Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another triumph for Vanessa Gebbie, 19 Nov 2010
This review is from: Storm Warning: Echoes of Conflict (Salt Modern Fiction) (Paperback)
It would be difficult to beat Gebbie's stunning last collection of short stories "Words from a Glass Bubble" but she has certainly achieved it. This new collection is certainly more challenging written under the theme of war and its impact in many differing ways on lives throughout the world, across the centuries, but the results are as brilliant & thought-provoking as ever.
I applaud Gebbie for being brave enough not to embrace "feel-good" - a real creative achievement. Can't wait for the novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Storm Warning indeed..., 15 April 2011
By 
Zoe King - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Storm Warning: Echoes of Conflict (Salt Modern Fiction) (Paperback)
The first story I read from this collection was 'Letters from Kilburn'. It's starts out as deceptively light - 'Dear Your Majesty, I hope you do not mind that I am writing. It is about the water pipes at Essex Heights. The water is brown and I am worried...'

The story is told in a series of letters, each slowly building a picture we can't possibly have known was coming, but the whole is beautifully and dexterously handled.

I was in at the birth of two or three of these stories. Back then, The Ale-Heretic wasn't quite fully formed, wasn't quite revealing himself. Read him here and he serves as testament to the almost exponential growth of a truly gifted writer. The same is true of 'Sparks' Faraday and others who inhabit these pages. Rarely have I found flash fictions of so few words capable of evoking such deep emotional responses.

Though it's a slim volume, it is not a book to be read in a sitting. In truth, I think most readers would find that impossible because each story demands that one takes a mind-breath, takes the time to consider, and reconsider. Gebbie explores the lives of seemingly ordinary people, and reveals depth and complexity in the human condition that we all too easily forget.

A stunning collection. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting, poignant and involving, 23 Jan 2011
This review is from: Storm Warning: Echoes of Conflict (Salt Modern Fiction) (Paperback)
Vanessa Gebbie is a writer who has the ability to set the scene with spare but poignant words and phrases, creating an instant image of the lives of her "friends" she is writing about. Their lives are often sad, unsatisfactory, even tormented but then that is what you expect when reading about Echoes of Conflict. Her range is from the first World War to the Berlin Wall and each story is succinct and tremendously moving. She makes you care about the sometimes flawed but ultimately fragile people in her stories. Well done and I am looking forward to reading more from Vanessa. A talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterclass, 12 Jan 2011
This review is from: Storm Warning: Echoes of Conflict (Salt Modern Fiction) (Paperback)
I must say I tried to stay cool before reading Gebbie's new collection of short stories and flash fiction. Her first collection Words From a Glass Bubble was exquisite: the stories were unique and authentic, the characters felt like I'd known them for years, and the narrative voices were both peculiar and particular, and all the more endearing for that. I was both excited and a little skeptical, thinking, No way Gebbie can pull it off again.

She did.

And she made every aspect of story-telling appear so natural and unconstrained. It's almost like slipping on ice, Oops, she did it again, made us fall in love with her.

There are many stories that stayed with me. Since I have been through war, I can relate and quite appreciate the way Gebbie treats war. I have particular love for sappers (ever since I read The English Patient), and like Gebbie's treatment of that bizarre profession (I think her father was a sapper).

There is one story that stands out for me, "Letters from Kilburn", which has an epistolary form, and consists of the letters exchanged between an Iraqi boy Karim Hussein and Her Majesty's Deputy Secretary. Karim writes to the Queen to ask for help and after a few standard answers, suddenly we discover a human being, a person behind the "function." I will not reveal much more, but want to stress that for someone who has written fiction myself, this story is a masterclass in this kind of voice. Stories that use this form to make a certain point are most often than not preachy, un-engaging, stiff, formulaic, you get the point. "Letters from Kilburn" is gets under my skin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A right good read, 17 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: Storm Warning: Echoes of Conflict (Salt Modern Fiction) (Paperback)
For me a short story is either excellent or no good at all. Therefore looking for collections of short stories is primarily looking for a reliable author and when you find one such rare source you will look forward to the next collection. This is what happens when I read these stories by Vanessa Gebbie. Again and again they outdo your expectations and delight in new ways. In Letters From Kilburn at first I thought I might have found a so-so one but what unfolded in the series of letters got me by the heart and squeezed, which is not common at all in short stories. Don't be surprised if that one becomes a film. All of the stories are related to war but not in any predictable way, which is all the better. I need stories and when other books to hand let me down I know I can open this little book and read something wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Haunted and haunting stories, 17 April 2011
This review is from: Storm Warning: Echoes of Conflict (Salt Modern Fiction) (Paperback)
Both haunted and haunting, Vanessa Gebbie's protagonists in these unsettling stories move through the present but remain always tethered to the past. No war stories these, but explorations of what it means to "survive" the conflicts and horrors created by humans across centuries and continents. Like Pat Barker, Gebbie gives voice to those who cannot forget, even decades later, who was taken and and what was lost in the blood and mud. Gebbie's strength lies in her poetic and poignant combination of reality and dream, the weaving together of outer experience and inner turbulence, and the small sparks of hope even in the darkest corners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Moving and original, 17 April 2011
This review is from: Storm Warning: Echoes of Conflict (Salt Modern Fiction) (Paperback)
21 stories of power and great psychological insight. They range widely in terms of location, historical period, conflicts global and national, and domestic tragedy - but all focus movingly on those living the effects of past trauma. An event or moment that defines the very different and damaged person they've become. The writing is deceptively simple and concise, not a word wasted, and packed with telling imagery and analogies. Gebbie's earlier collection, Words From A Glass Bubble, I found equally memorable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Short Stories of Gravity and Weight, 4 April 2011
By 
Sophie Playle (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Storm Warning: Echoes of Conflict (Salt Modern Fiction) (Paperback)
In 'Storm Warning', Vanessa Gebbie explores the experiences and after-affects of those caught up in a variety of different wars. Adopting a myriad of voices, the stories range from the shell-shocked and the horrific, to the surreal. Despite its brevity, this book is weighty in importance and heavy in meaning.

My favourites, if I were to choose: 'The Return of the Baker, Edwin Tregear', 'Letters from Kilburn', 'The Salt Box', 'Background Noise', 'An Arm in a Blue Sleeve' and 'Large Capacity, Severe Abuse'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An evocative and beautiful study of war, 10 Feb 2011
This review is from: Storm Warning: Echoes of Conflict (Salt Modern Fiction) (Paperback)
These stories are beautifully written in a sometimes sparse, but always poetic prose. To use the stock phrase 'no word is wasted'. The stories are concerned with the impact of war and conflict and address this from a myriad viewpoints and the author shows a deep empathy and understanding of the psychology of her characters. There are no easy answers, there is no black and white, many of the characters here exist in the grey. A word of warning though: not to be consumed whole! I found the evocative and sometimes disturbing images to be suited to a slower approach, reading one or two, mulling over and then returning again later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vivid and Unsettling, 13 Dec 2010
By 
Jo Cannon (Chesterfield, Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Storm Warning: Echoes of Conflict (Salt Modern Fiction) (Paperback)
These powerful stories will enthral and unsettle you. Take them one at a time, and pause after each. This is not a collection to rush through. Though the settings vary in time and place, each voice rings true. Many scenes are so visual they will live in your imagination for a long time. An uncomfortable, sobering reminder of the psychological consequences of war, past and present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Storm Warning: Echoes of Conflict (Salt Modern Fiction)
Storm Warning: Echoes of Conflict (Salt Modern Fiction) by Vanessa Gebbie (Paperback - 1 Nov 2010)
7.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews