Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars39
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 17 September 2013
This is a contemporary take on traditional stumpwork, that is very appealing. There are 19 beautiful floral designs. Eight projects show how to use the designs on household goods such as pillows, napkins, book covers and more.

Part One shows the gallery of stumpwork flowers including clover, olive, nasturtium, viola and unusual choices such as pokeweed. Each flower is shown as single plates, which could actually be framed. Each plate has a reference to the page where you will find the instructions. In Part Two, you'll find the materials needed as well as tips and techniques to produce the flowers. Plus the instructions for each flower. These are given in black and white and I do not find them easy to follow. The close-ups are minute. There is a small photo of each flower, materials you need and then several very small drawings. The written instructions are easy to follow. The projects are treated in the same way. I do like this book and the designs, I just think the presentation could have been better. Clearer and larger diagrams and alphabetical order of the flowers would have been appreciated.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
This book is a must for a stumpwork enthusiast either a beginner or an experienced needle person. Wonderful illustrations and clear methods of working.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2014
I bought this book in April and worked my way through all 19 plants and flowers, ignoring the actual projects. I found the instructions confusing to begin with and I didn't always think the choice of colour or stitch was appropriate with a few plants but that didn't lessen my enjoyment. Some of the pieces were easy and some were more of a challenge. The improvement in my embroidery skills was definitely due to stitching these pieces. Before a piece was finished I was sneaking a look at the next one. Even if you never put needle to fabric, this is a lovely book to look at.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
Lovely projects that are easily achievable for the aspiring embroiderer. They are small enough to be done in a reasonable time and varied enough to keep my interest.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
I love this book have already sewn the viola its great easy instructions to follow,My friends would like this great presents.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
The book arrived before suggested delivery date. It is a beautifully illustrated book and several of my friends have seen it and are going to order it. Can't wait to do some of the stump work shown.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
This book is beautifully illustrated with easy to follow instructions. An ideal book for both the beginner and more experienced. Several members of our group have purchased this book and they all love it. If you are interested in stump work this book is a must.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2013
This is a beautifully illustrated gem of a book. It is not as exhaustive as some other books I've seen, but well illustrated and very clearly explained. It contains a few projects instead of generic instructions, but nonetheless is very useful in its clarity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
A very detailedbook, only just received, , but couldnt put it down once I saw the lovely effects achieved by raising your stitchwork off the chosen fabric.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2016
A beautiful book bought for me as a present. Illustrations are works of art. Clear diagrams and instructions - very easy to follow. Would recommend to anyone wanting to develop their skills.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)