Customer Reviews


174 Reviews
5 star:
 (120)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hurt's like hell
I picked up this book from my local store on Saturday afternoon. I then read it within eight hours as it was so shocking that I couldn't put it down.

Sara Davies book is one of the most horrific stories that I've read in a long while. Throughout reading the book I laughed, cried and felt very angered at times.

This author deserves nothing but...
Published on 10 July 2006 by Rosy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Terrible story
The story of Sara's upbringing is tragic to as the least. The first half of the book is engaging and well written, however, midway the story and writing appears jumpy and sentences long winded and repetitive. Still, it's an interesting read.
Published 21 months ago by Melissa


‹ Previous | 116 17 18 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An insperational read!, 22 July 2007
By 
Ms. Emma Pears "Lou Lou" (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Running from the Devil (Paperback)
From the moment i started this book, i found it hard to put it down. I found Sara's journey distressing yet inspirational. A child's life is so precious, why should they have to endure this sort of beginning to life. Sara proves that no matter what sort of start to life you encure, this can't and shouldn't hold you back from your full potential.Sara is an inspiration to all single mother's and to childern who have been abused. I highly recommend this book. Well done Sara if only there were more people like you to speak up about your abusers and the abuse you had to keep bottled up for so many years.Lets hope eventually, we as a Community can bring this sort of sick act to an end. Amazing! xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harrowing, 20 July 2006
By 
This review is from: Running from the Devil (Hardcover)
Wicked! Wicked! Wicked! Oh my, at last a book that I can totally relate to, go girl!

I loved this book. I couldn't put in down for the want of trying. It was just so raw so honest and so real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars compeling, 27 July 2007
By 
J. E. Nicholson "isadorn" (hampshire england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Running from the Devil (Paperback)
its the first biography i have read by an unknown, its was compeling reading, unbelievable in parts, but cried out thisis true. and show how society had failed her and many more like her. I took guts to put into words. It was written with a kind of niavatiy. However I did not put he book the down once I had started reading it. A very well done to her and may she have a happy life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LITTLE SISTERS POINT OF VIEW, 5 Jun 2007
This review is from: Running from the Devil (Paperback)
WELL WHAT CAN I SAY,BEING SARA YOUNGEST SISTER I DIDNT QUITE UNDERSTAND MUCH AS MY THOUGHTS WERE INFLUENSED BY MY MOTHER..HAVING READ THE BOOK I HAVE NOW HAD THE CHANCE TO HAVE MY OWN VIEWS ON OUR UPBRINGING..SARA HAS ALWAYS BEEN A MOTHER TO ME AND I WILL TRY AND BE THAT SUPPORT SHE HAS NEVER HAD FROM HER FAMILY AND THE SUPPORT THAT SHE DESERVES AND HAS ALWAYS GIVEN ME NO MATTER WHAT.OVERWHELMING PERSONALLY BECAUSE IT WAS SO PERSONAL..I WANT NOTHING MORE TO DO WITH THE FAMILY THAT CONTINUE TO ABUSE MY SISTER...WELL DONE KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK YOUR A STAR ..LOADSA LOVE HUGS AND KISSES MWWWAAAA XXXXX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Running from the Devil, 5 July 2007
By 
S. Lloyd - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Running from the Devil (Paperback)
I could not put this book down, a heart felt/tearful biography, but also a disturbing read to know that these things happen in the real world. She is a very brave woman!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful, disturbing yet, gripping!!, 17 July 2006
This review is from: Running from the Devil (Hardcover)
From the moment I started reading this book, I was hooked. This heartbreaking, but yet uplifting biography made me so angry at times that I wished myself in the same room as her mother and father for a few seconds-just to give them a piece of my mind. I have never read such a disturbing book or ever admired an author so much. What unbelievable suffering this woman experienced from such a young age. It's amazing that she found the courage to write this book at all. I finished reading the book in a day, but have spent days since unable to stop thinking about Sara Davies life. It's shocking, disturbing, sad but above all shows how the human spirit can overcome unbelievable abuse.

I'd like to patt this author on the back, and give her a big hug! What a disgracful, unsupportive family the poor woman has had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars running from the devil, 24 Feb 2009
By 
Mrs. B. Henstridge (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Running from the Devil (Paperback)
This book was a really good read. It was like reading a reveiw of real life people that i know personally, and to a degree of my own life. this lady is so brave to write about it, and im sure it helped her out in her life too. Abuse is going on in more families than what we realise, and after reading this book, i think more people would report it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Shocking, 30 April 2013
The author of this book has been to hell and back. A disturbing account of unbelievable abuse, an unloving and uncaring Mother with a revolting, disgusting beast of a Father. The abuse that this woman underwent by almost everyone she came into contact with is shocking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 116 17 18 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Running from the Devil
Running from the Devil by Sara Davies (Paperback - 4 Jun 2007)
£7.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews