Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars moving and deeply sad account of the harsh realiites of life in Gaza
Gideon Levy became well known for his weekly 'twilight zone' articles in the Israeli paper Haaretz. Levy himself has developed into an ardent critic of Israeli policies and their inhumane treatment of the Palestinians. Yet Levy was born the son of two Holocaust survivors and grew up accepting the 'traditional Israeli narratives', that the nation was constantly under...
Published on 20 July 2010 by Georgee

versus
5 of 52 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A typical BS by the Dhimmi, Gideon Levy
A typical anti-Israeli bias and pro-terrorist propaganda by one of the top self hating Jews: Gideon Levy.
If you see his or Noam Chomskys name, dont waste your time reading you wont find anything interesting there.
Their books can be summed in one sentence, Israel=Bad, Terrorists=Good.

If you got the book for free, i think cutting it into squares and...
Published 11 months ago by NoBodysGamer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gideon Levy is one of the bravest souls in the WORLD --, 25 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Punishment of Gaza (Paperback)
From the Guardian:
"Gideon Levy has been shot at repeatedly by the Israeli Defence Force, been threatened with being "beaten to a pulp" on the country's streets, and faced demands from government ministers that he be tightly monitored as "a security risk." This is because he has done something very simple, and something that almost no other Israeli has done. Nearly every week for three decades, he has traveled to the Occupied Territories and described what he sees, plainly and without propaganda. "My modest mission," he says, "is to prevent a situation in which many Israelis will be able to say, `We didn't know.'"

And for that, many people want him silenced."

This is a book that every citizen of this world should be reading -- Especially Americans, since BILLIONS are sent to Israel each year to fund their military which continues the HORROR of illegal occupation, land seizure, and the murder of innocent civilian men, women, and children.

IfAmericansKnew.org is also a good place to see what's going on, along with [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine account of Gaza's suffering, 18 Nov 2011
By 
William Podmore (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Punishment of Gaza (Paperback)
This excellent little book comprises articles by Gideon Levy published in Haaretz between June 2006 and July 2009.

He points out that in the 2006 war on Lebanon, Israel's `Justice' Minister stated, "we are allowed to destroy everything." In 2007, 457 Palestinians were killed (including 92 children), and 10 Israelis.

Israel's attack on Gaza (December 2008-January 2009), which Blair foully backed, opposing humane calls for a ceasefire, killed more than 1,300 Palestinians and made 100,000 people homeless. A third of the killed, and a third of the wounded, were children. The Israeli Defense Force shelled UN buildings and a UN-run school, targeted paramedics and fired white phosphorus shells, which are banned anti-personnel weapons. Israel's siege of Gaza is collective punishment (in breach of Article 33 of the Geneva Convention), depriving Gaza's people of water, fuel and electricity.

Levy writes, "But even if we accept the IDF's claim that there is a general trend of sending children to collect launchers (which has not been proven), that should have brought about an immediate halt to firing at launcher collectors. But the IDF does not care whether its victims are liable to be children. The fact is that it shoots at figures it considers suspicious, with full knowledge - according to its own contention - that they are liable to be children. Therefore an IDF that fires at launcher collectors is an army that kills children ..."

Olmert, Livni and Barak are all warmongers, all war-criminals. The political parties - Kadima, Labor and Likud - were all for war. Levy asks, where were the lawyers? And answers they were silent, complicit. Where were the media? Cheerleading for war. The poets? "Attack Lebanon and also Gaza with plows and with salt, destroy them so no inhabitant remains ... kill them, spill their blood ..." wrote `poet' Ilan Scheinfeld.

The EU still boycotts the occupied, not the occupier. It is upgrading its ties with the occupier. It has become a US puppet.

No more war!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A War Crime!, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Punishment of Gaza (Paperback)
When the Holocaust happened and the full horrors was shown to the world, the pain of how my ancestors could treat one another like that, just shames me. But now it's my turn and the media is at my fingertips, and I am so proud that I joined a peace convoy that took aid to Gaza from London. What is amazing is how the world just looks the other way though and does nothing at all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Passionate and intelligent, however..., 1 Jun 2013
By 
This review is from: The Punishment of Gaza (Paperback)
I respect and admire Gideon Levy. I visit his website (Haaretz) daily and admire the work of that newspaper.

However there are always at least two sides to a story.

I would recommend an article by a Saudi Moslem woman based in the US who has written; http://blogs.timesofisrael.com/israels-jihad-is-mine/

Its good to have another viewpoint on such a controversial issue.

Well done Gideon Levy nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 65 years of punishment, 18 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. Victor M. Miller (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Punishment of Gaza (Paperback)
In the mid 1960's I seriously considered joining the IDF'. Having witnessed a certain atrocity I was of the firm opinion that I would not be part of a force supported by their Government in the commission of crimes against humanity. This book served to evidence that those crimes against humanity sadly continue. Both sides commit criminal acts. There can only be peace with a two state solution and when those who kill and destroy are brought before the ICC. Shame on those politicians who have failed Jew, muslim and christian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 52 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A typical BS by the Dhimmi, Gideon Levy, 5 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Punishment of Gaza (Paperback)
A typical anti-Israeli bias and pro-terrorist propaganda by one of the top self hating Jews: Gideon Levy.
If you see his or Noam Chomskys name, dont waste your time reading you wont find anything interesting there.
Their books can be summed in one sentence, Israel=Bad, Terrorists=Good.

If you got the book for free, i think cutting it into squares and using in toilet is a better option then actually reading it.

Peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A vitriolic book., 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Punishment of Gaza (Paperback)
A very unbalanced and vitriolic book full of anti-Israel comment. I assumed this book - written by a Jewish man - would at least have a modicum of balance and I thought that as a non-Jew I would find a reasonably fair appraisal of the situation regarding the Israeli/Arab conflict. But no! Gideon Levy sees it as black and white. Israel black - Palestinians white. Talk about pouring oil on troubled waters. If Israel is so bad he should try living in Damascus or Cairo and see how Arabs really treat their own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Punishment of Gaza
The Punishment of Gaza by Gideon Levy (Paperback - 1 Jun 2010)
6.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews