Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent guidance
Part of the wonderful Royal School of Needlework Essential Stitch Guides, this book focusses on bead embroidery. It includes a brief history, basic techniques, counted thread embroidery, bead embroidery, surface embroidery and fringes. The book is illustrated with fine examples of work, many from the author's private collection. It details everything you need to know with...
Published 13 months ago by K. Platt

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bead Embroidery
It is an interesting book and were nice looking book, but I thought it would have had more patterns etc than it has, so was disappointed.
Published 6 months ago by Degjan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent guidance, 22 Nov 2013
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bead Embroidery (Essential Stitch Guide) (Essential Stitch Guides) (Spiral-bound)
Part of the wonderful Royal School of Needlework Essential Stitch Guides, this book focusses on bead embroidery. It includes a brief history, basic techniques, counted thread embroidery, bead embroidery, surface embroidery and fringes. The book is illustrated with fine examples of work, many from the author's private collection. It details everything you need to know with step by step instructions and photographs of techniques that make it all so much easier. Stitches are included with instructions, a good-sized clear photograph and a chart. It is suitable for those needing to learn basic beading. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the spiral binding and excellent text/photo/illustration lay-out, 6 Feb 2014
By 
MrsPaul (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bead Embroidery (Essential Stitch Guide) (Essential Stitch Guides) (Spiral-bound)
Can't speak highly enough about what a great resource this book is! Not too big in size and lies flat on the table to make following the beading diagrams comfortable - no need to prop the page open. The easy to follow beading diagrams are either full colour large and crisp drawings, or step-by-step photographs. Content is logically laid out and sprinkled through the pages are gorgeous photos of beaded items to act as inspiration - I already know I am going to be studying the stunning clutch on the title page so that I can try something similar.

All around extremely well done reference and learning title that I am very glad I bought!

There are NO projects in this book so if you are looking for a book with projects as well as instruction, look for the wonderful Dorothy Wood books, especially if you are taking your first steps into beaded embroidery. But then you should purchase this book for the encyclopaedic stitch guide to take your embroidery to the higher levels - if this book doesn't demonstrate the stitch it hasn't been invented yet.

This book is a definite must-have if you are at all interested in beautifully executed beaded embroidery pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best for beaders!, 14 July 2014
By 
L. Nudd (Shropshire, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bead Embroidery (Essential Stitch Guide) (Essential Stitch Guides) (Spiral-bound)
This little book is packed with information on all aspects of bead embroidery, including a brief section on the history of beadwork. There are no projects; it is purely a reference book to show stitches and techniques which will, hopefully, give inspiration. It covers basics such as needles, fabrics, threads, types of beads and even other embellishments such as sequins and buttons. Many stitches are explained, each with beautifully clear diagrams and a colour photo. At the back is a section on fringes and edgings, again with both diagram and colour photo, something I have not seen elsewhere. The book is spiral bound so will open and lie flat, a major bonus when you are working from it.
I consider myself to be an experienced embroiderer/beader but I found much to learn from this book and would recommend it unreservedly to anyone with an interest in doing bead embroidery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent RSN guide, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bead Embroidery (Essential Stitch Guide) (Essential Stitch Guides) (Spiral-bound)
It is what it says - a stitch guide. It has everything you need to know plus some great pictures for inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars INTERESTING USE OF MATERIALS, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bead Embroidery (Essential Stitch Guide) (Essential Stitch Guides) (Spiral-bound)
Although I think this book is not really up to RHS standard I do like it as it is an interesting change from the goldwork I'm usually interested in and does give me a sense of how I could be imaginative with beads. It doesn't, however, have quite enough somehow. I'd have liked more examples and any thoughts about projects that are different, e.g. embellishing. The ring bind production is always good with these RHS guides: you can leave the page open and play with materials without having to crack the spine. All in all I think every one of these guides is worth adding to an embroiderers collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bead Embroidery (Essential Stitch Guide) (Essential Stitch Guides) (Spiral-bound)
Great ideas with good clear diagrams. Very inspirational. Can loose a few hours planning projects and trying out the techniques inside the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Those new to Bead Embroidery, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bead Embroidery (Essential Stitch Guide) (Essential Stitch Guides) (Spiral-bound)
Clearly set out with explanations,pictures and illustrations in colour.This book has inspired me to try.
ok ,practice necessary!
Nice to share with like minded people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bead embroidery, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bead Embroidery (Essential Stitch Guide) (Essential Stitch Guides) (Spiral-bound)
Was purchased to complete the set of rsn books I already have. These are very helpful guides, especially for beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bead Embroidery, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bead Embroidery (Essential Stitch Guide) (Essential Stitch Guides) (Spiral-bound)
It is an interesting book and were nice looking book, but I thought it would have had more patterns etc than it has, so was disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beads and more Beads!, 2 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bead Embroidery (Essential Stitch Guide) (Essential Stitch Guides) (Spiral-bound)
What a great guide to the ultimate in luxury! Explanations and guidelines are well explained and the diagrams are very helpful. All the stitches required are shown in detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bead Embroidery (Essential Stitch Guide) (Essential Stitch Guides)
Bead Embroidery (Essential Stitch Guide) (Essential Stitch Guides) by Shelley Cox (Spiral-bound - 18 Oct 2013)
£8.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews