Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What I have always suspected
Written by two professors it does what it says on the tin, gives " the truth about all these science scare stories" and shows that the planet is warming up but that was an ongoing trend some millions of years ago, that it is not man made and there is nothing that man does will prevent it.
They say that all doomsday predictions have a short life span and the we will...
Published on 25 Mar 2010 by Mr. Robert A. Evans

versus
27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment
As a confirmed sceptic on 'global warming' (as well as many other so-called 'green' issues) I bought this book hoping for an intelligent discussion of the state of play of the relevant science on a number of key current issues, to learn more about them and in particular to read solid, level-headed analysis and well-referenced debunkings of the alarming claims made by...
Published on 18 Aug 2009 by Philip Drury


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Global warming & other bollocks, 19 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. A. W. Bridges (Alsager, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Global Warming and Other Bollocks (Paperback)
If you ever had any doubts about global warming and mankind's contribution, read this entertaining book and you will have your doubts totally confirmed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but..., 15 July 2009
By 
C. Stewart "The Cat's Whiskers" (Yorkshire/Nottinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Global Warming and Other Bollocks (Paperback)
This book is clearly written, plainly presented without being patronising, and as it indicates ont he cover, presents the actual science behind those newspaper headlines where a series of 'experts' warn we need turn the UK into a giant wind farm or face Eco-Armageddon, whilst never actually naming these experts or telling the reader how qualified they are to issue diktats on the subject.
The book is 'controversial' in terms of the fact that the science tells us what any sensible person already knew - a) there is no evidence that global warming in terms of being a man-made eco-disaster is happening at all, b) many eco-measures do more damage than they fix, e.g., biofuels, which have wreaked environmental catastrophe in South America and cause 7 times more eco-damage to produce than they fix, and wind farms, which don't work and are eyesores and c) the Government is infatuated with green issues because they can use them to implement stealth taxes and to further erode public freedoms.
In Section 2 the book also goes onto to demolish the myth of the obesity epidemic and exposes the Body Mass Index scam (the NHS/County PCTs routinely use BMI as a way to deny people necessary treatment despite it having been scientifically proven that BMI is a meaningless indicator of unhealthy body weight unless you are an Olympic athlete). THere have been many exposes of pseudo-science in recent years - drinking 8 glasses of water a day is dangerous, not healthy; eggs have no effect on your cholesterol, meat is not bad for you, etc. In Section 3, it goes into the myths behind gridlocked Britain, and the push for us all to abandon cars and use trains and buses - overpriced, dirty, late, rudely operated.
The reason this book only has 3 stars is, unfortunately, a fairly big flaw in my book (no pun intended). The authors are far too smug. From the offensive "Oh aren't we so edgy and cool" title, to the self-contragulatory forewords, they come across as arrogant pedants entirely too pleased with themselves, when the fact is they have no right to be. All scientific information in this book which shows how nonsensical global warming, Whitehall health advice and the Government's transport strategy is, can be found by any reasonably intelligent person who is sensible enough to "believe nothing of what they hear and only half of what they read" and who realises that it is best to check up that these 'experts' have the credentials to lecture others on what they should or should not be doing. From a Christian perspective, my favourite way of putting it is, "the Beroeans were wiser than those in Thessalonica, carefully examining the scriptures daily to see if these things were so." Anyone with an ounce of common sense doesn't need to be sceptical to realise that "carefully examining....to see if these things were so" is the prudent, wise thing to do, yet the authors of this book unfortunately come across as if they think their readers would never have had the IQ to realise that it without it being pointed out to them - over and over again by overgrown schoolboys waving their PhDs in your face like some sort of talisman. That is very off-putting, and regrettably so, because this is a book that should be read alongside any "eco-armageddon" article regularly churned out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 13 Jan 2010
By 
A keen reader "A reader" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Global Warming and Other Bollocks (Paperback)
This is a dreadful book -- the title is a good indicator of the mindset of the authors. I believe that warming (and now cooling) is mainly caused by natural cycles, and that the AGW panic is a total disgrace. However, this books doesn't exactly help sceptics. The chapter on AGW is bad, but others chapters are worse. If you are interested in a sound book critical of AGW theories, read Peter Taylor's "Chill" which is available on Amazon. "Chill" is a super book written by an invironmental campaigner who debinks the "consensus" on AGW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Title Says It All !, 23 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Global Warming and Other Bollocks (Paperback)
This is packed with entertaining and fascinating insights about how the average westerner is being conned by the media and scientific "consensus ". We have been lied to about the causes of a miniscule amount of warming that happened several years ago and which seems to have stopped with a vengeance ( I write after the coldest & snowiest winter in Finland since 1940 ; it smashed the previous records which were recorded only last year, even the famous Norwegian glaciers are now growing). Apparently Mars, Venus and even the Moon are getting warmer and there isn't much industry or motor traffic on any of them ( indeed even Al Gore's farts don't seem to be warming the Martian atmosphere either so it must be Something Else. The Sun perhaps ? ) We have been conned; so conned that unprincipled academics ( who should all have been fired on the spot ) were sending each other e-mails to suppress data which disagreed with the results that they wanted published. This isn't science. This is bollocks. I've only touched on the Global Warming bit ... This book is packed with other subjects which we have been conned about ... We already have the word demythologisation ... it's high time the word detesticulation was invented to provide a name for this genre of literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Factual and amusing., 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Global Warming and Other Bollocks (Paperback)
Read this and learn how to shut up those ridiculous warmists!! Why can they not understand that it is the Suns cycles that control basically everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Global Warming and Other Bollocks (Paperback)
Well written by folks who really know what's going on!
Highly recommended reading for those unnecessarily worried about "Global Warming"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the truth prevales, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Global Warming and Other Bollocks (Paperback)
I think this is a book that everyone should read ..We are told so many untruths.read it and understand how many lies we are given
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The title says it all..., 19 May 2014
By 
This review is from: Global Warming and Other Bollocks (Paperback)
Probably not as the authors intended but just about every word between the covers of this book is complete and utter bollocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars common sense writ large, 19 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Global Warming and Other Bollocks (Paperback)
The great global warming hoax heads this excellent debunking by Feldman and Marks. The so-called consensus of climatologists is anything but a consensus since many oppose the hypothesis of AGW, including scientists like Lindzen, Singer and Carter. The Armageddon to our planet predicted by the flawed IPCC reports has been postponed indefinitely, as these authors wisely write. Where are the vast floods, extreme weather, extra hurricanes, rising seas they predict? Answer: they are nowhere to be seen. The factual evidence shows the earth has been cooling in the last decade, and the worst disasters have occurred from tsumanis, and not from low levels of CO2 in the air. In fact, the controversy served to divert attention from the far more serious threat from fraudulent bankers, and stupid politicians, who are currently helping to destroy the EU economy (the authors should write about this next time round!). They also deliver welcome messages about food and medicine helping to debunk many myths deliberately foisted on the public by gullible politicians (additives ion food, obesity etc etc). A good read and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Dogs B*******, 2 Mar 2012
By 
Mrs. P. BROOKSBANK (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Global Warming and Other Bollocks (Paperback)
I first heard of the concept of global warming whilst I was on a residential course in 1990. The young man, early 20s, fresh out of university was there to teach us about communications. His bubbly and over the top approach was quite disconcerting. Here lies the problem of global warming for me. The advocates of man-made global warming want it so bad that they almost wet themselves. I can't argue the science, all I can say is that there are lots of issues that don't add up. This book may not be high science but is a brave attempt to bring sense and reason to a subject that polarises many. Their science might not always be spot on but then whatever you are told the pro global warming camp don't always get it right either. The bit that makes me uneasy is how the pro camp keep saying it's proven, science is god. The truth is scientist are human, with human frailties and are not gods. Many things have been proven in the past only to be debunked later. This book covers neurosis and misconceptions about many things that affect normal life, diet being one of these. It's aways amused me the fixation with detoxing, as is stated in the book if you were full of toxins you would be unwell. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to develop a healthy scepticism of life in general. Don't forget that sixty years ago smoking was advocated as been a necessity to a full and active life. It's an enjoyable read and if all it ever achieves is to bring reasoned debate and a healthy questioning and scepticism to the masses then its work is done as far as I'm concerned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Global Warming and Other Bollocks
Global Warming and Other Bollocks by Vincent Marks (Paperback - 20 Jun 2009)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews