Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginners, good to have in the library
This is the book I wish I'd had when I started out knitting Shetland Lace. It's great for the beginner and is laid out very clearly. There are a few pages on the history and culture of Shetland lace knitting, before moving on to essential techniques. Double page spreads cover the following topics: 'Tools and equipment'; 'Yarn'; 'The basics'; 'Working from a chart'; 'Edges...
Published 11 months ago by DrLMK

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Not for me
Not what i expected from the blurb. Patterns are not as pictured and it is more a book on how to design your own shetland lace patterns which isnt what i wanted
Published 2 months ago by honey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginners, good to have in the library, 12 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magic of Shetland Lace Knitting: Stitches, Techniques, and Projects for Lighter-Than-Air Shawls & More (Paperback)
This is the book I wish I'd had when I started out knitting Shetland Lace. It's great for the beginner and is laid out very clearly. There are a few pages on the history and culture of Shetland lace knitting, before moving on to essential techniques. Double page spreads cover the following topics: 'Tools and equipment'; 'Yarn'; 'The basics'; 'Working from a chart'; 'Edges and seams'; 'Picking up stitches'; 'Dealing with mistakes'; 'Dressing lace' (stretching it out); and 'Designing Shetland Lace'.

Of use to the beginner would be the comprehensive guide to yarn overs and the kinds of decreases used in lace knitting. The diagrams are clearly drawn, and the text instructions are clear and simple too. Also useful to the beginner would be how to read lace charts. There are handy tips - like using a lifeline - that a beginner wouldn't necessarily know about.

Intermediate knitters will be more interested in the design section, what the author calls "putting the right patterns together in the right way". She covers construction shapes, charting, and putting motifs together. There are short sections on designing a stole, a scarf, and a christening gown.

The best feature of the book - and its real selling point for Shetland lace enthusiasts - is the stitch directory. The author categorises stitch patterns not in terms of "difficulty" but in terms of "concentration level" (because as she rightly points out, lace knitting is easy when you know the stitches but some patterns require more concentration than others!). Motifs include traditional Shetland ones like 'Cat's Paw', 'Fern', and 'Print of the Wave' as well as some others from the author's own experience. There are motifs for centre sections, edge insertions, and lace edging. The idea is that you can pick and choose a motif, an insertion, and an edging, and put them together to make your own design.

There are a few projects at the end of the book: a cobweb shawl, a hat and scarf set in chunky yarn, a modern version of a hap shawl, a baby set, some lacy mitts, socks, and a small crescent shawl. I personally found these a little disappointing but that's only because I was hoping for something more traditional and challenging - 'The Magic of Shetland Lace' isn't really that kind of book. It's main aim is to get knitters to understand that Shetland lace isn't challenging! It's also trying to capture a younger generation of knitters with updated and modernised patterns. Instead of the traditional Shetland yarn colours like white, black, and fawn, the author has gone for bright colours and dyed yarns. The use of colour in the book - in the photos of Shetland scenery especially - makes the book a feast for the eyes. So it would make a good gift because it's a real pleasure to look at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The magic is revealed, 15 Oct 2013
By 
This review is from: The Magic of Shetland Lace Knitting: Stitches, Techniques, and Projects for Lighter-Than-Air Shawls & More (Paperback)
This is a well-thought out book for those who want an adventure into lace knitting. The sampler of hexagons, pictured in purple as one of the items on the front cover, certainly made me go "wow", and want to knit it.

There are some pages where the photography of the lace stiches has not done them justice. For example, the photos on page 53 are as clear as a bell, on page 54 distinctly out of focus. The page on picking up stitches from edges has excellent "after" photos" but none "before". I do rather feel that the author put in a lot of work and then the publishers restricted the number of pages she could have. This is a pity. I am puzzled over the inconsistency of some patterns having both charts and written instructions, while others don't. The projects at the end are not as inspiring as one would hope, but I did enjoy the short explanation of names under each pattern.

I would have liked more on the history of Shetland lace, to explain the "magic" of the title, why it became so successful, and a small map showing trade routes. Many atlases curtail the sea, making the islands look just off the Northern edge of Scotland. In reality the sea voyage is many hours. It was the fishing industry that opened up the communications of these otherwise remote islands, and ought to have been mentioned.

These are only little niggles about a long-awaited title from a very talented knitter. I am learning a lot from this book, and really pleased to have it, and to recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must-have for lace knitting, 15 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magic of Shetland Lace Knitting: Stitches, Techniques, and Projects for Lighter-Than-Air Shawls & More (Paperback)
This book is the perfect introduction and reference manual for Shetland lace knitting, gathering together the major Shetland-style lace knitting stitches in one place. It is well-written and easy to understand, with patterns both charted and written. It gives instructions on how to construct your own lace shawls and scarves, and gives enough information to enable you to understand more advanced charts. I started in reverse with difficult books like Gladys Amedro's, and wish I had started with this one.

The projects at the end of the book are just to get you started and show you how to use the stitches, so I don't believe they detract from the quality of the book.

Definitely worth buying if you want to try your hand at lace knitting, or expand your range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shawl mysteries unravelled, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magic of Shetland Lace Knitting: Stitches, Techniques, and Projects for Lighter-Than-Air Shawls & More (Paperback)
I very good book to start your journey into shawl knitting with 1 or 2 ply yarn. I have my next project from the book lined up, yarn came today. The book arrived well within the time frame, well packed. An absolute must for learning about fine shawl knitting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stitch Dictionary, 17 Oct 2013
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Magic of Shetland Lace Knitting: Stitches, Techniques, and Projects for Lighter-Than-Air Shawls & More (Paperback)
I love fair-isle and lace knitting, both hailing from Scottish islands. That's not to say I am traditional when it comes to knitting, I like my knitwear to have a contemporary twist. This book looks at Shetland lace - those incredible shawls that are so fine they can pass through a wedding ring. Of course, many knitters these days opt for the quicker, the better, which means chunky yarns and big needles. Yet there is something special about Shetland lace. Intricate, delicate and so fine. I would put the Shetland shawl at the top of my list of accessories every woman should have. It's refined and a true heirloom. Shetland lace patterns can look so complicated, that none but skilled knitters would attempt them, so Elizabeth has set out to show that even novice knitters can. Techniques are clearly shown, with clear step by step instructions and charts. There is a stitch dictionary, so you can design your own items. There are projects too, not just shawls but socks, fingerless gloves and a baby set. I love the Crescent Shawl, but I can't work out the pattern and I have knitted many lace projects in over 40 years. I like the stitch directory and techniques sections and the fact that there are variations on the stitches for the projects. Charts are not always easy to follow, especially when a book closes on itself, it needed to lie flat. I would much have preferred row by row written instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love ot cause its a small retrospect of the history of Shetland Lace and very explicit and compact. Its perfect. It guides you step by step to learn and construct your own lace patterns in simple way. Beautiful outline as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful!, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magic of Shetland Lace Knitting: Stitches, Techniques, and Projects for Lighter-Than-Air Shawls & More (Paperback)
beautiful designs; great detail in the patterns and some lovely projects and they don't all need to be made in lace weight yarn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not for me, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magic of Shetland Lace Knitting: Stitches, Techniques, and Projects for Lighter-Than-Air Shawls & More (Paperback)
Not what i expected from the blurb. Patterns are not as pictured and it is more a book on how to design your own shetland lace patterns which isnt what i wanted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm a learner BUT, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magic of Shetland Lace Knitting: Stitches, Techniques, and Projects for Lighter-Than-Air Shawls & More (Paperback)
A friend gave me a lace knitting lesson after a long period of my trying to teach myself the 'how to's' on my own. She showed me some Estonian lace - which is her passion - but what she showed me is easily transferable to Shetland lace. I love the projects, the info, the pictures and the projects too, did I already say that? This is one really lovely book I'm so totally thrilled with it deserves a 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magic of Shetland Lace Knitting: Stitches, Techniques, and Projects for Lighter-Than-Air Shawls & More (Paperback)
Excellent book in new condition,wellwritten with photos and easy to understand direction to knit shetland lace.
Wellpacked and arrived earlier than expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews