Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars water studies
Part of a new 30 Minute Artist series by the publisher, Terry Harrison teaches you how to paint water effectively in just 30 minutes. From beach scenes to ponds, rivers to seas, puddles and streams, Terry shows how to paint water in all its beautiful painterly effects. Still water, flowing water, gushing and sea spray. Boats, bridges, foliage, cliffs and houses are also...
Published on 2 May 2013 by K. Platt

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good tips on painting water, reflections etc.
Small book. I have a few of Terry Harrisons books, they are much larger, so have much clearer pictures. This book has good tips on painting water and reflections etc., but I think many of the tips are in other books that I already own.
Published 8 months ago by Bookaholic


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars water studies, 2 May 2013
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Painting Water in Watercolour (30 Minute Artist) (Paperback)
Part of a new 30 Minute Artist series by the publisher, Terry Harrison teaches you how to paint water effectively in just 30 minutes. From beach scenes to ponds, rivers to seas, puddles and streams, Terry shows how to paint water in all its beautiful painterly effects. Still water, flowing water, gushing and sea spray. Boats, bridges, foliage, cliffs and houses are also included in the scenes. This book will build your confidence and skills and help you to create spontaneous paintings in just 30 minutes. There are 23 exercises, tips and techniques. In addition, you'll find 10 effective projects with step by step instructions. Great value for money series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easy, peasy !, 1 Jun. 2013
By 
R. Moore "Ros Moore" (Wellingborough England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painting Water in Watercolour (30 Minute Artist) (Paperback)
This a a super little book for the beginner or the amateur who wants to learn about painting rivers, streams, lakes and the sea.
Terry says you can paint each scene in half and hour, and you could, but if you want to do a good job and enjoy what you are doing..then take as long as you like it is all a question of what you, as the artist want to do.
I like to paint these types of pictures to make personal birthday cards. Because they are very basic, it gives you the opportunity to add the odd figure etc. making the painting into less of a copy. I really did need to learn how to paint water (not easy) and this little book turned out to be a real gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just taking half an hour out with "Painting Water in watercolour" can really improve your painting., 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painting Water in Watercolour (30 Minute Artist) (Paperback)
I gave this lovely watercolour book 5 stars as it does what it says on the cover. Lots of simple step by step exercies on painting water, waves, rocks and sand, in fact every thing you need for a competent watercolor. By taking 30 minutes out, you can really improve your technique. You will also get a great sense of achievement after completing quick exercises. I Its main selling point is that it is easy to follow and would not overwhelm beginning watercolourists. All too often, painting books can be too daunting for a begginer. I would recommend this book for beginners upwards. This is because there are little tips that experienced watercolourists may not have heard of. It is also a compact size for a reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painting Water in Watercolour (30 Minute Artist) (Paperback)
A really easy to understand book as a beginner I have found it really us full and would recommend to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painting Water in Watercolour (30 Minute Artist) (Paperback)
exactly the book I have been looking for to learn how to paint water, which I find so difficult. the exercises are easy to follow and the results are more than worth the effort
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What's not to love about this book!, 7 Mar. 2014
By 
S. M. Williams (Abergavenny) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painting Water in Watercolour (30 Minute Artist) (Paperback)
I bought one book by Mr. Harrison and now my collection is growing. Terry Harrison takes you by the hand and guides you gently through each stage of your painting. He offers tips, advice and solutions for errors in such a way you feel he wants you to succeed. Although I go to classes to learn how to paint in watercolour, I have found I have learned more through reading Mr. Harrisons books. All his books are "pick up and put down" reading which is great for taking with you out and about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tackling water in watercolour, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painting Water in Watercolour (30 Minute Artist) (Paperback)
I am a devoted fan of Terry Harrison. Without him I would never have known where to start.
Having said that, I do find that he does over do reuse of materials used in his other books.
I don't like the small format of this book given the subject matter, although I do understand
that paper and printing costs are high.
I would certainly recommend any of Terry Harrison's books for anyone wanting to try their
hand at watercolours - he is the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good and well writtten, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painting Water in Watercolour (30 Minute Artist) (Paperback)
Nice clean book, excellent condition and would recommend it to any one starting up with water colour. Expert help is there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A super book., 20 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painting Water in Watercolour (30 Minute Artist) (Paperback)
Another great book from Terry Harrison. Makes you want to pick up a brush and get started immediately. I now have a number of this talented painters books, and this is definately a great addition to them.
I have also got a set of Terry's brushes, which I highly recommend.
Can't wait until Terry's new book is out in the spring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Painting water in watercolour, 23 Jan. 2015
By 
Hazel LUCAS "CONWAY" (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painting Water in Watercolour (30 Minute Artist) (Paperback)
I found this book very useful. I have done some of the exercises which have improved my technique, and I'm looking forward to doing the others. It is quite easy to read and follow. If the author has written a book on painting foliage, shrubs etc, I would buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Painting Water in Watercolour (30 Minute Artist)
Painting Water in Watercolour (30 Minute Artist) by Terry Harrison (Paperback - 23 Mar. 2013)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews