Customer Reviews


1,200 Reviews
5 star:
 (789)
4 star:
 (296)
3 star:
 (72)
2 star:
 (26)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye-opening and jaw-dropping
I read a lot of books but have not really delved into the 'tragic life stories' genre before, but Slave Girl caught my eye on the shelf and even though the subject matter is unpleasant I was really struck by the element of hope in the book. Sarah has been to hell and back but she survived to tell the tale. Other people in that situation would have accepted their fate and...
Published on 22 July 2009 by Kenny Fitt

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars No masterpiece but worth a quick read
Interesting read but leaves you feeling doubting by the end. Writing is, in places erratic and the focal point of the story can drift. This book isn't the constant stream of propaganda to change the Red Light District but nor is it a true bio. It doesn't quite have a place and I feel that's why it's possibly lacking something.
Nonetheless, it is eye opening and...
Published 22 days ago by Muchado


‹ Previous | 1 2120 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye-opening and jaw-dropping, 22 July 2009
This review is from: Slave Girl (Paperback)
I read a lot of books but have not really delved into the 'tragic life stories' genre before, but Slave Girl caught my eye on the shelf and even though the subject matter is unpleasant I was really struck by the element of hope in the book. Sarah has been to hell and back but she survived to tell the tale. Other people in that situation would have accepted their fate and given up but she kept fighting and eventually escaped. I felt like I was with her every step of the way and respect and admire Sarah for her courage and resiliance.
I was shocked to discover that 70% of the prostitutes in Amsterdam's red light district are forced to work there by greedy gangsters. Sarah's voice needs to be heard so that tourists to that city know the misery that goes on behind those windows. The corrupt police should be named and shamed and a full investigation into the local government needs to be conducted so girls like Sarah shouldn't have to go through that ordeal ever again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harrowing read, 5 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a woman only a few years younger than Sarah who lives less than 10 miles away from her I was intrigued to read her story. I am horrified by the experiences Sarah describes and she truly is a survivor and inspiration despite the demons that obviously still haunt her. This is an extremely harrowing depiction of a tragic life where people in authority have let this woman down time and time again. I really hope Sarah has came out the other end and can live the rest of her life in peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slave Girl - Review, 7 July 2009
By 
V. Gascoigne "Vic" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slave Girl (Paperback)
I read this book in a matter of hours. It was so compelling.
Being the same age as Sarah and also living in the Newcastle area, this book really struck home.
My husband also read the book and we talked for hours afterwards about Sarah's ordeal.
If Sarah ever reads this comment... I wish you all the best in the future - you deserve it x x x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read, 6 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Last year I wrote Trafficked: The Diary of a Sex Slave to try and raise awareness about trafficking, so after my research for it I was expecting a lot of the horrific ordeal that Sarah describes in her book, but many others may not be. This book is a must-read and is very well-written. You will cry while reading Sarah's heart-breaking story, and you will feel disgusted, sick, and angry, but it's a story that needs to be read. No one should have to go through this. Slave Girl addresses a lot of common misconceptions surrounding prostitution - mainly that these women must've got into it by choice. Society doesn't pay attention to the reason prostitutes are doing what they're doing. They don't stop and think how they got into that situation - far better to ignore it than have to deal with the horrendous fact that trafficking is a huge global problem that makes a hell of a lot of money for those involved, from the bottom right up to the very top. That woman working on a street corner or in a sauna or massage parlour that you see every day could be trafficked. In the UK, it is not hidden from view, but blatantly in your face - street corners, massage parlours freely advertising in phone boxes, on the net, in newspapers, and yet very little is done to protect these women from trafficking. Another misconception is that victims can just escape - it's not as simple as that. As Sarah says " Not all prisons have bars and walls - some are in the mind." Victims hardly ever speak out because they're subjected to unimaginable abuse and violence, or their families are threatened. They cannot escape because they are brainwashed into believing their captors and they don't know who to trust. In Sarah's case, she was further bound to her captors after being fed drugs just to get through her living hell. An addiction she's still struggling to deal with.

Sarah's previous history with abuse may have made her more vulnerable, but it could easily happen to you, or your daughter, or your sister, or your wife. She put her trust in the wrong person. A mistake that was a tragedy for her and could've cost her life. It did cost others mentioned in the book their lives. It proves that a normal person who accidentally slips up could be in the same situation. In fact, it's going on under your nose right now. Together, we can all do something to raise awareness. This is not someone else's problem - it's everyone's problem.

I applaud Sarah for having the strength and courage to share her story, and break the common misconceptions that surround trafficking. She is one of the lucky ones who managed to escape, but she is far from healed. Everything that's happened to her is an ongoing struggle to deal with. I really hope that one day she will heal the invisible psychological wounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A harrowing true story, 12 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not sure how to express how I felt reading Sarah's story as 'enjoyed' doesn't seem the right expression, however I could not put this book down and it was a real eye opener to life for women like Sarah. Her story is hard to read and comprehend but very well written in a truly shocking way.
I am amazed at some of the things I now know about trafficking, I certainly will never see Amsterdam and the red light district in the same way again.
I feel the urge to help these women still stuck in this nightmare. I truly wish Sarah all the best for her future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars horrifying, 13 Sep 2010
This review is from: Slave Girl (Paperback)
This book is the story of a young woman from Gateshead, who, following years of abuse as a child and adolescent attempts to make a new life for herself by taking a job abroad. Alas, the job is a ruse and she is kidnapped and forced into life as a prostitute in the Netherlands.
This story is truly shocking, as it details the failures of those who should have helped her as a child and the realities of life as a trafficked sex slave in one of Europes most popular cities.
It was a real eye opener for me that British women are trafficked into prostitution abroad - naively I had assumed prior to reading this that the trade wasn't operating both ways.
Throughout the book there are occasional footnotes that offer additional information such as facts and statistics such as currency exchanges, legal changes etc.
There is also, in the edition I read an introduction and afterword that shed more light on the events told in the body of the book itself.
This is not an easy read in that the material is shocking and disturbing, and with reading this comes the realistaion that there are so many other women trapped in this situation, and that the judicial system really is not dealing with or punishing these crimes adequately.
The complicity of authorities that should be there to protect is appalling.
The book is not a long one, yet I feel that it could have a profund impact on those that read it.
I sincerely hope that sarah manages to acheieve some happiness and stability in her life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS BOOK CHANGED MY MIND, 5 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
READING THIS BOOK HAS CHANGED MY MIND ABOUT PROSTITUTES, I ALWAYS THOUGHT OF THEM AS HARD FACED UNCAREING AND COMMON, BUT I NOW FEEL THEY ARE NORMAL, FEELING AND THOUGHTFUL PEOPLE, WITH VERY SADLIVES, THE HORRORS SARAH WENT THROUGH MADE ME FEEL FOR HER VERY DEEPLY, AND THE WAY SHE WAS TRICKED INTO GOING TO AMSTERDAM WAS CRUEL, AND THE FACT HER MOTHER THOUGHT SHE WAS PHONEING HER, WAS CRUEL TO HER MOTHER AS WELL, THESE PEOPLE SHOULD HAVE BEEN JAILED FOR LIFE, AND THE POOR GIRL WHO HAD HER HEAD BLOWN OFF HER SHOULDERS WELL WHAT CAN ONE SAY ABOUT THAT????? A VERY COMPELLING READ, HOPE SARAH HAS A HAPPY FUTURE,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Slave Girl - I Was an Ordinary British Girl. by Sarah Forsyth, 11 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely compelling reading. It is incredible that so little importance is given to this horrific trade. Sarah bravely recounts all of the sadistic barbaric treatment that she and others went through a and clearly some still are.
It's clear that when you are made dependant on drugs and then placed in total fear your whole being is then controlled by low life people who only think pounds and dollars etc

Sarah has certainly manifested a legacy that should never be forgotten. She has shown that even when everything is stacked against you there is still a light at the end of the tunnel.
Sarah understandably has times that she just sees her life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So shocking, 26 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first time I have written a review, when I have visited Amsterdam I have been one of those gullible tourists sniggering at the girls in the windows wrongly thinking they are making money and selling their bodies by choice. I have bought this book for my daughter to read as she intends to visit and gullible like me will probably be lured off by a "pretty boy" or worse! It's terrifying to think that one human being has had such a dreadful life, caused by others. My heart goes out to Sarah and wish her luck in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars heartbreaking, 20 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have recently been to Amsterdam and had discussions with my husband about how these women "in the windows" were feeling and how they got to be in this situation. Stigma continues to surround these girls and some people still believe that they "want" to be here. This real life story of events of Sarah's life tells the true story of the lives of women in similar situations to her. This book is amazing and I feel Sarah is too. Brilliant, however emotive and heartbreaking, read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2120 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slave Girl
Slave Girl by Sarah Forsyth with Tim Tate (Paperback - 5 Jan 2009)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews