Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Avid fan of this series.....
I've enjoyed the St Clares and Malory Towers series since I was a child and, even now, re-read them for a chuckle. For those that don't know what to expect from them, well here goes...The original Enid Blyton MT series plays up the importance of individual character to turn certain girls depicted in the books into school successes. The importance of character is also...
Published 23 months ago by R. Whitlock

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bullying horrible girls
I have read the first few chapters with my 6-year-old but have told her we can't read any more. The main characters are horrible, bullying girls laughing at the misfortunes of others. Some of the descriptions of plain girls with rabbit teeth are just horrid and have no place in the 21st century. Should be consigned to history where they belong.
Published on 31 Mar. 2013 by J. Rutter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Avid fan of this series....., 17 Jun. 2013
By 
R. Whitlock (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've enjoyed the St Clares and Malory Towers series since I was a child and, even now, re-read them for a chuckle. For those that don't know what to expect from them, well here goes...The original Enid Blyton MT series plays up the importance of individual character to turn certain girls depicted in the books into school successes. The importance of character is also mirrored in the head mistress's speech at the start of term for all newcomers to the school. Those that don't turn their personal character flaws and weaknesses into strengths (cancelling out the bad with a good, or erase bad characteristics altogether if they could never be turned into a virtue, like meanness, snobbery, dishonesty, cowardess and laziness or poor teamwork get a bad rap and end up as school failures or are expelled. Another strong theme to accompany the character emphasis is the other message that 'what goes around, comes around' or 'we reap what we sew.' Most of the enduring characters have a character flaw, and some overcome them sooner or later or cancel bad out with good. They end up with happy lives with a nice future to look forward to, whilst those that don't overcome their character flaws end up with awful lives. Real life is not as straightforward as that, but these stories still create great role models to readers to instill the importance of honesty, fairness, kindness toward the less fortunate, owning up when doing wrong and self control in the face of adversity. All essential to stay out of jail and get on in life and to make the most of the cards you are dealt without craving what more privileged people have or looking down on those with less than you have.

Winners:

Alicia : impatience, intellectual arrogance, timewasting in class / greater empathy over intellectually inferior, mastery over difficult skills
Darrell: bad temper and hero worship at expense of school performance / empathy toward those less fortunate, single minded application to do well
Sally: jealousy, stubborness / intuition, fairness and sense of justice
Marylou: timidity and 'can't say no' passivity / bravery and assertiveness
Daphne: criminal dishonesty, deceitfulness / honesty, bravery

Losers:

Gwendoline: meanness, laziness, spitefulness, cunningness, deceit, snobbery / no turn around and tragedy ensues
Maureen: self obsession, tactlessness / no turn around
Josephine: dishonesty, disobedience and arrogance / expelled
Zerelda: vanity and disrespect for English ways / appreciation for 'when in Rome...'

One thing to bear in mind is that these are books about a boarding school. As you'd expect for a fee paying school, the attendees are drawn from the upper middle class and the language Enid Blyton uses reflects that. The text is peppered with 'jolly this, and jolly that' and 'super this and super that.' But don't let that put you off if you come from humbler surroundings and, heaven forbid, you drop your 'H's occasionally. These books are 'simply wizard' so long as you don't get so absorbed in the language used, you start using it after you've put the books down. Otherwise, you might alienate your friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 29 May 2009
A Kid's Review
I don't know how many people would go in to buy this book,but
for those who want to, it is worth it! This book is so engrossing and fun
that you can't put it down.

PROS:
*Extremely engrossing
*Teaches you lots of lessons of decency, the girls
in the book are very kind, thoughtful and like teaching silly girls lesons.

Cons:
*Quite short, so easily finished.

Thanks for reading, I am 11 nearly 12, but these books are
easily read for about 8+, if you are older then that (me) they are still amazing!
Not made for younger ages, anyone can read this book!

They may be hard for eight year olds and younger though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars we thought it was an excellent book, 8 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This book was a excellent way of learning what boarding school is about and the fun things you can get up to. The play was very good and made me feel as if I was really there. My favourite characters in the books are Sally Hope, Alicia and Darrell Rivers. I have all of the collection of tapes and most of the books. I can read them over and over again and still enjoy them. I would recommend any girls reading this to read the books from the first one - First Term at Malory Towers through to the final installment - Last Term at Malory Towers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AUDIO CD IN THE FIFTH AND LAST TERM AT MALORY TOWERS, 18 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Fifth at Malory Towers AND Last Term at Malory Towers (Audio CD)
My daughter (aged 6) and son (aged 8) just love these Malory Towers adaptations. We've read all the books together and now they spend hours listening to the CDs while they play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 7 Nov. 2009
A Kid's Review
I love reading and I think this book is great. There is a new girl maureen who is like gwendoline. The fith is doing a play(cinderella) with darrell as author and sports captain. Then everything falls apart. Felicity plays her first match and shoots with a twisted ankle. Moira starts reciving spiteful letters but it is found out who is sending them. Then Mam'zelle plays a trick. After that they have the show and its a great success and everyones home for the holidays! A great book I have the box set! Emily 9
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On the present list, 6 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was part of a series of books and was one that was requested. Recipient loved it. It was worth 5 stars just to see the present opened!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reading for kids!, 21 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought on request of 9 year old granddaughter who loves the whole collection, finding them both fun and intriguing at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Enid Blyton and bought this as part of the full collection as enjoy these series greatly. Read repeatedly and loved every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the fifth, 16 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved that book as I love all the other malory tower books Brittany one has got to be one of my favourites
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Story book CD, 31 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In the Fifth at Malory Towers AND Last Term at Malory Towers (Audio CD)
Great for listening to at night and sending my daughter to sleep. she has the complete set now. . .. . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In the Fifth at Malory Towers AND Last Term at Malory Towers
In the Fifth at Malory Towers AND Last Term at Malory Towers by Enid Blyton (Audio CD - 15 Jun. 2006)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews