Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction.
Received this today and am delighted. The first part of the book has a lovely overview - history, tips and how to design your own. The second section deals with 20 different projects - instructions, cutting tips, how to adapt the design to make variations etc. The final part of the book (about a 1/3rd of the pages) has ready to cut and copy templates backed by coloured...
Published 22 months ago by E.R.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book but not over keen on the templates
I like the book and instructions are fairly clear, but there could have been a few more templates, especially more refined ones.
Published 5 months ago by Snatrash


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very beautiful designs and an artist generous with her instructions, 10 Nov 2012
This review is from: The Crafter's Guide to Papercutting (Paperback)
I like this product because it shows how anyone can make beautiful images with just paper and a scalpel.
She also includes detailed, beautiful images that you are allowed to photocopy and cut out yourself. Even if I never pick up a scalpel, I'd consider just framing the images she provides. I particularly like images of trees and birds and she includes several of these. It really makes me feel I can easily make beautiful Christmas cards this year :) I would highly recommend this book. Emily has also got a presence online and I've seen some of her images turned into screen prints, which also makes me think that if you can master doing your designs in paper, the principles could easily be transferred to lino cutting and screen printing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 25 Oct 2012
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Crafter's Guide to Papercutting (Paperback)
Paper cutting at its best, this fabulous book shows you how to do it. Even for beginners, this is an excellent book with clear photos and instructions. You'll learn basic techniques that you can use in projects. For those who have already delved into this popular craft, there are over 50 templates. The book includes a history of papercutting. The Getting Started section is good and I like the projects. This book covers layering, cutting, even shadow puppets. I love the use of colour in the projects too not to mention the design. Projects include greeting cards, botanical artwork, keepsakes, mobiles and more. This book offers many useful tips and has great features such as the backwards alphabet. Folds are clearly shown. There is a good showcase of artist works to inspire you to create unique projects. I would be happy to recommend this to anyone. This review first appeared on yarnsandfabrics website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely book, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crafter's Guide to Papercutting (Paperback)
A great book with some excellent ideas for a beginner to this craft. Plenty of templates which can easily be traced or copied to make some lovely items.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getting craft-knife blisters from overuse of this book!, 20 April 2013
By 
E. Munro "E Munro" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crafter's Guide to Papercutting (Paperback)
I'm already a fan of Emily Hogarth's work and this book is an excellent introduction to papercutting - a hobby I'm looking to develop. I understand the book is very similar to 'Cut Up This Book', and although the author suggests copying or tracing the templates so they can be reused, it's great fun to chop up the book and use it creatively. I'd usually see this as heresy, but hacking at paper is the whole point of this activity, and it feels like a project-y guidebook more than a pristine book that should be taken care of.

The book is full of great ideas, projects, templates and guidance on how to begin. The chapter on tools to use and how best to use scissors and a craft knife/scalpel is proving particularly useful. I would recommend this book to anyone looking to start a simple but rewarding hobby - particularly if you can't get out of the house much. The only down-side is that it would be better spiral-bound rather than stitched paperback. When working on a project, you have to crack the spine of the book so the instructions stay open.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I was looking for!, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crafter's Guide to Papercutting (Paperback)
Lovely book with some great starting designs for beginner cutters and good advice on recommended equipment etc.

I will be scanning the designs to try out because I just couldn't bear ruining this great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nice book but thin on content, 24 April 2014
This review is from: The Crafter's Guide to Papercutting (Paperback)
there's not a lot to paper cutting. you cut paper, carefully, with a knife. the amount of 'how to' material in this book is excessive and can be found on any number of websites. because this book i quite thick i imagined there was more to it, but there isn', and the number of templates ok, but not really escalating in difficulty. I did the first couple, thought ho hum about the rest and did two layer fox one and the last one.
this book just whetted my appetite rather than actually gave me some challenging projects. there are similar for free on the internet to be honest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guide to Papercutting, 19 July 2013
By 
J. Roberts (Rochdale,Lancs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crafter's Guide to Papercutting (Paperback)
Fascinating craft which I am itching to get started on. This book arrived within two days of ordering and gives me all the information I need to begin another hobby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crafter's Guide to Papercutting (Paperback)
This is the perfect book for someone who fancied having a go at paper cutting. I have been looking for a book that explains all the basics and methods and has a variety of projects from straightforward to more ambitious It is full of gorgeous but manageable ideas, can't wait to get started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, full of tips and inspiration, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crafter's Guide to Papercutting (Paperback)
A well-constructed book, with clear images, useful templates and very understandable explanation; great to learn more about paper cutting. I like it so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Crafter's Guide to Papercutting
The Crafter's Guide to Papercutting by Emily Hogarth (Paperback - 2 Oct 2012)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews