Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars7
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 May 2004
This is simply the best book ever! If you are a huge fan of Oasis (like me) you will spend days strumming along to all the Oasis songs! from Take Me Away to Shout It Out Loud! The book shows you how to play the chords that either Noel,Gem or Bonehead really played on the song! The book is also great for the casual fan who may want to learn only the hit singles such as: Little By Little, Go Let It Out, D'You Know What I Mean?, Don't Look Back In Anger, Wonderwall and Live forever.
Some of the songs can be played with ease even if you are playing guitar for the first time for example Columbia and Live Forever while others take a while to master, which means you will be using this book for years! Buy this book now and get all you guitar playing friends a copy too!
0Comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2005
I thought this book would be a lot bigger and wider but in fact its small and compact which is good. i have a definetley maybe book which is massive. anyway, this book is good as it has all the songs. however, one bad thing is that it only shows what one of the guitarists plays. for instance, in rock n roll star it shows what Bonehead plays, not Noel. I know what noel plays anyways so it doesnt matter but it can become annoying if you want your other mate to play lead. Also, this book is written using musical theory. this gets really annoying. For instance, in a couple of songs it presents three ways to play the B chord. thats because noel or Bonehead may have strumed an extra note. Also, some songs are wrong - She is love for instance. Yet, dont let me put you off this gem. Its an extremely good book, you can play for ages, i played for six hours using this book. its alot of fun. it includes all six albums and the B-sides. If you llike this amazing band and you love the guitar then this book is perfect.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2004
This book is a must for all Oasis guitar-playing fans. It covers every single released Oasis song from Alive to You've Got the Heart of a Star - so finally one can get accurate tabs for the B-sides we so want to play, such as Cloudburst and The Fame. It should take ages to get through six albums, B-sides and Familiar to Millions, but I've no doubt that everyone will do nothing but sit with their guitars for 2 days straight working through it all as soon as it arrives.
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2006
I bought this book over a year ago and have never looked back. It contains the chords for every single Oasis song, so once you have listened to the songs and learn the rhythm from spotting the timing of the chord changes, you can basically learn the rhythm for any Oasis song there is. My strumming skills have improved drastically with this book to the point where I can play any single one of these songs.
What's so great about Oasis songs is that they sound awesome when played on both electric and acoustic guitar, so if you can't be bothered to plug in your electric guitar and power up you amp etc just grab your acoustic and play Stand By Me unplugged!
My tip for beginners and/ or people who have just bought this book is to start with an easy song such as Live Forever. Don't bother trying to learn the guitar solo or the outro for the time being, just listen to the song and practice the timing of changing chords. Once you can do this, the key to mastering the rhythm playing is to maintain a constant strumming motion. Listen to the song to hear how the strumming pattern goes, and then play this pattern. Your target is to keep your strumming hand going throughout the song - you should never have to stop or slow down. Once you can successfully play Live Forever with a constant strumming motion, you have the potential to play any Oasis song, as for the most time this is the strumming pattern that Noel/Gem/Bonehead use. You can then move on to master the more complex songs like Talk Tonight, Angel Child and You've Got The Heart of a Star, all of which are superb songs.
This is a great starting point for playing rhythm guitar. Once you have mastered the strumming motion, the key to your playing is improvisation. Idler's Dream, for example, is played entirely on the piano (with strings in the chorus). However, this song sounds great on an acoustic if you try arpeggiating the chords for the verses and intro, and then play that strumming pattern for the chorus, hammering on to the 3rd fret of the top E string to form the Fadd9 chord.
Seriously, this is the best book ever! You can literally learn to play guitar with this book! Buy it now!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2014
Only shows the chords. Would be much better if included strumming patterns.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2015
Excellent value for money and great condition very happy 😊
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2015
fantastic copy - practically new so very good buy
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Cheaper than Oasis Finance Legal Settlement Oasis Finance Funding