Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Digging Deeper
Dig Deeper! Or that's what the title to Nigel Beynon and Andrew Sach's book encouraged me to do as I read the Bible. Dig Deeper! Tools to unearth the Bible's treasure is a short 160 page book published by IVP UK, aiming to equip believers with the methods they need to improve their reading and understanding of the Bible.

The book contains 17 different `tools'...
Published on 26 Aug 2006 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars digging, deep,...... and dry?!
I have been a Christian fast approaching three decades and yet I cannot deny that the Bible remains a difficult book to understand. Sure there are parts of it that are so simple that even a child can explain them. But to know the Bible well, to know how it all fits together, to know how it applies to me all these years after it was written, requires dedication, hard work...
Published on 6 July 2010 by J. DOUGLAS


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Digging Deeper, 26 Aug 2006
This review is from: Dig Deeper!: Tools to Unearth the Bible's Treasure (Paperback)
Dig Deeper! Or that's what the title to Nigel Beynon and Andrew Sach's book encouraged me to do as I read the Bible. Dig Deeper! Tools to unearth the Bible's treasure is a short 160 page book published by IVP UK, aiming to equip believers with the methods they need to improve their reading and understanding of the Bible.

The book contains 17 different `tools' for getting the most from the Bible including, the structure tool, the translations tool and the copycat tool, among others. Each `tool' is given a few pages of explanation, with a useful "worked example" and then followed up with exercises to do yourself. This makes the book easy to study and absorb, as the repetition of the concepts through the examples and exercises works it into your memory.

A word of warning however, this is not a scholarly book and nor is it in depth but neither does it claim to be this. In the bibliography at the back of the book other more advanced books are suggested for the reader, if they feel they would like to go further. This is a book that I cannot fail to recommend highly enough to the average non-scholarly Christian, providing an excellent entry level guide to getting the most out of the Bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to Read the Bible well, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dig Deeper!: Tools to Unearth the Bible's Treasure (Paperback)
This book is golden and I think it should accompany every copy of the Bible.

Over the centuries, the scripture has been misused in some very dangerous ways - justification of Apartheid, the growth of various cults, the oppression of scientific knowledge growth (From some, not all), etc. This book helps one to avoid the pitfalls of misunderstanding the Bible and to enjoy the blessing that is to be found in understanding it correctly. With 16 tools for understanding any Bible passage, I find this book to be an invaluable help especially for the more challenging chapters.

Naturally, the techniques in this book aren't exhaustive but they serve well to encourage one to ask the right questions.

If you truly want to understand the Bible well then you need to learn how to read it, so get this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great!, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really useful book! it's a fairly standard sized book, but I read through it in 2 days easily without feeling like I was smashing my brain up. The chapters are short and to the point and it covers the 'tools' of tackling bible passages. I can see it being very useful in the future for quick reference too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read and engaging, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great resource written in friendly style but with depth. We are about to use it as a group study and I am excited about the potential for this book to help lots of people to understand the Bible better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable resource, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dig Deeper (Kindle Edition)
This book contains brilliant, practical tools to understand scripture the way it should be understood. Definitely recommended for anyone with a desire to understand and teach God's word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent tool for biblical understanding, 18 Mar 2010
By 
Matthew Titcombe (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dig Deeper!: Tools to Unearth the Bible's Treasure (Paperback)
Having not read a book before this for about 4 years I couldn't have chosen a better book than this.

There's so many different things in the Bible which I just didn't pick up beforehand and can so easily be missed

The "tools" are sort of in 2 categories. The first deals with practical stuff to help you understand what's being said so that you interpret it correctly, especially in an age with so many false teachings and false interpretations based on half truths from the bible, but I won't go into that.

The second moves on to thinking towards how best you would fit into what's being taught by the bible. It shows where you should or shouldn't apply yourself, again I suppose this helps prevent misinterpreting the Bible.

Overall, A brilliant read for new AND more "mature" Christians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide, with one reservation, 31 Oct 2006
This review is from: Dig Deeper!: Tools to Unearth the Bible's Treasure (Paperback)
I think this book is very helpful. It is easy to read and gives good advice, which would be applicable to reading all sorts of books, not just the bible, though it focusses particularly on understanding the bible.

But there is one thing missing, and it is a huge oversight, I think. The bible is about Christ. You could conceivably miss this in reading the Old Testament, but it is, I hope, glaringly obvious in the New Testament.

The book gives many sensible tools for unearthing the riches in the bible, but never mentions the fact that you will fail to understand the bible and miss its message if you don't ask yourself, how does this part of the bible relate to Jesus Christ and God's plan to reveal himself to the world through him?

I think this should be tool number one in the next edition of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Oct 2014
There's now a page on facebook linked to the Dig Deeper books www.facebook.com/DigDeeperBook
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read and great examples to work through, 9 July 2009
By 
Ms. G. Rickson (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dig Deeper!: Tools to Unearth the Bible's Treasure (Paperback)
This book is clearly written and whilst it covers a lot of ground, it is not dense at all. It has lots of worked examples of useful tools to better understand the bible. The nexamples are meaty enough to be worthwhile and short enough not to be daunting. Of course, the best thing about it is that it helps you to study the Bible in more depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple and effective, 5 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dig Deeper!: Tools to Unearth the Bible's Treasure (Paperback)
There are no fancy skills or language needed just a great introduction to the basic skills every person seeking to read the Bible well or to ' handle the word of truth correctly ' as Paul would put it. This book is great because it makes finding the treasures of the Bible possible for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dig Deeper!: Tools to Unearth the Bible's Treasure
Dig Deeper!: Tools to Unearth the Bible's Treasure by Andrew Sach (Paperback - 15 Dec 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews