensible tools for unearthing the riches in the bible, but never mentions the fact that you will fail to understand the bible and miss its message if you don't ask yourself, how does this part of the bible relate to Jesus Christ and God's plan to reveal himself to the world through him?

I think this should be tool number one in the next edition of the book.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2014
This book is golden and I think it should accompany every copy of the Bible.

Over the centuries, the scripture has been misused in some very dangerous ways - justification of Apartheid, the growth of various cults, the oppression of scientific knowledge growth (From some, not all), etc. This book helps one to avoid the pitfalls of misunderstanding the Bible and to enjoy the blessing that is to be found in understanding it correctly. With 16 tools for understanding any Bible passage, I find this book to be an invaluable help especially for the more challenging chapters.

Naturally, the techniques in this book aren't exhaustive but they serve well to encourage one to ask the right questions.

If you truly want to understand the Bible well then you need to learn how to read it, so get this book!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
A great resource written in friendly style but with depth. We are about to use it as a group study and I am excited about the potential for this book to help lots of people to understand the Bible better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2015
This is such a great tool-kit to help the average reader to really 'get into' passages, rather than simply skimming through the story. The authors add humour and make it really practical. It's a great book to introduce to your Bible Study groups to work through passages together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2010
Having not read a book before this for about 4 years I couldn't have chosen a better book than this.

There's so many different things in the Bible which I just didn't pick up beforehand and can so easily be missed

The "tools" are sort of in 2 categories. The first deals with practical stuff to help you understand what's being said so that you interpret it correctly, especially in an age with so many false teachings and false interpretations based on half truths from the bible, but I won't go into that.

The second moves on to thinking towards how best you would fit into what's being taught by the bible. It shows where you should or shouldn't apply yourself, again I suppose this helps prevent misinterpreting the Bible.

Overall, A brilliant read for new AND more "mature" Christians.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2013
This book contains brilliant, practical tools to understand scripture the way it should be understood. Definitely recommended for anyone with a desire to understand and teach God's word.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2011
There are no fancy skills or language needed just a great introduction to the basic skills every person seeking to read the Bible well or to ' handle the word of truth correctly ' as Paul would put it. This book is great because it makes finding the treasures of the Bible possible for everyone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2006
This slim book is an ideal introduction to fresh ways in which to read and understand the Bible. It's written in a light, engaging style and is full of examples from the Bible and from everyday life. The "toolkit" consists of sixteen different ways in which to approach a Bible passage in order to understand some of the more subtle nuances within it such as considering the context, structure, genre and repetition involved in the text. These tools are each admirably illustrated from the Bible and there are further examples given for study. Although appreciating these tools I couldn't help but wonder how useful many of them would be as they sometimes seemed to be focusing on aspects of the Bible that are infrequent and hard to find.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)