Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for those who want to understand the
This classic work by John Stott brings a scholarly theological approach to the central subject matter of the Christian faith - the death of Jesus Christ on the cross.
Stott, the Rector Emeritus of All Souls, London - takes the bible seriously and treats it throughout as a work inspired by God as opposed to a book of intersting philosophies. However Stott does not...
Published on 30 Nov 2001 by Amazon Customer

versus
6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Over the top.
As a wavering Christian I have had two attempts at reading this book. It is beautifully written and up to John Stott's usual standard. I find however his reasoning is very complicated and suppositional. A problem area for me has always been the Atonement. John Stott, rather than enlightening me has made this subject all the more difficult to accept with his intense...
Published on 21 May 2010 by Mr. M. P. Cox


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for those who want to understand the, 30 Nov 2001
This review is from: The Cross of Christ (Paperback)
This classic work by John Stott brings a scholarly theological approach to the central subject matter of the Christian faith - the death of Jesus Christ on the cross.
Stott, the Rector Emeritus of All Souls, London - takes the bible seriously and treats it throughout as a work inspired by God as opposed to a book of intersting philosophies. However Stott does not gloss over the differing interpretations of these words and events. The book provides a fascinating summary of the historical thinking on the subject of the cross as well as an exposition of the truth as it is found in the bible.
For someone not ready for such a scholarly work but wanting to read more on the subject I would suggest a book such as Meynell's "Cross-Examined", however for anyone who wants to think deeply on this important subject, Stott's book is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid stuff!, 12 Oct 1999
This review is from: The Cross of Christ (Paperback)
Stott gives a clear explanation of the biblical and historical basis of Christian belief concerning the crucifixion of Christ: this book is full of life and inspiration and neither stuffy nor remote from real issues. Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cross of Christ, 13 Sep 2009
By 
Mike S (Canterbury UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cross of Christ: 20th Anniversary Edition (Hardcover)
John Stott takes the reader on a biblically based journey exploring just about every question in relation to the cross that you can think of. Although it is 'strong meat' I found it easy to read, not heavy going.
After reading it my desire for Jesus has increased so much that my desires for sin have decreased, it has had a sanctifying effect on me. I am even more in awe of the God who loves us so much that he gave his one and only son so that we can be reconciled to himself.
This book is a must read for any christian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, 4 July 2008
This review is from: The Cross of Christ: 20th Anniversary Edition (Hardcover)
John Stott manages to make a detailed study of the cross of Christ a joy to read. The book is deeply challenging but very uplifting. I read it after reading Steve Chalke's 'The lost message of Jesus'. While Steve's book made me feel good about myself but John's book made me feel good about God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It is well written, however it's not for the faint of heart., 14 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. D. Butt (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Cross of Christ: 20th Anniversary Edition (Hardcover)
John Stott's book the Cross of Christ is a very deep study and analysis of the importance and significance of Christ's death. It is well written, however it's not for the faint of heart. It is a thick read, and at times it can be hard grasp the points John Stott tries to convey. I did however find very interesting in chapter 2 where the author writes of `why did Christ die' from which John Stott clarifies a common misconception within Christian circles; that is in reference to Christ on the cross, `He was not killed; he died' (p61). In other words, Jesus was a willing sacrifice. So often I have heard ministers and preachers say the expression, `Jesus was murdered upon a cross', but however is not true at all. Christ died by giving himself up; he was not taken against his will. In chapter 7, John Stott writes about the different arguments supporting the language of propitiation and that of expiation, and I found it an interesting read. On page 169, the author says `to propitiate somebody means to appease or pacify his anger' and the linguistic argument against this is that of expiation, `...or the removal of defilement' (p170). I had only ever come across the first of these, and it was interesting to read C.H Dodds interpretation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly John Stott at his very best, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cross of Christ: 20th Anniversary Edition (Hardcover)
The death of Jesus Christ is the central fact of the gospel and John Sott reall y does that theme full justice. I read this book many years ago and reading it again reignites my enthusiasm for the messge of the cross. I would certainly recommend this book to any who want to know the heart of the New Testament message.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christian Theology at Its Best, 31 Aug 2011
By 
R. BROMHAM "Mr B" (Swansea, S. Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cross of Christ: 20th Anniversary Edition (Hardcover)
'The Cross of Christ' (20th anniversary edition 2006) is without doubt the 'magnum opus'of the late John Stott. Here we have, at its best, an evangelical defence of the biblical teaching on penal substitution as well as every other facet of this great doctrine, biblically and historically.The timeless relevance of this book cannot be over-stated, especially in view of recent attempts to question the truth of the vicarious suffering of Christ on the Cross as the expression of the anger of God against sin (while, of course, displaying his mercy to the sinner). A bargain at twice the price !

Ray Bromham
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Son and Holy Spirit with the deepest love imaginable!, 5 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is true Christianity; pure and simple. It will leave you loving Father, Son and Holy Spirit with the deepest love imaginable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An in depth study, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An in depth study of the implications of the death of Jesus on the cross and what it can mean to a believer. It does take some concentration when reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cross of Christ: 20th Anniversary Edition (Hardcover)
The author's reputation is well deserved. This simply must be the best treatment of the Cross of Calvary in print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cross of Christ: 20th Anniversary Edition
The Cross of Christ: 20th Anniversary Edition by John Stott (Hardcover - 20 Oct 2006)
17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews