Customer Reviews


256 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First in an amazing series
I've read every book in the series and although some are better than others I'd highly recommend CHERUB to anyone. This is supposedly a teenage boys series but I am a teenage girl and did really enjoy them. Robert Muchamore's new book (People's Republic) is coming out in four days time I am so excited and I will definitely be buying.

The Recruit is the first...
Published on 1 Aug. 2011 by A.Teenager

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CHERUB: The Recruit review
Muchamore begins the novel with an intriguing opening to which we are introduced to our eleven year old main character, James Choke. The opening scene is set within a school where James is musing as to how much of a disappointment science is in reality to what he had previously envisaged. When a classmate persists with her meticulous teasing in regards to his mother,...
Published 9 months ago by Elia Dolan


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First in an amazing series, 1 Aug. 2011
This review is from: The Recruit (Cherub) (Paperback)
I've read every book in the series and although some are better than others I'd highly recommend CHERUB to anyone. This is supposedly a teenage boys series but I am a teenage girl and did really enjoy them. Robert Muchamore's new book (People's Republic) is coming out in four days time I am so excited and I will definitely be buying.

The Recruit is the first in the cherub series and in this book the protagonist, James Adams live changes drastically. At the beginning James Adams is a bored teenager, with excellent capabilities but is far to lazy to reach them, he is rich but living in a council estate because his mum earns her money running a huge shoplifting organization from their living room whilst stuffing herself full of chocolates and alcohol-needless to say she is grossly overweight. Then one day after school after getting tipsy with his half-sister Lauren Onions' father Ron Onions, she dies, leaving James living in a children's home and Lauren at Ron's. James then turns bad, joining a gang, and stealing, this results in James and eventually Lauren being recruited by Cherub, a branch off the secret service that only recruits children. And that's where the adventure begins...

Just in case of any confusion here is the order of the Cherub Series

1. The Recruit
2. Class A
3. Maximum Security
4. The Killing
5. Divine Madness
6. Man Vs Beast
7. The Fall
8. Mad Dogs
9. The Sleepwalker
10. The General
11. Brigands Mc
12. Shadow Wave
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally gripping - I wish this had been around when I was a child, 22 Oct. 2009
By 
This review is from: The Recruit (Cherub) (Paperback)
I have been reading a lot of older children's fiction lately, much of it excellent, but this series is in a class of it's own. I would have given it 10 stars if it was an option. I read the first book and then immediately ordered the other nine in the series and read them back to back and my husband, who is not such a voracious reader, did the same - they are that good. It is worth starting with The Recruit as the characters and the back stories do develop through the series, although the plots stand alone in each book. Any child over the age of 10 ought to love them - I bought them for all my nieces and nephews and even the ones who don't normally read, were totally engrossed by them. I also read some Alex Rider to compare and have to say they are not a patch on Cherub - possibly a good start for the younger readers but Alex Rider felt very one dimensional after reading Robert Muchamore.

The basic premise of the books is that children who are orphaned or abandoned are recruited to a secret service (Cherub)that uses children as spies (because no-one suspects children). They have to be clever with potential but the main characters, James and Lauren, definitely comes from the wrong side of the tracks so not quite so snobby as some novels in a similar vein. However, unlike most orphans in fiction, these children are not to be pitied; they are an elite force and get the best education, the best computers, great bedrooms with en-suite facilities and stuff that all kids aspire to. The plots are gripping and deal with contemporary issues such as drugs, child prostitution, animal rights, religious cults and terrorism in a way that younger readers can understand without ever patronising them. The plots are interwoven with the challenges of day to day teenage life, relationships, exams, homework and bullying teachers and the main characters develop throughout the series. As with all the best fiction, the author manages to weave a strong vein of humour through the books, they made me laugh out loud at times.

If you are worried about teenage girls fictional and media influences, you will love these books. Lauren, the little sister, takes a lead role in later books and is a great role model for young girls in terms of being fit and strong (rather than slim), studying hard to achieve results and beating the boys. I am the wrong side of 40 and well aware of all the healthy eating messages etc but still felt inspired to get to the gym after reading these books! None of this is done in a preachy way - the strongest message about healthy eating came in the novel about religious cults, Divine Madness, showing how you can control people with blood sugar rushes to create hysteria and to keep them physically and mentally weak with poor nutrition (this was probably my favourite in the whole series). The moral ambiguities are not skimmed here, Muchamore does not offer any trite right/wrong solutions and I think the books are better for it. All the main characters are fully rounded, both James and Lauren behave in ways which are morally suspect on occasions because they are human and insecure, but they have to address the consequences of their behaviour and the impact on their friends and on each other. This is adult fiction for young readers which all adults and older children will enjoy. Just buy the whole series now because you will really will wish it was true!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


103 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cannot wait for a sequel!, 3 Jun. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Recruit (Cherub) (Paperback)
Cherub: The Recruit is an excellent book based on a secret organization that uses children as spies. The plot is not a James Bond fiction. There are no super-villains, no high-tech gadgets, and no impossible missions that are miraculously completed. It is this realism that is the main attraction of this fantastic book.
In Cherub: The Recruit, a normal boy called James is enrolled in the secret organisation Cherub. In the book he is put through basic training and sent on his first mission. You'll find many interesting characters, including instructors, friends, and terrorists. Every character has a personality that is shown to the highest degree which could not be done by some of the best authors I know.
The plot is a superb. It doesn't just show James going there, taking part in a mission, and returning home. It includes the ethics and emotions of James, the friendships he has with other characters, all with their own personalities being excellently shown. There are different twists that happen every time you think you know what is coming next. This book is the most unique spy story I have ever read, and shows nothing other than truly pure talent from the author. I recommend it to everyone. Even those who don't enjoy spy genres will take pleasure in reading this book. I cannot wait for a sequel! And I'm sure that those that have read it will know what I mean. Peter(13)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Recruit- a great read, 8 Feb. 2011
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Recruit (Cherub) (Paperback)
The Recruit starts with a normal couch potato kind of person called James Adams and his little sister Lauren Adams. James is always in trouble at school and his mum employs people to shoplift for her while she eats and sleeps all day. Then one day James comes home to find his mother dead and he and his sister are taken to an orphanage. Lauren goes with her stepdad but James stays and gets involved with a gang and they make him try to steal beer from an off- licence but gets caught and ends up at the police station. James is questioned and then let off of all charges, but he gets a general anaesthetic and taken somewhere deep in the English countryside. James wakes up to find himself in a room with a bed and as he looks out of the window he sees a running track: The Cherub Training facility.

This book is an exciting and thrilling book and captures you from the first page. In every book in the Cherub series there is a mission that is always exciting and cool. But to find out what Cherub is you'll have to read this book. Before this book I hardly read at all but once I read The Recruit I can't stop reading them and I'm already on the 7th book. There are 13 books in the series so far, some of these being The Recruit, Class A, Maximum Security, The Killing, Divine Madness, The Fall (the one I'm on now) and many more. I would rate this book 10/10 because of the thrill and excitement on every page. I would definitely recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent buy, 9 April 2009
By 
Tdgorham - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this book for my 11 year old son to encourage him to read more.It did the trick!!He couldn't put it down.The content is quite gritty and more current than the usual reading matter for boys his age but I think that's why he enjoyed it so much .He could identify with the characters and conected with this series of books in a way he has never done with others before.He has already read several of the follow on titles and enjoyed the Henderson Boy's book as well.If spy adventures are your thing this is a deffinate must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cherub: Is a must, 9 Mar. 2007
By 
This review is from: The Recruit (Cherub) (Paperback)
Now before i start, i have to admit that i am 22 yers old, but i like kids fiction and half the time its far more intresting than adult fiction, i have to say that along with harry potter, the cherub series is my favorite series of books and has been since this "The Recruit" first came out.

The story starts with James (the main character) and his life. He is one of those bright kids who could do well, but doesnt want to and consequently begins to get into trouble with the police.

After his mum dies, James eneds up in a childrens home and from there is recruited into cherub where james has to conquer in greatest fear (swimming) and make his self ready for basic training. And that is where the fun starts.

I have to say that this series should be commended. It is streetwise for children of today and aswell as dealing with some - with what could be called - very contrevercial issues to be placed in childrens books: ie, this books explores the relms of bio-terrorism, and in the following books, class a drugs, the arizona penal system, murder, brain washing religious cults, animal rights, but to name some of it.

The books explores James as a person shows how he grows and develops and as the book says "These kids may be CHERUB's, but they're still kids" and is written and as well as being an undercover spy, james has to deal with school, girls and other issues that you face as you grow up.

THIS IS A MUST!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I want to be a CHERUB!!!!!!!!!, 29 Mar. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Recruit (Cherub) (Paperback)
This book is sooo cool. The characters are believable and totally original and the plots are realistic, witty and carismatic.
James Choke is about as normal as an 11 yr old boy can be with no father and a deceased mother. He's taken into care while his sister Lauren goes to live with her hated father. James is recruited by CHERUB, a school where children learn survival skills, combat and weaponary. This school is the child version of the British intelligence.
For the first time in his life James enjoys school and fits in. He makes new friends who each have a tragic story to tell. At CHERUB they are a family and they'll look after their own because they have nobody else.
This book is funny yet full of tension, after reading everyone wants to be a part of CHERUB and I don't blame them. Everyone should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than ALex Rider, 10 Nov. 2006
This review is from: The Recruit (Cherub) (Paperback)
This is more realistic and grittier than the Alex Rider books, with as much danger and adventure. It is surprising at every turn and you will not want to put it down.

The mission comes towards the end of the book and it is not as interesting as all that has come before it but that doesn't matter as the characters are so interesting and appealing. It will make you want to read the rest of the series straight away.

Out of all of the new books about young boys as spies, this and the Jimmy Coates series are the best, better than SIlverfin or Alex Rider. So buy this and all the other Cherub books and also buy Jimmy Coates: Killer by Joe Craig.

They are AMAZING BOOKS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CHERUB: The Recruit review, 20 Aug. 2014
Muchamore begins the novel with an intriguing opening to which we are introduced to our eleven year old main character, James Choke. The opening scene is set within a school where James is musing as to how much of a disappointment science is in reality to what he had previously envisaged. When a classmate persists with her meticulous teasing in regards to his mother, James grows increasingly angry and acts with such aggression that both the classmate and a teacher end up in a critical condition and is in need of medical attention. Frightened, James flees the scene and soon discovers a horrific sight: his mothers dead body.

Recently orphaned, James is shipped to a care home where the only companionship is with a boy named Kyle. However, after a night filled with illegalities James discovers that Kyle is not who he appeared to be at first sight and that he is in actual fact a part of ‘CHERUB’ which is a secret spy agency that wishes to recruit him. Both terrified and thrilled, James learns that if he is to stay at the CHERUB campus then he must partake in a gruelling training regime that lasts for approximately one hundred days.Missions are completed, friendships are formed and alliances are broken as James continues his journey as an undercover agent.

When I was younger, I held Robert Muchamore in high esteem and regarded the ‘CHERUB’ novels as my all time favourite series. With masses of fast paced action, thrills and romance all packed into 342 pages, what is not to love? Well, I must say that now I am significantly older I did not enjoy this novel as much as I did as a child due to it’s lack of depth and tendency to describe rather than to suggest. I felt as though the characters lacked substance; with Muchamore simply skimming over their potential character building and completely sweeping their emotions under the rug and simply describing their physical activity. In truth I did not care for young James Choke at all as I found him to be incredibly rude and arrogant whilst being portrayed extremely unrealistically. I mean, what eleven year old do you know that drinks, smokes and attends parties and swears?

I feel as though the CHERUB series would be a wonderful read to someone much younger than I, but I would have to recommend it only to those who are of the age of thirteen and onwards due to substance abuse and mass amounts of profanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its OK., 9 April 2014
This review is from: The Recruit (Cherub) (Paperback)
James mum is a thief. He wants for nothing and has everything. He is very smart but doesn't bother using it. He accidentally hurts a girl and gets in trouble when his mum suddenly dies. His sister is placed with her father and James is placed in a childrens home. He gets involved with some bad kids in the home and is heading for more trouble when he gets sent to see a doctor. Next thing he knows he wakes up in a strange place. He is told that it is a training center for CHERUBs, young spies. He is offered a place because he is smart and the kind of person they want but is told it will be tough and he has to stick to the rules or else. He accepts and from that moment his life changes!
I've heard of this series before but haven't read it. The premise sounded awesome. Kid spies!!! While I did enjoy it, there were a few things that annoyed me. I'm going to get the bad stuff out of the way first.
What I didn't like:
I found it hard to connect to James. At the start he is like a spoiled child, he losses his temper with a girl in school and slams her against the wall. Then he shoves his teacher and causes her to fall!! He gets into trouble alot and is just all round a thug in the making. He is ashamed to be seen with his mother because she is fat. He wasn't easy to like but saying that he did grow on me. I still didn't like him but I didn't hate him either.
The first half of the book was so slow. He didn't get to the CHERUB faculty till then and he was so dislikable in the first part that I wasn't going to keep reading.
Jamess' mission. It wasn't as action packed or as good as I would of liked.
Now what I liked!!
The concept of the CHERUB facility was awesome. Kids trained as spies because adults wouldn't suspect them. They get to use cool gadgets, travel the world and become something special, so what child would turn it down. They have an intensive 100 day training course that pushes them to their limits. Each stage of training has a different colour shirt with Black being the highest.
The book really takes off in the second half, mostly. From the training till James first mission it was action packed, fast paced and intense. The missions they do are dangerous so they have to be prepared in every way. They still go to school and have to learn different languages, self defense etc. I really enjoyed that part of the book.
Overall its a solid start to what I imagine is a good series. I'm not sure if its for me because the MC was so unlikable but I do think that it would appeal to teenagers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Recruit
The Recruit by Robert Muchamore (Audio CD - 21 Sept. 2006)
£9.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews