Customer Reviews


249 Reviews
5 star:
 (144)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Time for the exploited to rise up.
I've been wanting to read this for a while, and have finally got round to it. It's an interesting book and very timely in the effort that Jones is making to rescue the depiction of the poor from the clutches of the right wing. Having read this back to back with The Shock Doctrine (a far more disturbing and wide-ranging book) I feel suitably angry and want to do something...
Published 19 months ago by Simon Scarrow

versus
631 of 707 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A missed opportunity
I've read some remarkable reviews of this book in the press, most of which comment on how acutely it makes its argument, the forensic detail with which Jones writes, and the wonderful style he employs. Unfortunately, I didn't see much of any of these, and ultimately found this book frustrating. Not because I disagreed with the overall argument - far from it - but rather...
Published on 8 Aug 2011 by Christopher Pittard


‹ Previous | 122 23 24 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Demonization of working class?, 7 Jan 2014
the book should read 'demonization of the NON-WORKING CLASS'

the book paints a familiar picture pushed by the left, yet most of the people owen is trying to justify are out of work.

why are they out of work? - lack of work?

why did 1m poles come here for work? - they have a work ethic?

This writer, labour and the left in general have their so called 'working class' just were they want them. Skint, no future and perfect vote fodder.

13 years to sort this out!!

Hang you heads in shame
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Owen Jones: toujours le mot juste, 23 Mar 2013
By 
Val Gaize (Studley, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant, clearly-written expose of said demonisation. Should be compulsory reading for all right-wing politicians. Owen always hits the mark!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent service, 31 Aug 2011
This review is from: Chavs: The Demonization of the Working Class (Paperback)
What I have read up to now is an excellent read would recommend to others. Cant wait to pick it up again it makes so much sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsory reading, 20 Aug 2011
By 
J. A. Peers "London Guy" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chavs: The Demonization of the Working Class (Paperback)
A very clear profound analysis of the systemic attacks on working people, its a shocking read and one which anyone with a social conscience should read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars nonsense, 18 Feb 2012
This review is from: Chavs: The Demonization of the Working Class (Paperback)
Marxist tosh from start to finish. Clearly a book written to harvest revenue from the glowering misguided anti-business anti-aspiration element of society. For goodness sake, borrow a copy like I did, but don't buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Myth buster, 8 May 2013
Owen Jones has achieved something remarkable, everyone who thinks they have a social conscience should read this book. Well written and interesting as well as thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All statements are well supported, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy to read, and factual. Almost worth keeping as a reference book. Considering his very young age one asks oneself where will he be in 10 years time?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chavs: The Demonization of the Working Class, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has been on my reading list for the past 2 years, so when I received the birthday gift of a Kindle from my partner, it was the first thing I ordered.

For anyone who wants to read about why our society is one about survival, and our own self interest, the 'underclass', which we consider to be there as a result of their own lack of contributions to society. Please Read. Whilst you may not agreed with every word written, it gives you a lot of food for thought and to find out more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some books..., 5 Jan 2013
Obviously there are some things in life that change you, hopefully for the better.This wonderful book gave me a jolt... I've seen Owen on a few TV things and always I've been impressed by his reason and argument.This really is one of those books that stops you in your complacent tracks and strongly suggests you think a bit more and consider what you really think with a bit more reason and argument than rags like the Daily Mail say you should.This isn't political correctness gone mad you Daily Mail morons...it's just a book that argues that human beings (god forbid) think for themselves rather than just accept your nasty newspaper's views on humanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars basic but great, 25 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is a great book for peole who have little knowledge of politics. It is written in a way that makes it readable to anybody. very revealing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 122 23 24 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chavs: The Demonization of the Working Class
Chavs: The Demonization of the Working Class by Owen Jones (Paperback - 6 Jun 2011)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews