Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a pleasure-giver!
Do you know what. I get actual joy out of reading Kennard.

Actual joy. Perfectly perfect, funny, thoughtful, surreal and beautiful. I don't know what much else you'd want.

Surely deserving of another award!
Published on 20 July 2007 by H. Lowe

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thanks
This book arrived promptly and was well packaged. I would definetely do business with this trader again. THANKS
Published on 22 Dec 2007 by M. Kavanagh


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a pleasure-giver!, 20 July 2007
This review is from: The Harbour Beyond the Movie (Salt Modern Poets) (Hardcover)
Do you know what. I get actual joy out of reading Kennard.

Actual joy. Perfectly perfect, funny, thoughtful, surreal and beautiful. I don't know what much else you'd want.

Surely deserving of another award!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet more praise for 'The Harbour Beyond the Movie', 24 July 2007
By 
This review is from: The Harbour Beyond the Movie (Salt Modern Poets) (Hardcover)
A wonderful collection and well-deserved nominee for the Forward Prize, 'The Harbour Beyond the Movie' is a fascinating journey through the absurdity of the everyday. Laugh-out-loud funny (and how often can that be said about "award-winning" poetry?) and yet never trivial, Kennard's mastery of language is a genuine pleasure. If you love poetry, read this. If you don't love poetry, read this and you soon will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 26 Feb 2012
Yes, he opens your mind with a tin opener, and you allow it, then enjoy it and are left with a smirk. If he didn't already exist, someone would have to invent him. It's essential to read L. Kennard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Totally Uniqe Talent, 24 July 2007
By 
This review is from: The Harbour Beyond the Movie (Salt Modern Poets) (Hardcover)
Kennard's poetry really is like nothing else you'll ever read; opening this book is like diving into another world, one that you'll recognise but have never looked at in quite this way before. Witty, intelligent, shrewd; at times downright wicked and at others, extremely moving. Definitely a collection to be read again and again. Buy one for yourself and one for everyone you like. Worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kennard continues to impress, 22 July 2007
By 
Mr. L. Hoare - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Harbour Beyond the Movie (Salt Modern Poets) (Hardcover)
This arrived promptly and is better than almost anything else I have read. Kennard's poetry is at once unique, poignant and funny. A triumph.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soon to win another award?, 18 July 2007
By 
This review is from: The Harbour Beyond the Movie (Salt Modern Poets) (Hardcover)
Award-winning poet, Luke Kennard, might just be in the running to win another award. This collection is on the shortlist for the Forward Prize 2007. Not bad for a 26-year-old award-winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Harbour beyond the Movie, 21 July 2007
By 
This review is from: The Harbour Beyond the Movie (Salt Modern Poets) (Hardcover)
Kennard's second book is a unique collection which readers will want to read over and over. The poetry is prevocative, but without any pretention, and reflects the complexity and absurdity of contemporary society through irony and wit. It is a book you will want to pass onto your grandchildren.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Genius, 21 July 2007
By 
D. P. HUNTER - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Harbour Beyond the Movie (Salt Modern Poets) (Hardcover)
What a hero this young man is - one day he will be poet laureate. Buy this book and the other one as well - if you don't you'll regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brownie Points here, 21 July 2007
By 
This review is from: The Harbour Beyond the Movie (Salt Modern Poets) (Hardcover)
I had read the Solex Brothers and enjoyed it, so I bought this as a gift for my mum's birthday and she was thrilled - got me some real brownie points when Kennard was profiled in the Independent the next week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thanks, 22 Dec 2007
By 
M. Kavanagh "Dave" (E14) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Harbour Beyond the Movie (Salt Modern Poets) (Hardcover)
This book arrived promptly and was well packaged. I would definetely do business with this trader again. THANKS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Harbour Beyond the Movie (Salt Modern Poets)
The Harbour Beyond the Movie (Salt Modern Poets) by Luke Kennard (Hardcover - 1 Jun 2007)
12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews