Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars comprehensive
There cannot be a quilter on the planet that would not want this book. Subtitled 'The only quilt block compendium you'll ever need', with 500 blocks, it is no idle claim. Quilters of all levels and skills will find plenty of use. There are five themed chapters: blocks for everyone; simple blocks; intermediate; shapes and pictures and patterns. Each block is photographed...
Published 17 months ago by K. Platt

versus
20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Should come with a Magnifying Glass
A small book, only six inches square, but an inch thick. It doesn't lay flat when opened up so difficult to work from. Would have been more useful with a ring binding. Not really 500 blocks. A basic block is followed by lots of 'variations', mainly just a change of colour. Some full page illustrations, but many more illustrations that are only 1 inch square and even...
Published 15 months ago by Mrs Joan Old


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars comprehensive, 14 Oct. 2013
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 500 Quilt Blocks: The Only Quilt Block Compendium You'll Ever Need (Paperback)
There cannot be a quilter on the planet that would not want this book. Subtitled 'The only quilt block compendium you'll ever need', with 500 blocks, it is no idle claim. Quilters of all levels and skills will find plenty of use. There are five themed chapters: blocks for everyone; simple blocks; intermediate; shapes and pictures and patterns. Each block is photographed (this is a small book so photos are small), has written instructions and block variations. Templates are included but need enlarging. The introduction shows all the techniques you need. There are also twenty projects to get you started using the blocks. I love the broken dishes tea towel. The Amish quilt doorstop and tablet case also attractive. Economy Square is one of my favourite blocks, I also like Tumblers, Flying Geese, Ohio Star, Windmill, Diamond Square, Christmas Tree and Wild Goose Chase to name a few. You'll find favourites such as pinwheel, log cabin and nine patch. The Stars, Circles, Curves and Flowers section impressed me the most, with Daisy, Electric Fan, Friendship Star and Pictures in the Stairwell as well as other, more contemporary designs. The variations are also very useful. Neat and compact, you can take this book to quilt classes or use it at home. I would have preferred a book that lays flat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Should come with a Magnifying Glass, 10 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Quilt Blocks: The Only Quilt Block Compendium You'll Ever Need (Paperback)
A small book, only six inches square, but an inch thick. It doesn't lay flat when opened up so difficult to work from. Would have been more useful with a ring binding. Not really 500 blocks. A basic block is followed by lots of 'variations', mainly just a change of colour. Some full page illustrations, but many more illustrations that are only 1 inch square and even only 3/4 inch square in size so you can't really see any detail. Some print is very small and is printed in grey on a coloured background making it quite difficult to read. Making instructions difficult to follow as you have to keep looking up abbreviations and you are constantly being referred to another page. No illustrations for making up, just the finished photo of the block.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good thing come in small packages?, 22 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Quilt Blocks: The Only Quilt Block Compendium You'll Ever Need (Paperback)
I must have missed the part in the info for this book that said... so tiny that some people may need a magnifying glass to read it.

The content is OK but the size of this book was a surprise. 6inches square approx. The print is small. I think this should have been mentioned in the description. I rarely buy a book without a ''look inside this book'' option. I would not have purchased it if I had been able examine the content first.

There are 500 quilt block examples, so buy this book if you are beginning from scratch with your quilting. It could be a source of inspiration / reference. As for the claim that it will be the only quilt block compendium you will ever need...not so sure about that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful quilter's companion, 11 Dec. 2013
By 
Sewing Directory (Devon) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 500 Quilt Blocks: The Only Quilt Block Compendium You'll Ever Need (Paperback)
This book contains enough quilt blocks to keep you quilting for a lifetime! There is a great combination of classic and more modern blocks, plus for many of the blocks they show you a few different variations. The actual book itself is the size of a quilt book which is a quirky idea. At only 6 inches square it is very portable so easy to take to quilting classes and groups. The downside of this is that the text and some of the photos are pretty small and most the templates require enlarging.

There is an introductory section with basic quilting and piecing techniques as well as a guide to the abbreviations used in the book. For each block there is a photo of the finished block, cutting instructions for the fabrics and details on how to piece them. There are also 10 projects included in the book to give you ideas of how you can incorporate the blocks into projects other than quilts. Projects include a book bag, pot holder, gadget case, needle book, craft bag and thread basket.

A useful reference guide for quilters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Definitely NOT "the only quilt block compendium you'll ever need", 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Quilt Blocks: The Only Quilt Block Compendium You'll Ever Need (Paperback)
Here's why: 1. Irritating use of abbreviations e.g. Col = colour, diag = diagonal. This is either laziness on the part of the authors or the printers but does not make for easy use. 2. Limited instructions on how to build the blocks. 3. And this is the major drawback, your iron is one of your best tools when you quilt and how you press the seams can make the difference between a good quilt and a bad quilt. The authors only have a few inches on pressing and say it's up to the quilter to decide so no recommendations for the individual blocks based on their presumably vast experience. If I'd seen this book in a shop rather than on Amazon, it would have gone back on the shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed., 17 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Quilt Blocks: The Only Quilt Block Compendium You'll Ever Need (Paperback)
I already have 2 quilt block pattern books which I really like.I sent for this for a friend as a gift and it was too late to send it back and order another as I needed it the next day. I found the illustrations too small and the book not as inspirational as it could have been.My friend is only just starting to do patchwork so she was pleased to receive it but I know I could have don better.Will make it up to her by getting her a better one for her birthday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quilt blocks, 4 Nov. 2013
This review is from: 500 Quilt Blocks: The Only Quilt Block Compendium You'll Ever Need (Paperback)
A great book for lots of quilt blocks. But requires some experience to understand how to piece together as a unit, as well as an understanding of the cutting process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for reference, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Quilt Blocks: The Only Quilt Block Compendium You'll Ever Need (Paperback)
This is a great little book for reference but doesn't show how the blocks will look when joined up. The instructions need concentration to follow them. Fewer words and more pictures would be good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great reference book and handy size too!, 28 April 2014
By 
GM Harlow (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Quilt Blocks: The Only Quilt Block Compendium You'll Ever Need (Paperback)
At first I thought the instructions too brief but then I saw that more detailed instructions were given elsewhere in the book. It is great for ideas, and an experienced quilter could simple use the block idea without the detailed instructions in any case. There are even some projects to make using some of the blocks. Had I bought this ages ago I would not have bought some of the other books I have. This one covers such a lot. It even tells about binding and how to mitre the binding corners.
A beginner might find some of the instructions insufficient without some guidance from someone in a class or group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - just what I was looking for!, 1 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Quilt Blocks: The Only Quilt Block Compendium You'll Ever Need (Paperback)
I wanted a book that was going to tell me how to construct all those quilt blocks I see on the Internet but have no idea how to put together - and it does just that! It has a simple layout - this is the block - this is how you make it. No frills, just a straight forward 'how to' guide. It is a small book which actually suits me as I will carry it in my handbag and look through it whenever I'm waiting somewhere or bored in the car. However, this is not for a beginner. You need a basic knowledge of quilting to use this book effectively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

500 Quilt Blocks: The Only Quilt Block Compendium You'll Ever Need
500 Quilt Blocks: The Only Quilt Block Compendium You'll Ever Need by Kerry Green & Lynne Goldsworthy (Paperback - 11 Oct. 2013)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews