Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money
I do not agree with the reviewer from Belgium - one of the reasons for the revised format for this edition of the Led Zeppelin concert guide was as a companion volume to Joe McMichael's excellent 'The Who Concert File', and I think that Dave Lewis and Simon Pallett have done a fine job. Although it is true that some of the photos are a little small compared...
Published on 25 Jan 2006 by R. Evans

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars downgrade
(Excuse me, but most of the above reviews refer to another Dave Lewis book 'the complete guide to the music of LZ").
The first incarnation of the Concert File was a great addition to the pantheon of zep literature (the others being Luis Rey "Live", Stephen Davis "Hammer of the Gods" and "the photographers Led Zeppelin".
In an affordable and visually...
Published on 6 Dec 2005


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money, 25 Jan 2006
By 
R. Evans "royphish" (Birmingham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Led Zeppelin" Concert File (Paperback)
I do not agree with the reviewer from Belgium - one of the reasons for the revised format for this edition of the Led Zeppelin concert guide was as a companion volume to Joe McMichael's excellent 'The Who Concert File', and I think that Dave Lewis and Simon Pallett have done a fine job. Although it is true that some of the photos are a little small compared to the large-format previous edition, there is a wealth of updated info to be found. Particularly useful to collectors are the bootleg cross-references that appear after every show entry.
The authors have also worked very hard on updates to the show information, and where new bootlegs have appeared, setlists have been updated to reflect this.
I would urge Zeppelin fans to pick this up, it really is very good indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars compact, cheap, stuffed with info!, 17 Feb 2005
If you are a Led Zep fan looking for a comprehensive read with lots of interesting information, buy this!
For the sake of a fiver you get a the true story behind EVERY Led Zep song, what inspired it, when it was written and everything you could wish to know. Each song piece also contains a section describing the live performances of the song - a priceless reference material for all die-hard Zep fans. Also included is a comprehensive section on all Zep re-releases, and solo albums from the former members.
This book has even been updated to include the 'How The West Was Won' and Lep Zeppelin DVD information.
If you like Zeppelin, buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good things do come in small packages, 10 Aug 2004
It is rare that I feel a pint-sized papaerback is worth its asking price but in the case of Dave Lewis' compact but comprehensive offering there is no doubt of its worth.
Lewis' book covers the entire (legal, e.g. no bootlegs) discography of Led Zeppelin, what he calls the "Ten Album Legacy", in more than enough depth to satisfy core Zep fans as well as others coming new to their work. I was surprised and pleased to discover the book also covers the laster "remastered" works of the 90s as well as the recent DVD, so it is quite up to date.
Add to this a concise but precise chronology of the band from their individual beginnings in 1944 to their sad demise in 1980, an index of tracks at the back for ease of access and two picture inserts which include some colour plates and frankly this is a gem worth every penny of the asking price.
Zep literature has sadly suffered from a high variation in quality - from the sublime to the ridiculous - but this small tome is an instant classic and an essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compact but usefull, 16 Dec 2002
By A Customer
When you order this book don't be discouraged when it arrives through your letter box, being only the size of a compact disc it's pact full of interesting info on the great bands music, how each and every song was recorded where and if it was ever played live it's an interesting read and worth every penny... supperb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful but... very small, 30 Nov 2009
By 
The Rover (Madrid, Spain) - See all my reviews
A great book that contains anything that you wanted to know about all the official music from Led Zep. If you're looking for that kind of info, this is your book.

The only problem is the size, too small...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says..., 3 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well - needed something a little different for an avowed led Zep fan - n found this! The backgrounds - on what I'm told are ALL LZ songs - and the tales about the music makes fine n interesting reading; and that's just me flicking thru' before I wrapped it up! A good buy - small yet perfectly formed...
...and well recieved if I believe the feedback!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a huge Led Zeppelin fan I thought this was a good well written novel about the band especially the recorded output of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Fact Book on LZ, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Led Zeppelin" Concert File (Paperback)
Just a great book. Full of useful facts (which I hope are correct). It makes for very interesting reading. I can only recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars downgrade, 6 Dec 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Led Zeppelin" Concert File (Paperback)
(Excuse me, but most of the above reviews refer to another Dave Lewis book 'the complete guide to the music of LZ").
The first incarnation of the Concert File was a great addition to the pantheon of zep literature (the others being Luis Rey "Live", Stephen Davis "Hammer of the Gods" and "the photographers Led Zeppelin".
In an affordable and visually extremely appealing coffee table book, the avid Zep head was expertly guided from the very early Live days to the latter days. Nice trivial pursuit issues on theremins, mellotrons, recording gear...and last but not least mouth watering introduction through the most expensive, best dressed, greatest sounding, most collectable bootleg CD's in existence.
The newly revamped edition is an absolute disgrace; the format is badly conceived (too thick for a smallish paperback, most pictures are now reduced to thumbnail size or postage stamp scale,the text goes too deep (you'll have to crack the damn thing, if you want to actually read everything).
The authors didn't even bother to correct some of the few errors (coda's 'I can't quit you' from the Royal Albert soundcheck ???...)
Nope, this is really bad copy and a missed opportunity if you ask me. I want my money back...now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

"Led Zeppelin" Concert File
"Led Zeppelin" Concert File by Simon Pallett (Paperback - 1 Nov 2005)
Used & New from: £7.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews