Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book
What a brilliant book this is!!!! I have tried and tried to master Fairisle knitting for a long time but to no avail. A kind lady who had reviewed this book recommended it to me. The instructions are so clear and informative that last night I had a go and mastered one of the fingerless gloves in the pattern section! Success! I am so thrilled with myself and am so thrilled...
Published 16 months ago by Susie Q

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of Inspiration
I am new to knitting but am keen to keep trying new techniques with each thing I knit. Fair Isle knitting is something I would like to try soon so bought this as an introduction. It was very inspirational with lots of lovely photos of the patterns you can create. However, I didn't think some of the instructions were quite clear or complete enough for a novice Fair Isle...
Published 10 months ago by ClaireD


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 3 July 2013
By 
Susie Q "Bob's wife" (Wirral Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Easy Guide to Fair Isle Knitting (Paperback)
What a brilliant book this is!!!! I have tried and tried to master Fairisle knitting for a long time but to no avail. A kind lady who had reviewed this book recommended it to me. The instructions are so clear and informative that last night I had a go and mastered one of the fingerless gloves in the pattern section! Success! I am so thrilled with myself and am so thrilled to own this wonderful book. There is so much information and helpful pictures that I realised why I had never mastered the technigue before.Also the section of different Fairisle charts is really good. It saves having to buy an actual Fairisle garment pattern. For instance, a plain baby jumper or cardigan pattern would look lovely using one of the borders in the book. Excellent value for money - I will treasure this book!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fairer than fair, 26 Jan 2013
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Easy Guide to Fair Isle Knitting (Paperback)
This is the second in the Very Easy Guides. The introduction includes all about yarn, colour and materials to get you started. The knitting basics section is illustrated with excellent line drawings showing basic techniques and stitches. The stitch guide takes up the majority of the pages. There is a two page colour overview of all the stitch patterns included. Each stitch is described and illustrated in colour, there is also a small chart showing the pattern for those who prefer to work from charts. The book is set out as lessons, 28 of them in all. The final lessons are on beading, finishing and more. There are projects to use your new found skills every step of the way. I particularly liked the fingerless gloves and the beret. I really liked this book, but didn't feel it stretched the subject and that a lot of the patterns were too basic. However, it is aimed at the beginner, so I think it hits the target well. It has a good, constructive approach. This review first appeared on yarnsandfabrics website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fair isle knitting, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Easy Guide to Fair Isle Knitting (Paperback)
very easy to follow good illustration and choice of patterns
contemporary projects. Loved it. Would recommend it for those who would like to learn to do fair isle the easy way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gorgeous book, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Easy Guide to Fair Isle Knitting (Paperback)
i love this book. i hadnt done any fair isle previously and found this easy to follow. the pictures are lovely. getting used to following patterns using a pattern plan rather that written out stiches was a bit strange but easy to follow once got used to it. the designs are lovely and contemporary . have used the patterns to make several of the items in the book as gifts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars VERY GOOD, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Easy Guide to Fair Isle Knitting (Paperback)
VERY GOOD
very well explained, especially for me as a beginner. Clear and precise wording and lots of guiding pictures xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to Follow, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Easy Guide to Fair Isle Knitting (Paperback)
Helpful and motivating in the design and style of the book. I can't wait to get started, Knitting is my winter hobby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 5 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Easy Guide to Fair Isle Knitting (Paperback)
Lovely book, as a beginner, I found the charts and pattern easy to follow and the designs a joy to create.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fair isle, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Easy Guide to Fair Isle Knitting (Paperback)
A nice book of patterns not easy to find these days, hope I have patience to knit something one day soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book!, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Easy Guide to Fair Isle Knitting (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book for anyone interested in learning how to knit fair isle. It has lots of great photographs, instructions, practice ideas and project ideas at progressing levels of difficulty. I would recommend it to beginners and more experienced knitters alike. A must-buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 13 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Easy Guide to Fair Isle Knitting (Paperback)
Brilliant book for anyone new to Fair Isle knitting with both written instructions and charts to work from. It covers things from simple to more complex stitch patterns in an easy format. Would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Easy Guide to Fair Isle Knitting
The Very Easy Guide to Fair Isle Knitting by Lynne Watterson (Paperback - 12 Jan 2013)
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews