Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read
As the subtitle makes clear, the contents are "the convictions of a lifelong pastor"; and it is interesting to compare these with "9 marks of a healthy church" (Mark Dever) and "Do we have a policy?"(Peter Masters), both of which have a similar objective - ie is the Christian church of the 21st century anywhere near what it should be? And how should we plan to achieve...
Published on 19 Jun 2007 by dp23

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ok. Not as good as you would expect from John Stott
Pretty general stuff. Nothing for an evangelical Christian to majorly disagree with, except the sympathy towards anglican structures. A bit bland.
Published 20 months ago by JB


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read, 19 Jun 2007
This review is from: The Living Church: The Convictions of a Lifelong Pastor (Paperback)
As the subtitle makes clear, the contents are "the convictions of a lifelong pastor"; and it is interesting to compare these with "9 marks of a healthy church" (Mark Dever) and "Do we have a policy?"(Peter Masters), both of which have a similar objective - ie is the Christian church of the 21st century anywhere near what it should be? And how should we plan to achieve progress towards that end?

After a chapter on "Essentials", (a learning church, a caring church, a worshipping church, and an evangelizing church), there are deeper considerations of worship, evangelism, ministry, fellowship, preaching, and giving - and a thought-provoking chapter on Salt and Light - followed by a conclusion called "Looking for Timothys in the 21st Century".

The author's CofE background surfaces only occasionally; and there is an appendix explaining why he is happy to remain in that denomination. However, the fact that he does so should not detract from the aim of the book - which is to challenge the reader as to the current state of the fellowship to which they belong.

In a day when many churches have no vision other than to preserve tradition and the status quo, while others are intent on casting off all restraint, it is good to be brought back to biblical principles, and made to think about what could be, what should be, and what needs to be if we are to have any impact in this generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Convictions to live by, 21 Jun 2007
By 
C. Pascu "Cosmin Pascu" (Belfast) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Living Church: The Convictions of a Lifelong Pastor (Paperback)
`The Living Church` covers so well the convictions of a respected and lifelong beloved servant of Christ. This book presents so vividly the essence of the Christian basics for a local church, which belongs to Christ. Dr. John Stott does not squander the pages of his book, as others do, rather, he argues for a Biblical belief & practice for every young or old servant of Christ, who serves not his people but Christ's.

As a Romanian servant, I have found this book very challenging and helpful. I do not want to be flashy, but in my view, John Stott is the equivalent of Paul for the 21st Century, speaking to me, his child Timothy. It incredible to see that Dr. John Stott focuses so much on Christ, and not on himself, as others do, and this, without doubt, will be the foundation of my life and work before Christ. I want to press even further the comment made by Richard Bewes to this book, in saying that Dr. John Stott has not just `given us gold on every page` but shining diamonds. Here is a quotation which proves the point above: "The importing thing about eternal life is not its duration but its quality` The Living Church, page 157

Read it, it will defiantly persuade you to grow in knowing and loving Christ more, in following and serving Christ in the 21st Century, and it will force you to act on behalf of all of God's people until Christ returns.

Thank you Dr. John Stott

With a thankful heart,

Cosmin Pascu,

Romanian serving Christ as Student Assistant at ASC, [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A living church is not impossible, 30 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Living Church: The Convictions of a Lifelong Pastor (Paperback)
The structure of the book is based on a comprehensive survey of churches in which nine patterns or practices kept reappearing. John Stott takes each of these practices and examines them from a biblical perspective. The chapters are as follows:
Preface: Emerging churches
Essentials: God's vision for his church
Worship: Glorying in God's holy name
Evangelism: Mission through the local church
Ministry: The twelve and the seven
Fellowship: The implications of koinonia
Preaching: Five paradoxes
Giving: Ten principles
Impact: Salt and light
Conclusion: Looking for Timothys in the twenty-first century
Three historical appendices
Each chapter is broken up into small sections so that the whole is very readable. It is also thought provoking and refreshing to read. For example the section on giving whilst giving ten principles with regards to giving does not mention tithing.
I have found some of John Stott's writing rather heavy going at times but not this book, which I highly recommend to anyone who wants to know what church should be about. Perhaps one of the comments on the back of the book sums it up - "John Stott unpacks the Bible's wisdom with a teacher's skill and applies it with a pastor's heart. Becoming a living church is not an impossible goal."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really worth the read, 10 Aug 2010
By 
F. Ellis-Winkfield (Leicestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Living Church: The Convictions of a Lifelong Pastor (Paperback)
John Stott - excellent as ever, but on a subject that is not straight forward bible exposition. Some challenging ideas that make sense. We were involved in a strategy discussion in our churches and this gave me some good ideas and thoughts about how to move forward. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, Obvious but Profound, 23 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Living Church: The Convictions of a Lifelong Pastor (Paperback)
This is the first book that I've read by John Stott. But it won't be the last! After reading an except on the internet (which made absolute sense) I though I'd purchase the book, and have not been disappointed
Stott has a reputation for making the complicated, simple but to be honest there isn't much that is complicated in the book BUT his articulation of simple but vital spiritual truths is exemplary.
There are no surprises here, nearly all of what he says has been said before; but what he says and how he says it is vital to the growth of healthy churches. Highly Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book in very good condition, 19 Nov 2013
By 
M. EVELEIGH (North Somerset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Living Church: The Convictions of a Lifelong Pastor (Paperback)
As ever, very swift and smooth transaction. This is a very good book for any Christian to read. It is clear and good to think with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok. Not as good as you would expect from John Stott, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Living Church: The Convictions of a Lifelong Pastor (Paperback)
Pretty general stuff. Nothing for an evangelical Christian to majorly disagree with, except the sympathy towards anglican structures. A bit bland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Living Church: The Convictions of a Lifelong Pastor
The Living Church: The Convictions of a Lifelong Pastor by John R.W. Stott (Paperback - 18 May 2007)
9.33
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews