Customer Reviews


6 Reviews

4 star
0


2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars delightful designs
Delight friends and family by knitting christmas stockings with a Scandinavian theme. This book makes a great gift for all knitters too. Traditional themed stockings always look lovely hung up at Christmas. The photographs are not top quality by any means but the patterns are great. I love them all. This book was originally published in Norway and uses a Norwegian yarn,...
Published 20 months ago by K. Platt

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Good book but sometimes confusing!
Published 6 months ago by MS D CABAL


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars delightful designs, 18 Oct. 2013
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scandinavian Christmas Stockings: Classic Designs to Knit for the Holidays (Paperback)
Delight friends and family by knitting christmas stockings with a Scandinavian theme. This book makes a great gift for all knitters too. Traditional themed stockings always look lovely hung up at Christmas. The photographs are not top quality by any means but the patterns are great. I love them all. This book was originally published in Norway and uses a Norwegian yarn, so ensure you match the tension when substituting yarn. Mette has cleverly designed the stockings to be knit on a circular needle rather than 4 or 5 double pointed needles. There is a design for mittens, leg warmers and a little elf cap for anyone who has been extra specially good. The 22 stockings are wonderful - problem is you might want to knit them all, I know I do. They do use charts, so you will need to be proficient in reading charts and in stranding yarn over the back of the work so this book is unlikely to suit beginners. Instructions are clear. Lovely book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book but be warned - the stockings are small, 1 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scandinavian Christmas Stockings: Classic Designs to Knit for the Holidays (Paperback)
This is an absolutely wonderful, inspiring book. Lots of lovely designs and motifs that offer a different type of Christmas imagery than what I am used to here in the UK. Dancing stick men and women, reindeer and cats worked in black; hearts and flowers; teddy bear and snowflakes. Worked using the traditional Christmas colours we're used to in the UK - red, white, green - but mixed up with sludgy greys and and blues (and black, as previously mentioned) that work tremendously well. I am itching to get started!

There are approximately 22 patterns for stockings, and patterns for a pair of mittens, an elf cap, and leg warmers.

My caveat concerns the size of the stockings. They are small. They are worked with 2 - and 3-ply wool on US-size 2-3 needles and are 60-66 stitches wide. I haven't completed one yet, but the test piece that I did using 3-ply wool on size 3.25 needles over 64 stitches measures 10 inches across. So the the finished stocking is going to measure around 5 inches across, which is smaller that I'd expected.

Now, if you know what you're doing, this isn't a problem, because you can use thicker wool and bigger needles; and if you're really confident you can scale up the number of stitches too.

The book is worth buying for the charts alone, which can be adapted and used in jumpers, scarves, etc. The charts include (in addition to the designs for the individual stockings and items) three alphabet charts for personalising the stockings; a chart of numbers; and some 'runner' designs for borders.

The authentic wool cannot be bought in the UK (not anywhere I've found anyway) but can be got online. And really you can use easy-to-come-by Shetland or any other 2, 3 or 4-ply wool as a substitute so don't let the wool issue put you off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful designs, 8 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scandinavian Christmas Stockings: Classic Designs to Knit for the Holidays (Paperback)
I bought this book because my godson and his wife asked me to knit them a Christmas stocking each. A lot of the designs available were a bit kitsch - and not in a good way. But these seemed properly traditional, and in practice were a lot easier to knit than they looked. Although all the designs specify some obscure Scandinavian yarn, tucked away in the small print is the fact that they can be substituted by standard DK and 4-ply
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scandinavian Christmas Stockings: Classic Designs to Knit for the Holidays (Paperback)
Good book but sometimes confusing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Oct. 2014
By 
D. Hegharty (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scandinavian Christmas Stockings: Classic Designs to Knit for the Holidays (Paperback)
Great ideas for Christmas knits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, shame about the yarn!, 25 Jan. 2014
By 
J. Ekberg - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scandinavian Christmas Stockings: Classic Designs to Knit for the Holidays (Paperback)
Lovely Christmas stockings to knit but beware, the wool recommended in the book cannot be bought anywhere in the UK.
I've tried sourcing it online, been to haberdashery shops and contacted a knitting magazine, none have the wool.
I was advised to use a different 2ply British yarn and adjust the tension if necessary. Even that wool is only available in a few stores across the country so will have to order online without seeing the true colours. Surprisingly no stores in London stock the yarn either. Bit frustrating to say the least!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scandinavian Christmas Stockings: Classic Designs to Knit for the Holidays
£10.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews