Customer Reviews


1,017 Reviews
5 star:
 (677)
4 star:
 (252)
3 star:
 (56)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read
Last year I wrote Trafficked: The Diary of a Sex Slave to try and raise awareness about trafficking, so after my research for it I was expecting a lot of the horrific ordeal that Sarah describes in her book, but many others may not be. This book is a must-read and is very well-written. You will cry while reading Sarah's heart-breaking story, and you will feel disgusted,...
Published on 6 Mar 2012 by Sibel Hodge

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not sure about this one.
I dont doubt for one minute that Sarah was abused by her father from an early age and this would have a devastating effect on any child. But as the book progresses it all seems just too far fetched to be true. And if true, why on earth would she go on to do the things she did when she returned home? Im really not sure about this book and the genuiness of all thats in...
Published on 19 April 2012 by Kinner


‹ Previous | 1 2102 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read, 6 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Last year I wrote Trafficked: The Diary of a Sex Slave to try and raise awareness about trafficking, so after my research for it I was expecting a lot of the horrific ordeal that Sarah describes in her book, but many others may not be. This book is a must-read and is very well-written. You will cry while reading Sarah's heart-breaking story, and you will feel disgusted, sick, and angry, but it's a story that needs to be read. No one should have to go through this. Slave Girl addresses a lot of common misconceptions surrounding prostitution - mainly that these women must've got into it by choice. Society doesn't pay attention to the reason prostitutes are doing what they're doing. They don't stop and think how they got into that situation - far better to ignore it than have to deal with the horrendous fact that trafficking is a huge global problem that makes a hell of a lot of money for those involved, from the bottom right up to the very top. That woman working on a street corner or in a sauna or massage parlour that you see every day could be trafficked. In the UK, it is not hidden from view, but blatantly in your face - street corners, massage parlours freely advertising in phone boxes, on the net, in newspapers, and yet very little is done to protect these women from trafficking. Another misconception is that victims can just escape - it's not as simple as that. As Sarah says " Not all prisons have bars and walls - some are in the mind." Victims hardly ever speak out because they're subjected to unimaginable abuse and violence, or their families are threatened. They cannot escape because they are brainwashed into believing their captors and they don't know who to trust. In Sarah's case, she was further bound to her captors after being fed drugs just to get through her living hell. An addiction she's still struggling to deal with.

Sarah's previous history with abuse may have made her more vulnerable, but it could easily happen to you, or your daughter, or your sister, or your wife. She put her trust in the wrong person. A mistake that was a tragedy for her and could've cost her life. It did cost others mentioned in the book their lives. It proves that a normal person who accidentally slips up could be in the same situation. In fact, it's going on under your nose right now. Together, we can all do something to raise awareness. This is not someone else's problem - it's everyone's problem.

I applaud Sarah for having the strength and courage to share her story, and break the common misconceptions that surround trafficking. She is one of the lucky ones who managed to escape, but she is far from healed. Everything that's happened to her is an ongoing struggle to deal with. I really hope that one day she will heal the invisible psychological wounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye-opening and jaw-dropping, 22 July 2009
This review is from: Slave Girl (Paperback)
I read a lot of books but have not really delved into the 'tragic life stories' genre before, but Slave Girl caught my eye on the shelf and even though the subject matter is unpleasant I was really struck by the element of hope in the book. Sarah has been to hell and back but she survived to tell the tale. Other people in that situation would have accepted their fate and given up but she kept fighting and eventually escaped. I felt like I was with her every step of the way and respect and admire Sarah for her courage and resiliance.
I was shocked to discover that 70% of the prostitutes in Amsterdam's red light district are forced to work there by greedy gangsters. Sarah's voice needs to be heard so that tourists to that city know the misery that goes on behind those windows. The corrupt police should be named and shamed and a full investigation into the local government needs to be conducted so girls like Sarah shouldn't have to go through that ordeal ever again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slave Girl - Review, 7 July 2009
By 
V. Gascoigne "Vic" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slave Girl (Paperback)
I read this book in a matter of hours. It was so compelling.
Being the same age as Sarah and also living in the Newcastle area, this book really struck home.
My husband also read the book and we talked for hours afterwards about Sarah's ordeal.
If Sarah ever reads this comment... I wish you all the best in the future - you deserve it x x x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars horrifying, 13 Sep 2010
This review is from: Slave Girl (Paperback)
This book is the story of a young woman from Gateshead, who, following years of abuse as a child and adolescent attempts to make a new life for herself by taking a job abroad. Alas, the job is a ruse and she is kidnapped and forced into life as a prostitute in the Netherlands.
This story is truly shocking, as it details the failures of those who should have helped her as a child and the realities of life as a trafficked sex slave in one of Europes most popular cities.
It was a real eye opener for me that British women are trafficked into prostitution abroad - naively I had assumed prior to reading this that the trade wasn't operating both ways.
Throughout the book there are occasional footnotes that offer additional information such as facts and statistics such as currency exchanges, legal changes etc.
There is also, in the edition I read an introduction and afterword that shed more light on the events told in the body of the book itself.
This is not an easy read in that the material is shocking and disturbing, and with reading this comes the realistaion that there are so many other women trapped in this situation, and that the judicial system really is not dealing with or punishing these crimes adequately.
The complicity of authorities that should be there to protect is appalling.
The book is not a long one, yet I feel that it could have a profund impact on those that read it.
I sincerely hope that sarah manages to acheieve some happiness and stability in her life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Slave Girl, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book felt unbelievable at times but was no doubt true.Sarah was very strong and courageous whilst sometimes appearing weak. Very compelling storey.
Sometimes we underestimate how lucky we are.
Recommended anyone feeling down will be inspired by her determination to continue to find happiness and normality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not sure about this one., 19 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I dont doubt for one minute that Sarah was abused by her father from an early age and this would have a devastating effect on any child. But as the book progresses it all seems just too far fetched to be true. And if true, why on earth would she go on to do the things she did when she returned home? Im really not sure about this book and the genuiness of all thats in it,im afraid. Still worth a read,however, then make up your own mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shocked, 6 Feb 2014
What an eye opener this book is! An unbelievable story; frightening to think that this is happening and most of us are totally unaware! Sarah thank you for telling your story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slave girl, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a book to let you know just what goes on in the world,anyone that ever looked down on people who sell there body should read this book.these poor girls go through hell if not more.well done Sarah Forsyth for having the courage to write your story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow a heart wrenching sad sad story. A real eye opener. And it goes to show how these things can happen to normal people like you and me, and Sarah.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping a page turner, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this book was shocked at what actually happens to girls and children. Very enlightening couldn't put it down. recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2102 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slave Girl
Slave Girl by Sarah Forsyth with Tim Tate (Paperback - 5 Jan 2009)
4.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews