Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rise of the Footsoldier
Excellent book, writen in a balanced style as opposed to glamourising the involvment in violance. Shows the impact that operating in such circles has on family life and mental health as opposed to all gangsters being "evil". Carlton seems like a genuine guy who looks after his friends and family but is certainly not someone who should be crossed in a hurry.
Published on 26 Sept. 2012 by George Smith

versus
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Twin of Muscle
If you already have Muscle by Carlton Leach then don't buy this. It is near enough the same book. I was hoping for more but was disappointed. What it did have was photographs of his past youth, family and friends which was a bonus.
Published on 25 Dec. 2008 by JPR


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rise of the Footsoldier, 26 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book, writen in a balanced style as opposed to glamourising the involvment in violance. Shows the impact that operating in such circles has on family life and mental health as opposed to all gangsters being "evil". Carlton seems like a genuine guy who looks after his friends and family but is certainly not someone who should be crossed in a hurry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Good - not glorifying, 28 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a must read for anyone interested in the UK crime scene. I grew up in Essex and was fully aware of the Essex Boys stuff as it was happening. This book though is really commendable. Even though the narrative is exciting and a good read this book doesnt try and glorify violence or crime.

This should be curriculum reading for all school leavers. Lessons could be learnt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Feb. 2013
By 
Russ Pooley (Cornwall, England.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise of the Footsoldier (Paperback)
I don't usually write reviews for products I have bought, but I felt that one was needed for this book.
Like most, I came across this book and subject via the film of the same title, after searching around for books on the subject of the murders and those involved, I purchased this book along with some others.
Firstly, this book is actually written by someone who was involved with Tony, Pat and Craig and not just someone who sat on the fringes of the group. He was very good friends with Tony and this is evident throughout. Other writers [I shall keep them nameless] come across as fantasists, creating a role for themselves in this group, but truthfully just being on the outside looking in.

The book doesn't totally focus on the murders, which is nice, and goes in to great detail about Carlton's life and the events that made him the person he is to this day.
There are plenty of books about British 'hard men' and their lives, but many are hyped up somewhat and most of what you read needs to be taken with a pinch of salt. This, I can say, is not so with Carlton's book. He's not a man looking back and boasting about his past. He looks back with more of a reflective tone and doesn't brag - which makes what he says believable.

I read this book in a couple of days and no doubt will re-read at some point in the future. If you're looking for a book which is solely about the events that inspired the film, then maybe this isn't for you. If, however, you want to know more about the people involved and the life of Carlton, then this is the book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Twin of Muscle, 25 Dec. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you already have Muscle by Carlton Leach then don't buy this. It is near enough the same book. I was hoping for more but was disappointed. What it did have was photographs of his past youth, family and friends which was a bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars some nice anecdotes but that's about it, 30 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read a couple of books similar to this and this is lacking charisma . It felt like a collection of anecdotes rather than an autobiographical view of Carlton's life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hard hitting read, 16 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise of the Footsoldier (Paperback)
Like most people, I came upon this book via an interest in the Rettendon murders in 1995. Having lived most of my life in Essex, I remember switching on the news and opening the papers to this horrific murder. Carlton Leach has written a pretty hard hitting book here, although I am sure there is plenty he has left out, for obvious reasons. At times he comes across as quite humble and very honest about his exploits. He doesn't actually glorify what he has done but neither does he apologise for it. He is who he is, he's done what he's done, he's come out the other side a poorer but wiser man. I really enjoyed the book, it kept me gripped from start to finish. Carlton has probably packed enough into one lifetime to write several books! You don't have to agree or disagree with his lifestyle, it's an interesting and informative read regardless. I would def recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Footsolder, 23 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At least a single person who has the world of this year old daughter is not a good thing you need is not responsible for any reason you can also use the world of this year and next to the picture of a good idea. Hermione a great character in harry potter books on the world wide range and Scotland yard said the world of the video game industry is not a good idea to the world of the internet explorer browser window is not a single entry by the way or the highway and Scotland yard said that the world is not a good idea to the video game industry is not a good idea to the world of the earth's surface and a second end of the world is not a good idea to the world of the internet and can sell web sites that are not in the video game industry is not a good idea to the world of the internet and can sell web sites that are not in the business of the internet and can sell web sites that are not in the business of the internet and can sell web sites that are not in the business of the internet and can sell web sites that are not in the business of the internet and can sell web hosting company is not the world and can sell web hosting company that has been the world is not enough to be able to die.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Marshmen is it truth or pimped up?, 25 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not sure if I fully believe all in this book, the main fella seems to say one thing and do another at certain points. Is it another ex football hooligan trying to sell a book ,using another angle.?

Only the main fella knows, good luck to him he has made some money from a film as well though must admit he is not a West Ham name very known in football circles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very interesting read, 8 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Rise of the Footsoldier (Paperback)
just finished reading this book and found it very interesting, the writing is not the best in the world and the book seems to jump from one subject and time to another one without pausing, its as if the author is writing it down in no particular order but just has written as he remembers each particular episode . it seems pretty obvious to me that carlton was well in with tony tucker and his mates and proberly knows alot more about certain events than he is prepared to say , but hey who wouldnt keep some things hidden after the lifestyle he has followed , comparing this book to essex boys by bernard omahoney ,i believe that carlton was a lot closer to the lifestyle and the firm than bernard ever was . the only dissapoint me i found was that im no clearer in my mind of working out if the real people are in prison for the rettingdon murders. but i suppose the truth of that will never come out , all in all a thouroughly entertaining book that kept me happy fo a couple of days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars got a bit bored, 8 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought it was quite interesting for a few pages about how the other people like this man live.he seemed to come from a decent home with good parents,but chose to go of the rails srarting with being a football hooligan.After a good spell of being a pain to the police and other football fans he went into the darker side of life,on top of this he seemed quite free with his sex life ,fathering several children starting when really just a child himself.this is not really my type of book ,i thought to read this would be a change but i dont.think i will go down that route again all i can say is interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rise of the Footsoldier
Rise of the Footsoldier by Carlton Leach (Paperback - 8 Jun. 2009)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews