Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginners, good to have in the library
This is the book I wish I'd had when I started out knitting Shetland Lace. It's great for the beginner and is laid out very clearly. There are a few pages on the history and culture of Shetland lace knitting, before moving on to essential techniques. Double page spreads cover the following topics: 'Tools and equipment'; 'Yarn'; 'The basics'; 'Working from a chart'; 'Edges...
Published 9 months ago by DrLMK

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Not for me
Not what i expected from the blurb. Patterns are not as pictured and it is more a book on how to design your own shetland lace patterns which isnt what i wanted
Published 1 month ago by honey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magic of Shetland Lace Knitting: Stitches, Techniques, and Projects for Lighter-Than-Air Shawls & More (Paperback)
Excellent book in new condition,wellwritten with photos and easy to understand direction to knit shetland lace.
Wellpacked and arrived earlier than expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magic of Shetland Lace Knitting: Stitches, Techniques, and Projects for Lighter-Than-Air Shawls & More (Paperback)
Just what I need to be creative, good servuce at the store. Bought more books from them. And will probably choos them again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars attractive & detailed yet well-explained, 18 April 2014
By 
HusbanDon (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magic of Shetland Lace Knitting: Stitches, Techniques, and Projects for Lighter-Than-Air Shawls & More (Paperback)
My wife initially saw this book in the Council library and was compelled to buy it, buying a further copy for our son who is studying textile design; it met with his approval too!
A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the magic of shetland lace knitting, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magic of Shetland Lace Knitting: Stitches, Techniques, and Projects for Lighter-Than-Air Shawls & More (Paperback)
This book has just arrived, and having looked through the techniques and visual displays of the various stiches, I feel quite relieved to find that my choice was a good one. A portable size, simply and clearly illustrated in colour throughout. If you fancy having a go at Shetland lace this book will inspire you..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shetland Lace, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magic of Shetland Lace Knitting: Stitches, Techniques, and Projects for Lighter-Than-Air Shawls & More (Paperback)
A beautiful book.I will be knitting some of the patterns that are included in it.Will need to buy more cobweb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heirloom book, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magic of Shetland Lace Knitting: Stitches, Techniques, and Projects for Lighter-Than-Air Shawls & More (Paperback)
I love the associated narrative which brings the book to life. I will be passing this book down to my grandchildren.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice range of projects, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magic of Shetland Lace Knitting: Stitches, Techniques, and Projects for Lighter-Than-Air Shawls & More (Paperback)
Fabulous book. Great section on the history of Shetland Lace. Perfect for beginners and experienced knitters. Includes an extensive stitch and motif directory. For experienced knitters there is guidance on how to plan your own designs. Some projects are included at the end of the book that are suitable for all knitters, using a variety of yarn weights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars goood patterns, 31 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magic of Shetland Lace Knitting: Stitches, Techniques, and Projects for Lighter-Than-Air Shawls & More (Paperback)
this little book is packed with excellent patterns and instructions.
I have some large glossy photo books, and this book is not out of place with them.
Glad to have prebooked it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use, 20 Jun 2014
By 
Mrs. F. Huxley (Rugby, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Magic of Shetland Lace Knitting: Stitches, Techniques, and Projects for Lighter-Than-Air Shawls & More (Paperback)
The charts are clear and easy to use with written instructions included, and they are graded into three skill levels making it easier to pick a patterns out for your skills. There is a variety of projects which come with instructions
on which patterns would be suitable to substitute to customise the designs. Given the title of the book I was expecting to find me instruction on how to design your own shawl. If your looking for a more advanced guide to Shetland knitting, I'd recommend Heirloom Knitting by Sharon Miller, the charts may not be standard but the level of detail is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magic of Shetland Lace Knitting: Stitches, Techniques, and Projects for Lighter-Than-Air Shawls & More (Paperback)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews