Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, Great Book!
This was an incredible book that definitely decreased my ignorance level about how albums are recorded. It's a detailed look "behind the scenes" of making the Motorhead records. I had given insufficient credit to the importance of a producer, engineer, and mixer to the album's final sound. It's fascinating to get their input and how they shaped the sound. Now when I think...
Published on 27 Nov 2009 by Don Petersen

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit repetetive
I read this book over Christmas, and quite enjoyed it. It is a fairly quick, undemanding read,and you get a bit more than just Lemmy's take on things, as there are always two sides to every story. It's ok, but I'm not quite as enthusiastic as the other reviewers here. As someone else mentioned, the input from Lemmy appears to largely quotes from White Line Fever, and...
Published on 10 Jan 2010 by Tescodirect


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, Great Book!, 27 Nov 2009
By 
Don Petersen (Grand Rapids, MI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was an incredible book that definitely decreased my ignorance level about how albums are recorded. It's a detailed look "behind the scenes" of making the Motorhead records. I had given insufficient credit to the importance of a producer, engineer, and mixer to the album's final sound. It's fascinating to get their input and how they shaped the sound. Now when I think about a Motorhead album, I think far more about the producer.

This book is not only for the big Motorhead fan. It's also for people who are interested in the music industry. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars motorhead - in the studio, 16 Nov 2009
I'm not one for book reviews, but after reading this book I have to say something.

If you like Motorhead you have to get this. Everything about this book is worth having, from the info inside it to the excellent cover.

Personally I think there are far too may books about lots of bands , but hardly any about Motohread. Thankfully though the few books there are in publication about Motorhead are total quality and this is no exception.

Motorhead - in the studio details the making of every Motorhead album from the early days right up to Motorizer in 2008. Interesting to see how the band works , ie how they come up with the songs , how they are recorded etc: The book makes for nice reading and paints a good atmospheric picture of what it was actually like to be there at the time the albums were recorded.

I especially like the fact that this book pays as much attention to Motorhead 1993 onwards as it does to early Bronze age Motorhead. Many publications or articles about Motorhead seem to think they retired in 1982 for some reason unbeknown to me? I don't understand this when anyone with a brain can tell you their last 4 albums have been the best so far.

As I said I'm not one for book reviews so to conclude, this book is well worth buying, gives a good insight into the process of making a Motoralbum, the working relationships between band and studio personnel and also some interesting factoids as to what was going on in the Motorhead camp at the times these albums where made.

If your a Motorhead fan buy it. Simple.

If your not a Motorhead fan.................you should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book we have been waiting for, 21 Oct 2009
By 
Alan Burridge (Poole,, Dorset. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the book every Motorhead fan has been waiting for, and Jake Brown has done an amazing job in tracking down the surviving producers and engineers, allowing them to tell their story.
Much of the Motorhead input, I must add, has been taken from Lemmy's 'White Line Fever' autobiography, Internet interviews, and the press; rather than the band sitting in with Brown and simply repeating what they'd already said; and probably by now forgotten.
But it works. And it must have been something of a huge literary jigsaw in getting everything linked together, but it reads superbly, is accurate, (even if he did misname their No 1 album as 'Live At Hammersmith' in one instance!), and is a fantastic insight into the studio side of Motorhead recording all of their albums from 'On Parole' right through to 'Motorizer,'
However, it does include a fair bit of tech-speak and jargon, which only producers understand, like the names and numbers of the vast array of microphones they use. But this can just be lightly scanned over, or indeed digested, as required, and one can enjoy the rest of the story.
And out of it all, we gather that Lemmy can a little difficult to work with at times, but he has to keep these production guys in check; after all, Motorhead has and always will be his baby, and he's not gonna let anyone mess with his vision too much.
Yes, indeed, an excellent book, and there's a few glossy pages in the middle with some great photos.
This is a thoroughly enjoyable book, and has been ideally published just in time to add to every Motorheadbangers Xmas stocking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit repetetive, 10 Jan 2010
I read this book over Christmas, and quite enjoyed it. It is a fairly quick, undemanding read,and you get a bit more than just Lemmy's take on things, as there are always two sides to every story. It's ok, but I'm not quite as enthusiastic as the other reviewers here. As someone else mentioned, the input from Lemmy appears to largely quotes from White Line Fever, and there is a lot of repetition. Most chapters feature a section on what microphones were used in the studio, which meant nothing to me. Certain pieces of information crop up repeatedly, examples of which are: it is tricky to get the sound right on Lemmy's bass because he likes the bass frequencies down and the midrange right up, Phil and Mickey write the music and Lemmy writes the lyrics, these days they just go into the studio without anything prepared, they play really loud etc. All important information, which gives an idea of how challenging this group must be to work with, but I did not come away thinking that I had learned anything new particularly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stick to White Line Fever....., 29 Dec 2009
By 
J. H. Mcclements "steveclem" (Essex,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a decent insight into Motorhead if you haven't read Lemmy's autobiography White Line Fever.Being a fan for over 25 years I didn't learn anything new really besides Pete Gill thoughts on his departure from the band.Brian Robertsons thoughts on his recording experience would have been good to hear.Most of Lemmy's quotes come from his autobiography or other sources so it doesn't look like theres any input from the man himself.
If its a choice of this or the autobiography then buy the autobiography.
If your'e a budding record producer or sound engineer etc then the technical insight to the actual recording process should be of interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For fans & recording geeks alike : a good read, 20 Oct 2012
By 
The Admiral (North West, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorhead: In the Studio (Paperback)
Motorhead, and particularly their leader Lemmy, are one of the few constants in the ever changing sea of scumbags that is the music business. As an individual Lemmy comes across as uncompromising, intelligent, articulate, driven and commited to a love of his 'rock & roll band' - which has carried him through highs, lows and onto his and the bands current status of national treasures. This book chronicles the journey taken to that position, with plenty of great anecdotes and a significant level of detail for the recording nerds in respect of how the band's sound has been captured in the studio. If you want to know what microphones were used on Lemmy's bass stack when recording 'Ace of Spades', or how Mikkey Dee's snare drum was mic'ed on 'Orgazmatron', this is the book for you. The book is in part a bit of a 'cut and paste' job, with a lot of quotations taken from fan website interviews, and the ghost author is responsible for a number of books of a similar ilk, with other artists - but - it's authorised by Lemmy, and has some good content. There are also interviews with the band's producers down the years, which are also really interesting - and it's quite clear that recording Motorhead isn't an easy gig: they are (to some ) surprisingly gifted players, but also have very strong views about what they want - particulartly Lemmy. That said, almost everyone who has worked with them has enjoyed it on some level, and all will admit they learned a great deal from both the band collectively, and the individual members. At 67, it begs the question how much longer Lemmy can keep it going - but B.B. king is 84 and still does 200 gigs a year (albeit from a chair) - but no matter how old they all become, they will still do it their way, and let's not forget - as Lars Ulrich freely admits, "Without Motorhead, there would be no Metallica", nor many other heavy rock and metal bands - so lovers of the genres he inspired owe Lemmy a great deal.

Definitely one for the holiday book list or Santa's suggestion box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting., 26 Aug 2011
This review is from: Motorhead: In the Studio (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book as a Motorhead fan and owner of nearly all the albums covered in the book. Quite a bit of the book is openly lifted from Lemmy's own 'White Line Fever' and other books and magazines. There is much new material though, including contributions from Lemmy himself. There is also much interesting background information on the production and engineering of all the albums, including much about (and also from) the producers themselves. If you've ever wondered exactly why Motorhead sound like they do, and how their unique sound is achieved then you'll find it all in this book. Some of it is a bit technical and I doubt many readers will be interested in exactly what microphones were used for recording the snare drum (for example) on each album, but you do find out exactly how Lemmy gets THAT bass sound. This book will appeal much more to musicians and would-be producers/engineers than the general Motorhead fan, but fans will still find some stuff of interest - especially if they haven't read Lemmy's 'White Line Fever' which I also recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as I tought, 16 May 2011
This review is from: Motorhead: In the Studio (Paperback)
I'm now reading the book. It's good and has interesting parts, but I tought it was better. Sometimes it is too technical and too often it take parts from Lemmy's Bio that I already read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars In the studio with Motorhead, 28 Aug 2010
This review is from: Motorhead: In the Studio (Paperback)
As this is my first review of any kind I will try to make it short & to the point!
I have quite literally just put this book down after reading the chapter on the album Bomber. The way it has been written, it is as if you are actually sitting listening to the various people you are reading about. Very well done! It is however, a little technical in places, talking about the types of microphone/mixing desks/speakers & the like all by their product name & part number. Very interesting if your in the trade but I prefer the bits where we are told of the little tiffs and falling outs that went on, in and around the various recording studios.
Not complaining though, it is still a very interesting & readable book and I cant wait to get to some of the newer albums (especially to hear about what went on whilst the recording of "Iron Fist"!?)
this book, so far is like a cross between being a fly on the wall at the recordings or sitting in on the interviews and discussions included therein!

Like what I'm reading! (so far!?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Motorhead: In the Studio
Motorhead: In the Studio by Jake Brown (Paperback - 5 July 2010)
6.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews