Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We love this book
This is totally the opposite to those dry 'how to draw' manuals that end up on the sale table. It's a family book, we all liked it, (age 4 - 50), and is fascinating enough just to browse, even if you don't feel like taking up the challenge to draw. The titles of each section are witty, the illustrations totally absorbing, the 'learn more' sections worth investigating. If...
Published 18 months ago by miranpr

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Well presented but didn't work for me
Nice book, well presented.
Lots of exercises that made complete sense, and the book has a cohesive style that I can understand.
Sadly it just didn't work for me - like other books that I've tried I found it a bit too constricting and prescriptive.
Published 3 months ago by Diana Brighouse


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We love this book, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Draw It!: The Dynamic Drawing Course for Anyone with a Pencil & Paper (Paperback)
This is totally the opposite to those dry 'how to draw' manuals that end up on the sale table. It's a family book, we all liked it, (age 4 - 50), and is fascinating enough just to browse, even if you don't feel like taking up the challenge to draw. The titles of each section are witty, the illustrations totally absorbing, the 'learn more' sections worth investigating. If you do in fact want to draw, it demystifies demanding art movements, and makes you feel you can draw as well as famous artists. The activities are far more exciting than your average rainy day word search. I cannot recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant!, 2 Feb 2013
This review is from: Just Draw It!: The Dynamic Drawing Course for Anyone with a Pencil & Paper (Paperback)
This genuinely is a drawing book for anyone. It has just the right balance of theory, enjoyable exercises and recommendations on relevant artists/designers to look up, should you want to. It's also a fun reminder of how much inspiration there is to be found in everyday life and objects. The most refreshing thing about this book is its lack of stuffiness, without dumbing down. Unlike other how to draw books, which I've bought previously, this actually did make me pick up a pencil & draw.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want to buy it..., 18 April 2013
This review is from: Just Draw It!: The Dynamic Drawing Course for Anyone with a Pencil & Paper (Paperback)
Got this out from the library; now buying a copy. I agree entirely with the other good reviews. It is very good; inventive, helpful. Certainly made us all want to draw and create - ages 10 to 55! Loads of ideas - a real artist's approach, but not in an intimidating way at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, accessible book!, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Draw It!: The Dynamic Drawing Course for Anyone with a Pencil & Paper (Paperback)
They lay out and writing were attractive and clear. The book will make people want to try their hand at drawing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Draw It - an excellent publication, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent book designed to encourage those of us who would love to draw or paint, but don't know how to take the first steps. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 11 Nov 2013
By 
P. Nightingale "Paula Nightingale" (Lowestoft UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Draw It!: The Dynamic Drawing Course for Anyone with a Pencil & Paper (Paperback)
Wonderful wide variety of examples of artists and art works. Really shows how drawing is so important and also a neglected end product in itself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars get drawing, 6 Feb 2013
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Just Draw It!: The Dynamic Drawing Course for Anyone with a Pencil & Paper (Paperback)
Have pen and paper, will draw is the philosophy of this book. It's aimed at anyone who wants to draw. Learn the basics or develop new drawing skills with this book. The book is organized as a set of exercises from quick sketches to detailed observation. The authors reckon they have a foolproof way of making sure you let go of your inhibitions and start to draw. I like the 'Look Up' hints that get you to connect with artists. Discover the artist in you, working your way through this inventive book and improve your skills along the way. It's fun. This review first appeared on yarnsandfabrics website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Mix of Formats, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Draw It!: The Dynamic Drawing Course for Anyone with a Pencil & Paper (Paperback)
Plenty in this book to stir the imagination and remove "Artist's block". Contains many examples of artistic form and ideas along
with further on-line links.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Drawing is fun, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Draw It!: The Dynamic Drawing Course for Anyone with a Pencil & Paper (Paperback)
.For anyone needing material for inspiration - beginners and more advanced. Good ideas and helpful, clear, and concise instructions. Also good for children (although an adult book) as it is fun to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Well presented but didn't work for me, 21 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Draw It!: The Dynamic Drawing Course for Anyone with a Pencil & Paper (Paperback)
Nice book, well presented.
Lots of exercises that made complete sense, and the book has a cohesive style that I can understand.
Sadly it just didn't work for me - like other books that I've tried I found it a bit too constricting and prescriptive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Just Draw It!: The Dynamic Drawing Course for Anyone with a Pencil & Paper
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews