Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing but absolutely compelling
John Cannan is a convicted killer and rapist, and the 'Prime Suspect' in the abduction and murder of Suzy Lamplugh (her body has never been found but it's safe to assume she's dead). I'm not a great reader and it usually takes me ages to finish a book, when I finally get round to starting it, but I finished this in 2 weeks (which for me is amazing). I cannot recommend...
Published on 18 Nov 2010 by jimboes2003

versus
0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disgusting Book
It's a disgusting book, written about a disgusting crime that shocked everyone who was party to it in the early 90's.
Published 14 months ago by Dan Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing but absolutely compelling, 18 Nov 2010
This review is from: Prime Suspect (Paperback)
John Cannan is a convicted killer and rapist, and the 'Prime Suspect' in the abduction and murder of Suzy Lamplugh (her body has never been found but it's safe to assume she's dead). I'm not a great reader and it usually takes me ages to finish a book, when I finally get round to starting it, but I finished this in 2 weeks (which for me is amazing). I cannot recommend this highly enough, it's a stunning piece of work. However, there are two things I think you should know. Firstly, most of this book is NOT about Suzy Lamplugh (it's essentially a biography of John Cannan). Secondly, one of the authors, Christopher Berry-Dee, previously wrote the book 'Unmasking Mr Kipper' in which he claims that Michael Sams (convicted killer of Julie Dart and abductor for ransom of estate agent Stephanie Slater) was behind Miss Lamplugh's disappearance. So it's fair to say that Berry-Dee may not fully believe in the strong case he and his co-author Robin Odell make in this book for Cannan being the infamous Mr Kipper. Personally, I believe Cannan IS Kipper, although it must be said he has always denied that and he has never been convicted of abducting or murdering Suzy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read about a notorious criminal. Of a manipulative smooth man but a dangerous killer and rapist who believed he was better than anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it's hard to understand how some minds can be so cruel and someone so heartless but this book try's to explain how they think and how they thrive on inflicting pain and suffering on others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting read, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A carefully produced study of the man and his crimes, factual content endorsed by experts and involved parties. Thankfully lacking in sensationalism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars another suspect, 27 Aug 2013
This review is from: Prime Suspect (Paperback)
A good read .. the author wrote a previous book indicating another suspect "Who is mr kipper"..both are intriguing reads and well worth the price to buy both .The saddest point being no one has ever been charged and the family has had no closure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prime Suspect (Paperback)
Having just done lone working training at work, I was recommended to read this book. Poor girl, she's still not been found.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Read, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was purchased as a gift for someone who wanted this book, The recipient advised that it was a great book and she loved reading it and was one of those that she couldn;t put down and was read in 2 days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book!, 25 May 2010
By 
This book is excellent, exceptionally well written, well researched and very informative. I highly reccomend it to anyone who is interested in true crime. The subject is not sensationalised, but exceptionally a very good read.It contains everything I want from a true crime book; background,police interviews with the criminal, trial, etc... The author corresponded with John Caanan and this demonstrates how manipulative this murderer was, also allowing compelling insight to his twisted mindset.Purchase this book and you will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 'Interesting insight' I found this book fascinating. I am ..., 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
'Interesting insight'

I found this book fascinating. I am old enough to remember 'Mr Cannan's photo in our local and of course the national media.

I can understand why women would have been 'charmed' by him...I probably would have been at that time.

This was a case of 'sugar laced with arsenic' and doubtless many people are still reeling from his vile actions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prime suspect, 23 Mar 2014
By 
joy page (west yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Isn't it a shame John can't be honest and face up to what everyone knows what he's done in the past,Interesting reading,JOY PAGE ,WEST YORKSHIRE,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prime Suspect
Prime Suspect by Christopher Berry-Dee and Robin Odell (Paperback - 7 July 2008)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews