Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars probably the best pastel book
This is one of the best books I have seen on using pastels. Unleash the potential of this medium with the help of this fantastic book. Margaret shows you the techniques, both dry and wet. Great step by step projects and tuition are included. I particularly like the flowers, but the landscapes, buildings and figure work are all excellent. Beautiful colour is captured with...
Published 5 months ago by K. Platt

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Although well written It became quite boring and I gave up
Published 1 month ago by Julia Beckley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars probably the best pastel book, 23 Mar 2014
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pastels Unleashed (Paperback)
This is one of the best books I have seen on using pastels. Unleash the potential of this medium with the help of this fantastic book. Margaret shows you the techniques, both dry and wet. Great step by step projects and tuition are included. I particularly like the flowers, but the landscapes, buildings and figure work are all excellent. Beautiful colour is captured with excellent photography. Margaret has a keen sense of colour, an open mind to experimentation and the ability to produce stunning work. I admire Margaret's innovative techniques. The book contains the usual information in painting books on materials and so on. Tonal value, technique, subjects, composition, perspective, mood and atmosphere, figures and animals are all discussed. There are 6 demonstrations including scenes of mountains; woods and water, Tuscany; Venice; coast and poppies. These are easy to follow. The book is illustrated throughout with outstanding work. This book is certainly worth purchasing. It is a must-have for any pastel artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful addition to your pastel library, 20 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pastels Unleashed (Paperback)
I already own far too many pastel books and wasn't sure there would be anything new but there are several techniques I will try as a result of this book.
Nice big clear pictures and demos and lots of practical tips for budding landscape pastellists. If you are lucky enough to be good at watercolour (sadly not me) this is worth getting if you are interested in adding pastel to your repertoire. Useful introduction to the use of wet underpaintings.
This covers colour and composition in a general way but still helpful without getting bogged down in theory and doesn't waste pages and pages on types of pastel and paper.

I also liked the images of her sketchbooks and how she uses them to plan paintings and keep a record of travels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pastels Unleashed (Paperback)
I have been pastel drawing for a while now and thought I knew most of the techniques but this lovely book goes further.
Well written and presented. Does not spend time covering the obvious but would be good for a beginner or experienced artist alike. Well illustrated and inspirational. Highly recommend it. Very reasonably priced and do not be put off by the number of pages as this author has really packed the information in to this lovely colourful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pastels Unleashed (Paperback)
Full of really useful information Lovely illustration s and superb projects Pastels are a great medium and this book proves it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pastels Unleashed (Paperback)
I liked it because of the ideas of using pastels in a variety of ways
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Taking the pastel into very sophisticated use., 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pastels Unleashed (Paperback)
Exciting use of colour. I had tried in a timid way to use colour in a similar way, but was not as clever, or organized in my work.
I found her step by step useful in guiding "the what next" question.

Her aerial perspective was interesting, and not mentioned in any of the other books. I found this valuable, as I have some aerial photos, and wondered just how to use them. She is very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very instructional book, 3 May 2014
By 
S. C. Thomas (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pastels Unleashed (Paperback)
I like Margaret Evans's work anyway and this book did not disappoint. Plenty of step by step demonstrations. Very good book on pastels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pastels Unleashed, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pastels Unleashed (Paperback)
A refreshing book about pastels. Different from the usual ones and I like the step by step guides as to how Margaret Evans builds up her beautiful paintings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 18 July 2014
By 
Julia Beckley "JayJay" (Somerset England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pastels Unleashed (Paperback)
Although well written It became quite boring and I gave up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Looks great. Hope I'm up to it, 26 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pastels Unleashed (Paperback)
Retirement project. Looks great. Hope I'm up to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pastels Unleashed
Pastels Unleashed by Margaret Evans (Paperback - 6 Mar 2014)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews