Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars121
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 October 2013
I must have missed the part in the info for this book that said... so tiny that some people may need a magnifying glass to read it.

The content is OK but the size of this book was a surprise. 6inches square approx. The print is small. I think this should have been mentioned in the description. I rarely buy a book without a ''look inside this book'' option. I would not have purchased it if I had been able examine the content first.

There are 500 quilt block examples, so buy this book if you are beginning from scratch with your quilting. It could be a source of inspiration / reference. As for the claim that it will be the only quilt block compendium you will ever need...not so sure about that.
44 comments|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2013
A small book, only six inches square, but an inch thick. It doesn't lay flat when opened up so difficult to work from. Would have been more useful with a ring binding. Not really 500 blocks. A basic block is followed by lots of 'variations', mainly just a change of colour. Some full page illustrations, but many more illustrations that are only 1 inch square and even only 3/4 inch square in size so you can't really see any detail. Some print is very small and is printed in grey on a coloured background making it quite difficult to read. Making instructions difficult to follow as you have to keep looking up abbreviations and you are constantly being referred to another page. No illustrations for making up, just the finished photo of the block.
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
Here's why: 1. Irritating use of abbreviations e.g. Col = colour, diag = diagonal. This is either laziness on the part of the authors or the printers but does not make for easy use. 2. Limited instructions on how to build the blocks. 3. And this is the major drawback, your iron is one of your best tools when you quilt and how you press the seams can make the difference between a good quilt and a bad quilt. The authors only have a few inches on pressing and say it's up to the quilter to decide so no recommendations for the individual blocks based on their presumably vast experience. If I'd seen this book in a shop rather than on Amazon, it would have gone back on the shelf.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
I already have 2 quilt block pattern books which I really like.I sent for this for a friend as a gift and it was too late to send it back and order another as I needed it the next day. I found the illustrations too small and the book not as inspirational as it could have been.My friend is only just starting to do patchwork so she was pleased to receive it but I know I could have don better.Will make it up to her by getting her a better one for her birthday.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 14 October 2013
There cannot be a quilter on the planet that would not want this book. Subtitled 'The only quilt block compendium you'll ever need', with 500 blocks, it is no idle claim. Quilters of all levels and skills will find plenty of use. There are five themed chapters: blocks for everyone; simple blocks; intermediate; shapes and pictures and patterns. Each block is photographed (this is a small book so photos are small), has written instructions and block variations. Templates are included but need enlarging. The introduction shows all the techniques you need. There are also twenty projects to get you started using the blocks. I love the broken dishes tea towel. The Amish quilt doorstop and tablet case also attractive. Economy Square is one of my favourite blocks, I also like Tumblers, Flying Geese, Ohio Star, Windmill, Diamond Square, Christmas Tree and Wild Goose Chase to name a few. You'll find favourites such as pinwheel, log cabin and nine patch. The Stars, Circles, Curves and Flowers section impressed me the most, with Daisy, Electric Fan, Friendship Star and Pictures in the Stairwell as well as other, more contemporary designs. The variations are also very useful. Neat and compact, you can take this book to quilt classes or use it at home. I would have preferred a book that lays flat.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
A great book for lots of quilt blocks. But requires some experience to understand how to piece together as a unit, as well as an understanding of the cutting process.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This book contains enough quilt blocks to keep you quilting for a lifetime! There is a great combination of classic and more modern blocks, plus for many of the blocks they show you a few different variations. The actual book itself is the size of a quilt book which is a quirky idea. At only 6 inches square it is very portable so easy to take to quilting classes and groups. The downside of this is that the text and some of the photos are pretty small and most the templates require enlarging.

There is an introductory section with basic quilting and piecing techniques as well as a guide to the abbreviations used in the book. For each block there is a photo of the finished block, cutting instructions for the fabrics and details on how to piece them. There are also 10 projects included in the book to give you ideas of how you can incorporate the blocks into projects other than quilts. Projects include a book bag, pot holder, gadget case, needle book, craft bag and thread basket.

A useful reference guide for quilters.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
This is a great little book for reference but doesn't show how the blocks will look when joined up. The instructions need concentration to follow them. Fewer words and more pictures would be good
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
Perhaps I did not read the details before I ordered this but the book is tiny and so are the illustrations. I would not recommend this to a beginner quilter. The basic blocks are shown and then variations on the block which are useful. It does not go into great detail on completing these blocks. The templates needed to make the blocks are shown but have to be enlarged 200 per cent. I will find it very useful but would not recommend it for a beginner.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2014
Being a very new quilter I though this would be an ideal book for me to learn from. I was sadly disappointed. Perhaps I expected too much from it
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)