Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great read
I come from an Irish father and English mom although my Dad came from the east of Ireland but reading this it was Ireland of old. A fantastic read if anyone is in my age group (54) and went to Ireland every year as a child (at least two weeks in the summer) Loved every minute of the book and have now passed it on to my brother who is older (but not wiser) and am yet...
Published 21 months ago by widowontour

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting if you know the area
Interesting to me as I have travelled in that area, I am not sure how interesting anyone with no local knowledge would find it.
Published 19 months ago by Patricia O'Connr


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great read, 18 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I come from an Irish father and English mom although my Dad came from the east of Ireland but reading this it was Ireland of old. A fantastic read if anyone is in my age group (54) and went to Ireland every year as a child (at least two weeks in the summer) Loved every minute of the book and have now passed it on to my brother who is older (but not wiser) and am yet awaiting his comeback but I know it will be similar to mine. If of Irish origin a must read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So very true, 15 April 2010
By 
Jane Clarke - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: An Irish Country Childhood (Paperback)
Excellent, this book tells a story so very true. People from the west of Ireland will identify with the people and places and understand the difficult circumstances at that time. Things are so differnet now. Written in a simple and understanding manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good read, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Irish Country Childhood (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book because when I was a child in Ireland I had a lovely time playing and running around the fields with my friends, We never worried about anything, we loved music and dancing,and reading of course which I still do a lot of now. Many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Irish Childhood, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It took me back to my childhood and I rememberd things I had forgotten.A book to get lost in, relax and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice story., 25 April 2012
By 
Very well told, simple and to the point. Brought back to me a lot of lost memories. I think if your of a certain age you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic read, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If, like me, you have some Irish roots, then this tale is worth the read. May not appeal to all tastes, but I liked it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting if you know the area, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting to me as I have travelled in that area, I am not sure how interesting anyone with no local knowledge would find it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A trip down memory lane, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a collection of detailed personal memories, rather than a storybook.
Each chapter is about a person or an event.

The last chapter repeated some things already mentioned. Then the book finished.

I think this book was written more for the author than the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Book, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very detailed Autobiography only for someone who knows the area or the person
Not a story as such hard reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deceptively simple. Beautiful imagery. I recommend it highly., 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A rich history of a poor community.
Easy to read but not so easy to forget.
I could have read more :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An Irish Country Childhood
An Irish Country Childhood by Marrie Walsh (Paperback - 1 Mar 2010)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews