Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prison Life
This book is a true insight into modern prison life and the effects it has on a person. Charles Bronson probably has the best insight on the subject, spending the majority of his time in solitary confinement. In this book he shows a surprising normality and his reasoning on his own incarceration is fascinating. This book is a well explained account of a person who has...
Published on 15 May 2004 by mart101

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ok but not what i expected..
i bought this book with the expectation of reading a charles bronson auto-biography. what i got was a disordered book of ramblings mostly about the british prison system and anecdotes about other people. if you are looking for an account of the life of charles bronson then look elsewhere!
Published on 22 Jun 2012 by jellyintheoven


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prison Life, 15 May 2004
This review is from: Insanity: My Mad Life (Hardcover)
This book is a true insight into modern prison life and the effects it has on a person. Charles Bronson probably has the best insight on the subject, spending the majority of his time in solitary confinement. In this book he shows a surprising normality and his reasoning on his own incarceration is fascinating. This book is a well explained account of a person who has experienced long term imprisonment; humorous yet disturbing, and it will definitely put you off experiencing a spell in the slammer for life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the view from inside, 19 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Insanity: My Mad Life (Paperback)
Bronson writes very honestly about his incarceration, and about the madness that caused him to start prison riots, rooftop protests an take guards as hostages.
Bronson talks about being 'ghosted' around the country from prison to prison, and names the prison officers who helped him, and the ones who were mean.
never afraid to speak his mind, Bronson paints a colourful portrait of the inside, and some of the villains who give prison life character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive Reading, 20 Dec 2010
This review is from: Insanity: My Mad Life (Paperback)
This is the first book that i read all the way through without skipping any pages, it hooks you from the start and i found it hard to put down. You expect to read about ten pages and before you know it you have read about thirty. In this book he talks about his experiences past and present in prison, sometimes comical, sometimes serious, you can't help thinking that some of the stuff he's wrote about is partly made up. He also talks about mental illnesses such as Paranoid Schizophrenia, Pyromania and Psychopaths. At the back of the book there is a list of which prisons he has served time in up until 2002, somewhat outdated, i'd pick up a copy of his latest book if you want to learn about what he's like at the present. His books seem somewhat repetitive, maybe he's run out of stuff to write about. The book has drawings that he done in prison and a middle section with photos of himself, friends and family. 90/100.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great, 30 May 2011
This review is from: Insanity: My Mad Life (Paperback)
really interesting book tbh, same nature as his book Bronson, theyre basically the same style, both talking about his life, but good books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and Excellent, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insanity: My Mad Life (Paperback)
If you're interested in Charlie Bronson or anything to do with crime and law it is well worth a read. Bronson seems to be quite an intelligent guy beneath his 'hard-man' image and certainly has some great insight into prison life and the way things are run, not always for the better. The only thing I would say against this book is that it is all based around his time in the 'nut-houses' not his entire prison life. Also it does jump around a bit and doesn't read like a well structured book, more like a story if you sat and listened to him tell you, it's a little... "Oh you'll never believe what happened in 1989...." "Oh and in 83..." "Oh which reminds me when I was in Broadmoor..." etc etc.

Other than that it's a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Nutters, Madness, Screws and C*nts, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insanity: My Mad Life (Paperback)
If you make sentences out of the above and rearrange into slightly different order then repeat several hundred times you will have a rough idea how this book trudges along. I gave up after 150 pages because I found this boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insanity: My Mad Life (Paperback)
A great purchase! It is a really good book to read and really changes your perspective of society and the prison systems. Came within expected delivery time and medium quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bronson, 21 Jan 2014
This review is from: Insanity: My Mad Life (Paperback)
Awesome book, Charles Bronson's autobiography another one for the collection, reminiscing about what prison was like in the 70s 80s compared to when this book was done food, slop-outs no longer exist. central heating, a lot more drug in the prisons now, a lot to cover. recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mad me feel free and thankful I'm alive..., 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose the rating because he deserves it. he's saying it like it was, is and will be. To me he comes across as a misunderstood individual that has been punished more than he deserves. this was the under current impression that strongly stood out...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Insanity:My Mad Life, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insanity: My Mad Life (Paperback)
This book was for my son for Christmas and he was so pleased to recieve it. He already has 2 other belts but desperately wanted this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Insanity: My Mad Life
Insanity: My Mad Life by Stephen Richards (Paperback - 31 Mar 2004)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews