Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable
Bought this for my Media Production course at University. I've found it amazingly useful and detailed. Highly quoteable, and covers every corner of the Film Industry and every form of Narrative. Bravo to Pam Cook and all the contributors.

The only tiny blemish was that it was damaged in transit, placed in a box with two other books with little protective...
Published on 8 Dec. 2010 by Lord Fittlesworth

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars slight damages on the cover but the insides are fine. This book comes under every week's recommended reading ...
Okay, slight damages on the cover but the insides are fine. This book comes under every week's recommended reading for my film history module. Looking forward to using it extensively to write my essays.
Published 3 months ago by Jiana Geraldine Li


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable, 8 Dec. 2010
This review is from: The Cinema Book (Paperback)
Bought this for my Media Production course at University. I've found it amazingly useful and detailed. Highly quoteable, and covers every corner of the Film Industry and every form of Narrative. Bravo to Pam Cook and all the contributors.

The only tiny blemish was that it was damaged in transit, placed in a box with two other books with little protective packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good at what it does, 8 May 2009
By 
Benjamin Wiles "benwiles_uk" (Newcastle-under-Lyme, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cinema Book (Paperback)
If you're a serious student of film - and if you only buy one book - then this is the one to buy. Is it fun? Well, not really, go for a Bordwell & Thompson book if you're looking for that. This book has plenty of essay-friendly material and certainly gives you an unbiased, factual approach to the history of cinema, its contributors and influences. And if you can't find what you want here, then you'll probably be hard pushed to find it elsewhere. It's broken down in to the big cinema periods - Hollywood Classical Era, French New Wave etc. And just to make it more appealing, there's plenty of colourful pictures too :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!!!, 22 Nov. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cinema Book (Paperback)
I've bought this book on my tutor's recommendation and I have to admit that this is the best book for film studies students out there. Love it!:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really thick book, 18 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cinema Book (Paperback)
Not joking, there's loads of stuff in this book, even topics I thought wouldn't be in here, and before this, I bought other books which should arrive soon, and now I'm thinking.. why did I buy those too? all those topics are in this book I've just bought - The Cinema Book.

Defo worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Film Studies purchase, 5 Sept. 2011
This review is from: The Cinema Book (Paperback)
This book covers such a vast array of topics that it is a default buy for film students or if you do any media related subject as it has very good content. Was delivered in days and I got an A in my essay obviously using other books but this has quotes from so many writers that it literally tells you which other books to get to back up your research. Definitely buy this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If you buy just one book for your film studies buy this one!, 22 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cinema Book (Paperback)
After I read it all I might give it 5 stars, but I am just beginning my journey through 500-odd pages... For a long time I couldn't make up my mind between this book and "Introduction to film Studies", but eventually settled on this one. So far I am pleased. For me it has a more logical, more chronological/historical approach to the subject matter, but each chapter can also be read on its own in whatever order. Well illustrated both with pictures and film case studies and very, very comprehensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars slight damages on the cover but the insides are fine. This book comes under every week's recommended reading ..., 13 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cinema Book (Paperback)
Okay, slight damages on the cover but the insides are fine. This book comes under every week's recommended reading for my film history module. Looking forward to using it extensively to write my essays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cinema book, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cinema Book (Paperback)
This updated version is very negotiable for film students and its illustrations are all well chosen and good quality images
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cinema Book (Paperback)
This is an excellent reference book, especially for someone studying the history of cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cinema Book (Paperback)
Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cinema Book
The Cinema Book by Pam Cook (Paperback - 3 Jan. 2008)
£26.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews