Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Framing the Family Tree, 14 Jan. 2012
By 
Simon F. (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Even More Rock Family Trees (Paperback)
It's been thirteen long years since the indefatigable Pete Frame delivered his last magnificent collection of painstaking research in More Rock Family Trees, and I am delighted that he has now published a fifth volume. From the moment the first book appeared back in 1980, it was obvious that here was a unique and genius new way to study the comings and goings of great rock bands.
For this latest anthology, Frame has revisited some old trees, redrawing a number of them both to update information and also simplify a few. These include Fleetwood Mac, Roxy Music (a vast improvement on the original), and the Yes/ELP tree. But there are plenty of newcomers; just take a look at the trees featuring Suede, Creation Records and the Seattle grunge scene for starters.
Then there are trees featuring rock music stalwarts like Elton John, Eric Clapton, Steve Winwood, Paul McCartney and many others.
The biggest trees, spread over four pages each are those devoted to the Allman Brothers Band and US surf music. But by far the most complex is that for Fairport Convention. Completely redrawn from the original in the first book, it is a demonstration of the utter devotion that Frame pours into his work.
If one criticism can be made it is that in the past there has been a lack of trees featuring black musicians. Not anymore as this book features both R&B vocal legends the Drifters, and jazz genius Miles Davis.
As Frame turns seventy in 2012, one has to speculate on how much longer he will continue to produce these trees, but the book does contain a couple of examples of work from former NME journalist Paul Barber whom Frame has hailed as his natural successor so it looks as if this wonderful series is in safe hands for the foreseeable future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another FABULOUS Rock Family Trees book!, 11 April 2012
By 
Peter Jesperson (Los Angeles) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Even More Rock Family Trees (Paperback)
I've followed Pete Frame's Rock Family Trees since they were first published in the late great ZigZag magazine in the early 70s. I have the first two book compilations and just recently was delighted to see a listing for a third - Even More Rock Family Trees. These books are among the best music history publications I have ever seen, fascinating and fun to read. Hat's off to Pete Frame for yet another brilliant installment!
Peter Jesperson
Los Angeles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars trees and may they flourish, 22 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Even More Rock Family Trees (Paperback)
Having a great love of music I find the concept of rock family brilliant and ever since buying a Byrds greatest hits LP I have been hooked on them,
Now with Pete Frame's Rock Family Trees it takes it to new hieghts of pleasure and wonderment wellworth every penny for music lovers and also
history buffs alike and will look forward to many hours of study ahead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ........and this one still not the full deal ........, 12 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Even More Rock Family Trees (Paperback)
The problem with this and the other books in the set is that one has to buy all three to complete the histories. The detail is terrific and the 'genealogy trees' are beautifully drawn. I bought this for the son of a friend who is interested in pop history and he has spent many a happy hour with his nose glued to the pages. "Wow! Did you know that ........................" has now plagued the family mealtime and other occasions when he can find someone to list. Happiness - for him at least and for me too as one who shares his thirst for such information. A compilation version of all three would be great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Even More Rock Family Trees (Paperback)
I've purchased a couple of versions (updates) of this book over the years, and still get hours of pleasure reading them. It's almost addictive in that you start reading one "tree" then link to many others, I’ve learned so much from these books over the years. These should be compulsory purchase for anyone who is interested in the music industry.

Would love to see a “session musician” version, although that may be a bit of a challenge to compile?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Rock, 12 Nov. 2012
By 
Alan Cowan "acowan" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Even More Rock Family Trees (Paperback)
I have always loved Pete Frame's publications, and this is another classic. Very addictive reading, though admittedly some of the bands are a bit obscure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even more Rock Family Trees, 23 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Even More Rock Family Trees (Paperback)
I always find these books very interesting. I have already bought the previous two Rock Family Trees and just had to get this one too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Even more rock family trees, 30 Jan. 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Shropshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Even More Rock Family Trees (Paperback)
A great reference book for aging rock fans. The print is very small so hubby needs a magnifying glass to read the info!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Even More Rock Family Trees (Paperback)
un must !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Even More Rock Family Trees
Even More Rock Family Trees by Pete Frame (Paperback - 1 Nov. 2011)
£14.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews