Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars comprehensive
There cannot be a quilter on the planet that would not want this book. Subtitled 'The only quilt block compendium you'll ever need', with 500 blocks, it is no idle claim. Quilters of all levels and skills will find plenty of use. There are five themed chapters: blocks for everyone; simple blocks; intermediate; shapes and pictures and patterns. Each block is photographed...
Published 9 months ago by K. Platt

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good thing come in small packages?
I must have missed the part in the info for this book that said... so tiny that some people may need a magnifying glass to read it.

The content is OK but the size of this book was a surprise. 6inches square approx. The print is small. I think this should have been mentioned in the description. I rarely buy a book without a ''look inside this book'' option. I...
Published 8 months ago by Shirley W


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars comprehensive, 14 Oct 2013
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 500 Quilt Blocks: The Only Quilt Block Compendium You'll Ever Need (Paperback)
There cannot be a quilter on the planet that would not want this book. Subtitled 'The only quilt block compendium you'll ever need', with 500 blocks, it is no idle claim. Quilters of all levels and skills will find plenty of use. There are five themed chapters: blocks for everyone; simple blocks; intermediate; shapes and pictures and patterns. Each block is photographed (this is a small book so photos are small), has written instructions and block variations. Templates are included but need enlarging. The introduction shows all the techniques you need. There are also twenty projects to get you started using the blocks. I love the broken dishes tea towel. The Amish quilt doorstop and tablet case also attractive. Economy Square is one of my favourite blocks, I also like Tumblers, Flying Geese, Ohio Star, Windmill, Diamond Square, Christmas Tree and Wild Goose Chase to name a few. You'll find favourites such as pinwheel, log cabin and nine patch. The Stars, Circles, Curves and Flowers section impressed me the most, with Daisy, Electric Fan, Friendship Star and Pictures in the Stairwell as well as other, more contemporary designs. The variations are also very useful. Neat and compact, you can take this book to quilt classes or use it at home. I would have preferred a book that lays flat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Should come with a Magnifying Glass, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Quilt Blocks: The Only Quilt Block Compendium You'll Ever Need (Paperback)
A small book, only six inches square, but an inch thick. It doesn't lay flat when opened up so difficult to work from. Would have been more useful with a ring binding. Not really 500 blocks. A basic block is followed by lots of 'variations', mainly just a change of colour. Some full page illustrations, but many more illustrations that are only 1 inch square and even only 3/4 inch square in size so you can't really see any detail. Some print is very small and is printed in grey on a coloured background making it quite difficult to read. Making instructions difficult to follow as you have to keep looking up abbreviations and you are constantly being referred to another page. No illustrations for making up, just the finished photo of the block.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good thing come in small packages?, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Quilt Blocks: The Only Quilt Block Compendium You'll Ever Need (Paperback)
I must have missed the part in the info for this book that said... so tiny that some people may need a magnifying glass to read it.

The content is OK but the size of this book was a surprise. 6inches square approx. The print is small. I think this should have been mentioned in the description. I rarely buy a book without a ''look inside this book'' option. I would not have purchased it if I had been able examine the content first.

There are 500 quilt block examples, so buy this book if you are beginning from scratch with your quilting. It could be a source of inspiration / reference. As for the claim that it will be the only quilt block compendium you will ever need...not so sure about that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful quilter's companion, 11 Dec 2013
By 
Sewing Directory (Devon) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 500 Quilt Blocks: The Only Quilt Block Compendium You'll Ever Need (Paperback)
This book contains enough quilt blocks to keep you quilting for a lifetime! There is a great combination of classic and more modern blocks, plus for many of the blocks they show you a few different variations. The actual book itself is the size of a quilt book which is a quirky idea. At only 6 inches square it is very portable so easy to take to quilting classes and groups. The downside of this is that the text and some of the photos are pretty small and most the templates require enlarging.

There is an introductory section with basic quilting and piecing techniques as well as a guide to the abbreviations used in the book. For each block there is a photo of the finished block, cutting instructions for the fabrics and details on how to piece them. There are also 10 projects included in the book to give you ideas of how you can incorporate the blocks into projects other than quilts. Projects include a book bag, pot holder, gadget case, needle book, craft bag and thread basket.

A useful reference guide for quilters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed., 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Quilt Blocks: The Only Quilt Block Compendium You'll Ever Need (Paperback)
I already have 2 quilt block pattern books which I really like.I sent for this for a friend as a gift and it was too late to send it back and order another as I needed it the next day. I found the illustrations too small and the book not as inspirational as it could have been.My friend is only just starting to do patchwork so she was pleased to receive it but I know I could have don better.Will make it up to her by getting her a better one for her birthday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quilt blocks, 4 Nov 2013
This review is from: 500 Quilt Blocks: The Only Quilt Block Compendium You'll Ever Need (Paperback)
A great book for lots of quilt blocks. But requires some experience to understand how to piece together as a unit, as well as an understanding of the cutting process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars not sent the correct book, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Quilt Blocks: The Only Quilt Block Compendium You'll Ever Need (Paperback)
i was not sent the book i ordered i ordered around the block by judy hopkins could you please arrange for me to receive this book regards patricia raymond
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointed, 21 Jun 2014
By 
Scorpio (Plymouth, Devon UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Quilt Blocks: The Only Quilt Block Compendium You'll Ever Need (Paperback)
Being a very new quilter I though this would be an ideal book for me to learn from. I was sadly disappointed. Perhaps I expected too much from it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not for the poor-sighted, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Quilt Blocks: The Only Quilt Block Compendium You'll Ever Need (Paperback)
This book is 6 inches square. Yes, it has lots of blocks in but the instructions are minimal and the diagrams are tiny as are the few templates which need to be enlarged 200%.A useful resource with a magnifier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love to quilt, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 500 Quilt Blocks: The Only Quilt Block Compendium You'll Ever Need (Paperback)
A lot in it for such a little book. I would recommend this to anyone who loves quilting, my daughter-in- law has already bought one for her mother as she is a keen quilter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

500 Quilt Blocks: The Only Quilt Block Compendium You'll Ever Need
500 Quilt Blocks: The Only Quilt Block Compendium You'll Ever Need by Kerry Green & Lynne Goldsworthy (Paperback - 11 Oct 2013)
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews