Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars10
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 October 2013
I bought this at the American Museum with great excitement - an attractively produced book.
Sadly the content has disappointed in some respects - interesting history, but putting the ideas into practice is hard . The examples of stitches are hard to see with bizarre colours, especially the lace stitches. The pattern for the hat knits up quite small (not my tension at fault) and in at least one place an abbreviation is given identically for RPC and LC.
11 comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2013
I have sat and read this book from cover to cover and I have to say it is the most comperhensive history of knitting I have read. The patterns in this book also have a great vintage feel about them, althou they have been updated for todays wearer. Get this just for the history alone.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
What an interesting book. Some fascinating facts and history about knitting that I never knew plus an array of different stitches and techniques to try.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
What an interesting book! There's so much in here to excite not only the experienced knitter but anyone with an interest in knitting and retro fashions.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
Gave my original pattern on loan to a neighbour and never got it back. I had knitted 3 bedspreads in dishcloth cotton in 1974.from the pattern in the Womans Weekly. How wonderful to find the pattern again. Am all set to knit the same pattern for a forthcoming great grandchild. A huge thank you.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2013
This book is packed full of ideas, tips and patterns, now I have the time to recreate some wonderful articles
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2015
Found this in my local library and I am ordering it on the strength of that. Excellent book. simple and more involved (not complicated) projects and a great library of stitch patterns which can be used on your own projects.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 15 February 2013
Traditional knitting skills are still used in practically every garment that's made. Discover 150 stitch patterns with 12 knitting patterns to hone your skills. Excellent information is provided on all aspects of knitting. The book begins with textured stitches it then moves onto twisted stitches, raised stitches, cable, lace and colour work. The introduction to each section includes interesting historical information.Each stitch has an image of a finished sample and the pattern is written in longhand as well as on a chart. Some of the photographs of the knitted samples are unfortunately poor quality. This is a useful book not only for those who wish to carry on the tradition of knitting, but also for those interested in contemporary knitting as the stitches can easily be used in any project. This review first appeared on yarnsandfabrics website.
0Comment4 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2014
Great book, love it! And an excellent service, I've received it today as foreseen.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2014
what a bargain, the book is all and more than I expected
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse