Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
As described
Published 3 months ago by Andy White

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars TOP BOYS AND HOT AIR............
There were some very interesting accounts from the top boys from firms around the country. Most of the boys featured seemed to know what they were doing or what they have done. A few seemed to be full of hot air give it a go you decide.
Published on 30 July 2007 by Jason Thorne


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars TOP BOYS AND HOT AIR............, 30 July 2007
By 
Jason Thorne (England / Oxford) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Top Boys: True Stories of Football's Hardest Men (Paperback)
There were some very interesting accounts from the top boys from firms around the country. Most of the boys featured seemed to know what they were doing or what they have done. A few seemed to be full of hot air give it a go you decide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Boys: True Stories of Football's Hardest Men (Paperback)
As described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Boys: True Stories of Football's Hardest Men (Paperback)
relives your firms highs I suppose is the idea. some guys tell a better story than others

The Aberdeen one is a oke! Why this cheer leader was chosen is a mystery to me. As one of UKs biggest and best known firms we get represented by a nomark,great!
im sure Hibs/gers etc..had a laugh at that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars GREAT READ BUT SAME TEMPLATE EACH BOY, 25 Dec 2012
This review is from: Top Boys: True Stories of Football's Hardest Men (Paperback)
One of many books written by the ex ICF hoolie, Cass Pennant. Cass visits over 30 of the top hooligans in England and Europe and asks complexed and intriguing questions surrounding the individual firms.

Although this is a great read, the same template of questioning is enforced each time which means that this becomes rather predictable and is almost identical from firm to firm. Nevertheless Cass has guts to go and visit all of the boys hees fought with over the years, for that I salute him!

So if you like the question type book with little explanatory detail, this is a quick an easy book, if you pref-are a more complexed read with different political and social reasoning, other books in the genre provide this with much greater accuracy, although Cass has written better in my opinion.

But a valiant effort and a reasonable page turner, paperbook or e reader!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars topboys, 27 Mar 2005
By A Customer
after reading terrace legends i thought this would be an intresting read considering it was more to do with the violence rather than just well known "fans"
set out in the same way as terrace legends on an interview type style.its not a bad read and you can tell that these blokes know what there talking about!
was funny seeing the pompey lad in there as i know him....and he was very much a topboy !
well worth the read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cass pennant- top boys, 1 May 2009
By 
Ms. Victoria A. Rees (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Top Boys: True Stories of Football's Hardest Men (Paperback)
the follow up to 'terrace legends'.....if your an ex hooligan from the 70s/80s youll love it ...in my opinion the follow up is not as good as Terrace Legends but still an enjoyable read, definately on my 'list' to read again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good follow up, 22 Jun 2005
I am glad i bought this as Terrace Legends was a good insight to how other "boys" thought about football and violence. Good follow up and real stories from REAL LADS who were there and done it all. Thanks for a good read !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 15 Dec 2011
By 
Aw Morandin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Boys: True Stories of Football's Hardest Men (Paperback)
this is a good book one of the best i have read an i have read loads of books i dont care about the moral content and i dont know none of the blokes involved this is just a good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top boys,true stories of footballs hardest men,book, 19 Dec 2009
By 
Mrs. S. J. Thurland (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Top Boys: True Stories of Football's Hardest Men (Paperback)
It must of been really good,my husband did,nt put it down till he finished it,he loved it,so anyone that likes these sort of books or films it is a must,great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Top Boys: True Stories of Football's Hardest Men
Top Boys: True Stories of Football's Hardest Men by Cass Pennant (Paperback - 30 Jun 2006)
£6.39
Usually dispatched within 10 to 14 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews