Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cv templates are good
Very useful for writing a CV from scratch and if you need a template for your desired profession. It also has alot of advice on good and bad CV's to advise you.
Published 1 month ago by kawser samad

versus
17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An important piece of the job-hunt toolkit
Finding a new job, particularly in the current climate, can be tough. This is a good enough overview of the received wisdom of contemporary CV writing although the reality is that most advice of this nature could be summed up in a few pages - this runs to over 200. Having a good CV is an important piece of the job-hunting toolkit, that alone won't guarantee success. There...
Published on 27 July 2009 by Janet Davies


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cv templates are good, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You're Hired! CV: How to write a brilliant CV (Paperback)
Very useful for writing a CV from scratch and if you need a template for your desired profession. It also has alot of advice on good and bad CV's to advise you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly Useful Resource!, 4 Nov 2009
By 
D. Bullock (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: You're Hired! CV: How to write a brilliant CV (Paperback)
As a recent mature graduate, I have found this book extremely useful for freshening up my CV and following through a logical process that has given me a better response to my job applications. The book enables you to consider various types of CV and more than that, it lets you make the decision which is best for your chosen type of work. This is useful because it relies on the reader's intellect to look at parts of their CV that they might not have considered before.

I have been applying for many different kinds of work and this book has helped refine the parts I hadn't thought about, from simple things like the presentation, the difference between chronological, creative and functional CV and leading onto the simple 'dos and don'ts' of when you get to the stage of sending them to prospective employers.

Whether you are starting from the very beginning - when it can be rather daunting! - and trying to work out what you should or should not include or even if you're just looking for an update to that all-important first step towards your perfect job, this is definitely recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You're Hired! CV: How to write a brilliant CV (Paperback)
This is a quality book and as author of The Essential Interview Book I always refer people to this book if they are having problems getting interviews. Check the sections on writing about your achievements (chapter 5) and how to research your target job market (chapter 10). Also make sure you read the section on how to email your CV to employers (its so often overlooked). I would even say you should splash out for the print version as its beautify layer out and gives you CV formatting to copy. Plus its much easier to follow in print strangle. Overall I would give this 5 stars an give personal ‘shout out’ to Corinne for yet another fine publication and thank her for the inspiration that led me to write my own ebook. She has more information at her website [...]– That said if you are serious about landing your next interview this book is a must fro all job hunters – invaluable stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really impressed, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Usually I don't write reviews but this book really did cover all aspects of cv writing and much more. Highly recommended to anyone looking for a new job regardless of their situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding book, 19 Feb 2014
By 
Darren Priest "Darren" (Longing to be back in Cork) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You're Hired! CV: How to write a brilliant CV (Paperback)
There are lot of these books on the market and one cannot help but feel that some are only published to take advantage of these hard times. This book is not one of these. It is the best and most accessible book of its kind I have seen. I use it often and it has given me lots of idea to help clients with CVs. The CVs that come from it receive high praise and get people jobs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good advice, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You're Hired! CV: How to write a brilliant CV (Paperback)
Well written, clear and relevant advice, lots of practical help, easy to read as the book is broken up into clear sections, helpful, worth buying if you've lost your confidence in job seeking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful resource for the serious job hunter, 26 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: You're Hired! CV: How to write a brilliant CV (Paperback)
This book is a great resource for anyone wanting to change jobs or change careers and wants to make the best use of 2 pages of A4 to sell themselves. Corinne Mills goes through process in some detail helping you discover the skills you have but often either forget about or just assume that everyone has. She then helps you to blow your own trumpet concisely, in order to improve your chances of getting in the door to be interviewed.

Well worth the money: the only thing i would like to have had more on would have been in the chapter on Specific Career challenges as many of us who have been working for a while might need to straighten up some career "hairpin bends".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vital reading if you're writing a CV, 13 Mar 2009
By 
H. Law (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: You're Hired! CV: How to write a brilliant CV (Paperback)
With lots of helpful and interesting suggestions, this book is perfect for knowing where to start when writing a CV. It is very thorough and gives good examples and advice, for example what NOT to include!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An important piece of the job-hunt toolkit, 27 July 2009
By 
Janet Davies (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: You're Hired! CV: How to write a brilliant CV (Paperback)
Finding a new job, particularly in the current climate, can be tough. This is a good enough overview of the received wisdom of contemporary CV writing although the reality is that most advice of this nature could be summed up in a few pages - this runs to over 200. Having a good CV is an important piece of the job-hunting toolkit, that alone won't guarantee success. There are other books on the market in a similar price bracket that also include a more comprehensive overview of the entire job-hunting process - dealing with recruiters, online job-hunting, interview advice etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You're Hired: How to Write a Brilliant CV: my views, 16 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You're Hired! CV: How to write a brilliant CV (Paperback)
I have been a contractor in the Financial Services industry for almost 15 years. I have been fortunate to have secured long term contracts with the top UK Retail Banks.

My CV had previously stood the test of the job market in the sense that I always secured a good contract.

As a result of the financial meltdown that we have experienced in 2008/09 - ???, I was of the opinion that prospective employers will be selective in reviewing CVs and the entire recruitment process.

I did some reserach and found a few guides on writing a brilliant CV. I reviewed them and decided on purchasing "You're Hired! How to Write a Brilliant CV".

I am glad I did. It is worth a lot more than I paid for it in terms of value for money. That is despite that fact that I have been writing my CV for several years. The book is a thorough, useful and effective guide, taking the user through various stages of writing a brilliant, glowing, well articulated CV.

I recommend this book to users at all stages, whether new to the job market or a seasoned CV writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa0bc4450)

This product

You're Hired! CV: How to write a brilliant CV
You're Hired! CV: How to write a brilliant CV by Corinne Mills (Paperback - 24 Jun 2013)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews