Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frankie Poullain - Dancing in the Darkness, 18 Nov 2008
By 
Ja Dawg (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dancing in the Darkness (Hardcover)
Dancing in the Darkness

'Dancing in the Darkness' is an engrossing autobiography that often finds itself at odds with the established shibboleths of writing such a work. Frankie Poullain, aided by his Polish Cleaner-cum-therapist, sets out to write a self-help book drawing from his experiences and mistakes.

What you get is a refreshingly honest, warm, self-depticating, quirky and humorous jaunt through Poullain's unconventional first 41 years, predictably with mouth-aghast tales of rock'n'roll excess, and less so the truths and philosophies conveyed, often apologetically, that elevate it above most accounts of its kind. The chapter 'How To Lose Sight of Yourself' in particular is moving in its wisdom.

As well as possessing insight, sharpened by the awkwardness the author undoubtedly feels, he is able to spectate when others are consumed, hitch along for the ride rather than be the driver (unless popping to the shop for an Indian takeaway). Frankie is perfectly placed to analyse the trappings and pitfalls of being in a multi-platinum shifting International rock outfit, always as an outsider; the force behind the book somehow manages to be centrafugal and centrapetal at the same time.

Poullain has a keen sense of the absurd, complimented by the many illustrations that accompany the text, and he himself is only too aware of the absurdity of a bookish and sentitive type like himself ending up in a band like the Darkness. The book is therefore deliberately littered with contradictions and oxymorons.

The meteoric rise and equally seismic collapse of Britain's biggest band circa 2003 was always going to be a good story, but in Poullain's hands it becomes a quite different beast to maybe the one you expected. If there's a criticism,'Dancing in the Darkness' is too short, though it does mean there's less time to spend worrying if there's going to be a happy ending or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frankie Rocks, 31 Jan 2009
By 
G. Robins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dancing in the Darkness (Hardcover)
Hey! Trust me. This is a lot of fun!

A mind expanding romp with Frankie, the favourite with 'The Darkness' fans.

It's not just about his time with the band. He takes us on a hugely entertaining tour of his life's ups and downs.

He's more than a rock star. He's also a very funny, quirky and self effacing writer.

Just look at a few of the chapters...

... How to Clone The Gene of Misfortune
... How to Pleasure Humanity Inappropriately
... How to Teach Someone a Lesson You'll Never Forget

Some of his observations had me laughing out loud.

Anyway... geddit! and you will.

Thanks Frankie.

Garth Robins x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic read. Everyone should have a copy., 19 Nov 2008
By 
F. Barrett (Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dancing in the Darkness (Hardcover)
Everyone should read Frankie's book. I read it from cover to cover and was left with a warm glow of contentment as well as enlightenment by the end. What a lovely, intelligent, honest, fun person Frankie is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out Of The Darkness And Into The Light, 27 Nov 2008
By 
This review is from: Dancing in the Darkness (Hardcover)
As I write this review in the gloom and cold of a November day in England, I am still able to remember what it was like in a time not long past where there was oh so fleeting joy, excitement and a reason to think there was a hope for the future. The reason for this positivity, the light that came to wipe away the greyness and misery was THE DARKNESS.

I remember it well. Stood there in the third row, left shoulder literally cooking in the sun that shone over Knebworth that summers day in 2003 (I still have a big patch of freckles to show for it too!), refusing to give up my prime spot to find my friends who were in possession of the much-needed sunblock, simply because I HAD to see this truly amazing band who I'd seen a video of only the day before. On that day as Justin, Dan, Ed and the glorious tache-bearing legend that was, and still is, Frankie Poullain, showed the throng exactly what The Darkness had to offer this otherwise miserable world you were just left with a euphoric feeling that this was the future, that anything was possible and that it would be that way forever now that they had arrived.

Of course such things are but folly to think and a mere 18 months later on a December night at Wembley Arena I could just sense that something was amiss and that it was all about to come crashing down around us...and I wasn't wrong. Frankie soon departed and the band took the title of their second album a little too literally...taking a one way ticket to 'hell' (they just forgot the 'and back' bit as they decided to disband).

The world became dark and gloomy once more....

'Dancing In The Darkness' by the aforementioned tache-bearing legend that was, and still is, Frankie Poullain not only gives you the pre-Darkness history of the bass-playing man of mystery - and what a fascinating history that is, let me tell you! - but also an insight into what it was like to be at the heart of the rock phenomena that was The Darkness!

As if that weren't enough it's also a book that makes you really stop and think...it is, after all, intended as a self-help guide. As you work your way through each chapter, unravelling each little nugget of wisdom it has to offer, you can just start to sense that light, that euphoric feeling that came with the arrival of The Darkness coming out of each page and that's when you realise it never left...we just forgot that little bits of it had been passed into each and every one of us and it's down to us to get that light out there.

All that plus fine illustrations from the Polish Cleaner to boot!

This book is a MUST for any Darkness fans, Rock Music fans, Polish Cleaner fans, Bass-Playing fans, Moustache Fans....in fact any fan of anything EVER!

This book would make the best gift for someone for the holiday season
but just remember, this book is for life and not just for Xmas!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hahaha! Hilarious, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancing in the Darkness (Hardcover)
Great book and the order came quickly, the book was in perfect condition and the price was great!!! Not a single complaint to say
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars In to Darkness? Read this., 24 Aug 2014
By 
C. Donnelly "soccer friend" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting insight into the rise and disintegration of one of the UK's most exciting bands. Poullain has a brisk and light writing style, which made this a whiz to read through. Very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible for the socially-challenged, 10 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. W. Vaughan (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dancing in the Darkness (Hardcover)
Dancing in the Darkness

This is a brilliant read. During his reign in The Darkness he hardly spoke a word, now unearth the fascinating and hilarious backstory of the mustachioed pirate.
If nothing else, upon completing the book you're just left feeling "well, isn't he just a top chap". One of the first books I've genuinely been able to relate to, in terms of stories of social ineptness.
Buy it! And then read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Publication of the Year, 29 Nov 2008
This review is from: Dancing in the Darkness (Hardcover)
This is simply a fantastic book, honestly its one of the best books ive read all year (certainly the best thats came out this year!)

its hillarious and profound without being contrived

would make an excellent gift!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dancing in the Darkness
Dancing in the Darkness by Frankie Poullain (Hardcover - 17 Nov 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews