Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Choosing your degree course and university
I bought this for somebody else. I had used all of Brian Heap's books when I was a Head of VIth form. I found them invaluable and got this book to give a young neighbour an insight into what was available. I could not understand why it was not a staple of his VIth form.
Published on 12 Feb. 2013 by G. M. J. Morrissey

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent 'bigger picture' guide
This book would be wonderful in a school or university careers library. It gives some fantastic information about 'types' of course and groups together areas of study by broader interest. Additionally, it has dedicated pages for each subject listed, showing which universities offer the course, which courses might have higher entrance requirements etc.

For...
Published on 21 Nov. 2011 by ASmith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent 'bigger picture' guide, 21 Nov. 2011
This book would be wonderful in a school or university careers library. It gives some fantastic information about 'types' of course and groups together areas of study by broader interest. Additionally, it has dedicated pages for each subject listed, showing which universities offer the course, which courses might have higher entrance requirements etc.

For personal use, I found the book a bit limited. I had a rough idea of which courses I might like to study which meant that only twenty or so pages from the whole book were relevant to me. Some more 'niche' subjects were also not listed, or just bundled in with more common listings which was a little frustrating.

The introduction of the book is very insightful - this author has some excellent things to say about the university application process/ how to select a course etc etc. I would recommend his other, non course specific books.

However, as far as this particular book goes, if you are looking for information on any less than 5 or so courses, I would suggest you just do your research via ucas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Choosing your degree course and university, 12 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for somebody else. I had used all of Brian Heap's books when I was a Head of VIth form. I found them invaluable and got this book to give a young neighbour an insight into what was available. I could not understand why it was not a staple of his VIth form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Choosing your degree course and university, 12 Oct. 2010
Given the news that students now face uncapped tuition fees I want to make sure my daughter starts her student career knowing she's made the right university choice (and indeed right degree choice) for her investment. So far, this seems like a comprehensive overview of all the degree courses and universities in the UK as well as having some useful stuff on key things to consider when making her university choice. I'm hopeful that (after a thorough readthrough, naturally!) this'll help her make that now even more important considered decision about her future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good on everything but not enough specialisation, 14 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
In my case Heap informed me of the top schools to go to for Business but when it comes to getting lower grades he does not tell of the good universities that have a low entry level, basically the best of the worst. I now seek more specific information on business studies at universities that Heap has not mentioned. I know it is almost impossible to tell of everything but for twenty quid i expected more. Now i feel that i need more information and Mr Heap knows the answers but i cannot get in touch with him, even through E-Mail
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Did not help - the Suppliments in newspapers have been more helpful, 3 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Choosing Your Degree Course & University (Paperback)
Hardly any information to help you choose a degree course - just a basic list of courses on offer and a list on basic information about universitys.

Suppliments from newspapers had more helpful information.

Not worth the cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars uni book, 17 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought for son to help choose a degree course and uni good book if your not sure what course to take contains basic info on individual courses
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT, 15 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Choosing Your Degree Course & University (Paperback)
CONSIDER YIG
GOOD ADVICE
GET IT BEFORE CHOOSING DEGREE OR COLLEGE
NO USE FOR OX OR CAMB ETC ETC ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 15 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Choosing Your Degree Course & University (Paperback)
I'm sure this is useful summary and may open a students eyes to wider career options.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Choosing Your Degree Course & University (Paperback)
Good quality book and fast delivery - thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Choosing Your Degree Course & University
Choosing Your Degree Course & University by Brian Heap (Paperback - 18 May 2012)
£21.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews