Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use, great designs
For years there any Scandinavian knitting design book in print was as rare as hen's teeth, but thankfully in the last few years a number of knitting historians and designers have gone out of their way to remedy that.

I first saw this book on interweave and tried to "pre-order" it but was told it was "US only" but no reason why, it would be...
Published 11 months ago by Melodi Lammond-Grundy

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting book
I bought this book hoping to extend my fair isle repetoire. It is a well produced book with some lovely patterns but when it came to knitting some of the smaller animal motifs really didnt work. I thought the knitting shown was machine produced but ive been told otherwise. Certainly you need to be a better fair isle knitter than I am, with the vagaries of hand knitting...
Published 11 months ago by Locani


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use, great designs, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 150 Scandinavian Knitting Designs (Knitters Directory) (Paperback)
For years there any Scandinavian knitting design book in print was as rare as hen's teeth, but thankfully in the last few years a number of knitting historians and designers have gone out of their way to remedy that.

I first saw this book on interweave and tried to "pre-order" it but was told it was "US only" but no reason why, it would be helpful to the author if Interweave could put something like "see UK edition for the rest of the world." I went and looked it up because I thought "US only" was strange and sure enough it was already in print in the UK!

So, I happily ordered it sent here to the Republic of Ireland from Amazon and I am very happy I did so! This book is exactly what it says, a huge catalog of various Scandinavian knitting designs for putting on your home-made ski sweaters, yoke sweaters, mittens, hats, gloves etc.

What it is NOT is a pattern book, though there are a few patterns and suggestions put in the back - this book is for those who want to design their own knitting, and provides a way to do that in a very easy and friendly manner. Designs are easily charted out and counted, so know know if your sweater is 45 inches around, you can use designs with 5 stitches to the inch and be even.

Even beginning knitters should be able to use this book with the smaller designs, I recommend practicing the two handed "one yarn in each hand" for color knitting - it is a bit clumsy at first but whose watching? Once you "get it" using this sort of pattern book is very easy and it becomes like painting your own knitted objects with yarn.

I am so happy to see such a lovely book of traditional patterns and instructions in print - will be telling all the knitters I know about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good designs with Scandinavian theme, 11 Sep 2013
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 150 Scandinavian Knitting Designs (Knitters Directory) (Paperback)
Following on from 200 Fair-Isle Designs, Mary is back with colourful Scandinavian knitting. Some of the designs will strike you as more obviously Scandinavian than others. Actual size swatches are shown together with charts and alternative colourways for the designs. The charts are easy to use. For all levels of knitters used to working with more than one colour of yarn, this is a useful book. Essential techniques are given for those unfamiliar with colour knitting. It includes symbols and motifs, animals, flowers and traditional geometric patterns. You can combine the designs to make your own unique patterns. There are also four projects included for you to make - a cowl, hat, mittens and pincushion. Great for those who like to design their own knitwear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful collection of charts that is so easy to use, 17 Jan 2014
By 
R. Howard "R Howard" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 150 Scandinavian Knitting Designs (Knitters Directory) (Paperback)
I just love this book! I am just starting out in designing my own things and this is a great addition to my collection of stitch dictionaries and reference books.

The book is beautifully laid out and very clear. The first few sections discuss yarn, basic knitting techniques and pointers on planning and designing with these motifs. These sections are brief but very helpful although other books would be useful if you really want to get into the 'knitty' gritty of any of those subjects.

The star of the book is certainly the design directory. Small photos over a few pages give you a sort of table of contents so you can quickly scan the designs, see them next to each other and easily see which page to go to for more detail. The swatches with small motifs usually combine a few into one swatch.
Each of those swatch photos is then shown on a full page with the charts on the opposite page. The charts are wonderful, broken down into black and white grids, and two variations in colour. Each chart makes it very clear how many stitches and rows are involved. Also they are grouped so that motifs with the same or complementary stitch counts are together and this makes combining motifs so easy!

This is such a wonderful book and a must have for anyone looking to design with Scandinavian motifs or to use them to adapt another pattern. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational and useful, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 150 Scandinavian Knitting Designs (Knitters Directory) (Paperback)
Here you will find a glorious and varied selection of knitting patterns.With graph paper and a pencil you could of course create your own, but its great to have such a talented and diverse designer to refer to . There are loads of variations in here , from the complex and large patterns covering multiple stitches and 30 plus rows to neat little squares using two colours for those learning this handy skill. Fairisle and colour knitting requires some practice before perfection is achieved, but its worth the effort. The patterns in this book run from Viking ships, right through to animals, floral and leaf based patterns, traditional fir tree,crosses, simple chevrons and dancing couples,snowflakes.If you enjoy fairisle and colourwork you will love this for your collection.There a few of patterns at the end of this book, for a hat, mittens,a cowl and a pincushion, this is not a book to buy for traditional nordic garments.At the start of this book there is a helpful section on casting on, tension, planning and designing things and a small tutorial on sizing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gift., 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 150 Scandinavian Knitting Designs (Knitters Directory) (Paperback)
The recipient of this book is an avid knitter and was really delighted with this specialist book. I am awaiting the arrival of a reindeer motif jumper with some trepidation! An excellent gift for the knitter in your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely patterns, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 150 Scandinavian Knitting Designs (Knitters Directory) (Paperback)
A super directory of knitting patterns with lovely photographs and the charts look good too. One is definately spoiled for choice here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting book, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 150 Scandinavian Knitting Designs (Knitters Directory) (Paperback)
I bought this book hoping to extend my fair isle repetoire. It is a well produced book with some lovely patterns but when it came to knitting some of the smaller animal motifs really didnt work. I thought the knitting shown was machine produced but ive been told otherwise. Certainly you need to be a better fair isle knitter than I am, with the vagaries of hand knitting my little kitten ended up looking like an octopus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Create your own projects, 15 April 2014
This review is from: 150 Scandinavian Knitting Designs (Knitters Directory) (Paperback)
As a new convert to knitting I am not very experienced, but am making up for that in enthusiasm. This gorgeous book caught my eye at a trade fair because it has such a clear, straightforward way of explaining the patterns as well as the techniques needed to successfully create items with them.

What I like most of all about the book is that it will give you charts for the motifs, which you can then work into a project of your own choice. As a novice knitter I feel both inspired and encouraged to give it a go with the help of this lovely book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 150 Scandinavian Knitting Designs (Knitters Directory) (Paperback)
Beautiful book, beautiful edition, beautiful photos, a source of inspiration. Clear intstructions. I highly recommend it. The charts are easy to follow and you can adapt the motives to any existing pattern. Not a book of patterns, though, although it comes with the projects of a pincussion, traditional mittens, raindeer hat and a simple geometric cowl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars knitting designs, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 150 Scandinavian Knitting Designs (Knitters Directory) (Paperback)
I keep this book close to hand when I want to introduce designs to my knitting of gloves , mittens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

150 Scandinavian Knitting Designs (Knitters Directory)
150 Scandinavian Knitting Designs (Knitters Directory) by Mary Jane Mucklestone (Paperback - 10 Aug 2013)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews