Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars106
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 September 2014
Really fascinating book. We have bought this for a friend abroad to explain some of our strange idioms.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
i bought this for my dad for xmas. he reads it alot and tells me what all the phrases and sayings mean, and it is very interesting.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2009
This book is excellent for those who want to know the meanings of traditional/popular phrases. I know a lot of the phrases and their basic meanings but didn't know the origins.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2014
This is my fave from Albert Jack, a LOT of work goes into these books. Very interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2015
brilliant book
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
All as stated.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2013
Interesting to find out the origins of everyday words and phrases . . . . . . . . .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2008
I am also sceptical about books of this nature, because there is always a danger of the author (no matter their intentions) to reuse stories from previous authors that were poorly researched, or just plane wrong. This author has unfortunately fallen into this trap and even though this is an entertaining read, some of the explanations of the phrases covered in this book are wrong. For example, the Dodo did not become extinct due to their meat being eaten by hungry sailors. This theory was disproved by historians who did some proper research and read the journals of sailors who actually tried to eat Dodo meat where it was described as being of bad taste and tough. This is not the only error and even when the author does give multiple examples of the possible sources for an expression, I found it difficult to believe what I was reading because of the aforementioned errors. One of these days, books such as this will be researched thoroughly before being published.
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2010
I was given this book to use by a friend to create some posters for our etymology group. It was so useful and helped me to create more quickly the written text for the picture posters. I have bought one of my own now and a friend has borrowed it for some German friends. They are living here now and she finds the sayings and phrases so useful to clear up things they just 'DON'T GET' about our language. I am sure it can be read just for the interest in our language.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2015
Great book
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)