Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good support for candidates
This book provides clear and exact recommendations and avice for anyone who is going to take numerical tests for assessment and recruitment. There are some great hints and tips that can give the candidate a "quick win". Alan is a recognised and respected Business Psychologist in this field. I will be recommending this to any candidates who ask for advice or support.
Published on 20 July 2010 by ADT

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Practice tests in the book are on an easy level
I agree with the review of 'dreammagister': "Tests are fairly easy, with some critical numerical reasoning tests being even easier than numerical reasoning." This has to be kept in mind when preparing for an interview so that you don't panic when the real test is suddenly much more difficult and complex. The book itself is very well structured and explains the solutions...
Published on 26 Oct 2010 by Schmetterling


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Practice tests in the book are on an easy level, 26 Oct 2010
This review is from: Practise & Pass Professional: Numeracy Tests (Paperback)
I agree with the review of 'dreammagister': "Tests are fairly easy, with some critical numerical reasoning tests being even easier than numerical reasoning." This has to be kept in mind when preparing for an interview so that you don't panic when the real test is suddenly much more difficult and complex. The book itself is very well structured and explains the solutions of the individual questions. I would recommend it for some-one who hasn't any experience of numeracy tests. I would however also recommend to do some online numeracy tests in addition to the book to get a feeling different levels of practice tests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good support for candidates, 20 July 2010
This review is from: Practise & Pass Professional: Numeracy Tests (Paperback)
This book provides clear and exact recommendations and avice for anyone who is going to take numerical tests for assessment and recruitment. There are some great hints and tips that can give the candidate a "quick win". Alan is a recognised and respected Business Psychologist in this field. I will be recommending this to any candidates who ask for advice or support.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed, 9 July 2010
This review is from: Practise & Pass Professional: Numeracy Tests (Paperback)
I had a fear of numerical tests but, after all the practice from the tests in this book, I managed to build my confidence. Lots of employers use these tests so it has been a big help to me in starting my career. I also the found the other book on Verbal Reasoning tests very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great tests, 14 Dec 2011
This review is from: Practise & Pass Professional: Numeracy Tests (Paperback)
This book starts off with a comprehensive overview of the numeracy tests plus the different formats they might be in, steps to combat nerves and strategies for the test itself. I was dreading the numeracy test in my interview but I did each test a couple of times and went through the answers to I knew where I went wrong. Really great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last a book that actually helps, 8 July 2010
This review is from: Practise & Pass Professional: Numeracy Tests (Paperback)
This is as good as the verbal test book, if not better. I have looked at quite a few of these types of books in the past in the vain hope that they will actually help me. Although some of them are not bad, this one is really practical - a large part of the book is taken up with ACTUAL examples of up-to-date questions from current test publishers and really de-bunks the whole test thing. I've never been brilliant at numerical tests but this has boosted my confidence a great deal and is worth the (reasonable) money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish book, 29 Nov 2010
This review is from: Practise & Pass Professional: Numeracy Tests (Paperback)
My reason for buying this book is the same as everyone else who bought it; to practice and obtain advice for upcoming numeracy tests. I did tests in the Numerical Critical Reasoning section as I was applying for an entry-level job in finance. The practice questions were no where near as difficult or demanding as the ones I had to take by the company SHL.

The book says that "Numerical critical reasoning tests are the most advanced form of numerical test. These tests contain complex and high-level numerical reasoning information that is designed to simulate the demands of senior level jobs."

I would only recommend this book if you can't count.

p.s. I also found a typo on page 163 question 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars math numeracy, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practise & Pass Professional: Numeracy Tests (Paperback)
it is very useless book.dont waste the money.it was not what i wanted.better buy a gcse foundation math book and you will learn it better than this book. wastage of money. i regret to order it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The author can't do his own all-too-easy questions, 27 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practise & Pass Professional: Numeracy Tests (Paperback)
As everyone else who bought this book, I was dreading numerical reasoning tests when it came to applying for jobs at the end of my degree, and bought this book in order to brush up. If you're hoping for a book which provides suitably challenging questions to give you an idea of what to expect when you apply, and prepare you for the real thing, then look elsewhere.

The questions are far, far easier than anything a prospective employer will test you on. Even in the final section on "Critical numerical reasoning", which the author describes as the most challenging category, some questions are still a matter of basic addition or looking up a number in a table. On top of this, as the questions get more "challenging" the author himself seems to struggle slightly. Many of the answers and explanations are simply incorrect and the author makes trivial errors, falling into the traps he presumably put into the questions himself. This is pretty appalling for a book of such easy maths problems, and I'm left feeling swindled.

Don't waste your money - completely useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good advice. Good tests. Some mistakes., 5 Feb 2012
This review is from: Practise & Pass Professional: Numeracy Tests (Paperback)
Good advice on the strategic and mindset levels, tests increase in difficulty. They are rather easy overall. It seems they got too complicated for the author though. Other than spelling mistakes, some answers given are incorrect: p179, question 5 is answered incorrectly and p183, question 2 is poorly formulated given the accompanying data... You'll see what I mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Numeracy Tests, 14 Dec 2011
By 
P. Lomax - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Practise & Pass Professional: Numeracy Tests (Paperback)
Good preparation and simple instructions which will help you pass the tests. The questions are realistic and similar to the ones that were in my numeracy test.

The insider info was also really instructive - I hadn't taken a maths test in a long time so was pretty nervous but this book pointed me in the right direction. Set out really clearly and is very user friendly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Practise & Pass Professional: Numeracy Tests
Practise & Pass Professional: Numeracy Tests by Alan Redman (Paperback - 2 July 2010)
7.61
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews