Customer Reviews


433 Reviews
5 star:
 (328)
4 star:
 (80)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


124 of 127 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for using up smaller pieces of fabric
As someone who tends to buy fabric in small lengths (fat quarters or half metres) I was very excited when I saw this book was coming out. I'm always on the lookout for projects to make with small amounts of fabric and this book has 26 different projects in it which use either fat quarters or half metres.

The projects are a mix between things for your home like...
Published 20 months ago by Sewing Directory

versus
66 of 74 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks lovely, a bit short on details
Lots of things I wanted to make in this one, the photos on Search Inside were great for helping me make my choice. I've made the Craft caddy for my mum's birthday, and found that more detail was needed in the written instructions. The photos are nice and clear, but for instance, the pockets are made with a little pleat in the centre of each piece of fabric. It would...
Published 19 months ago by Mistlegigg


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

124 of 127 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for using up smaller pieces of fabric, 26 Sept. 2013
By 
Sewing Directory (Devon) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Half Yard Heaven: Easy Sewing Projects Using Left-Over Pieces of Fabric (Paperback)
As someone who tends to buy fabric in small lengths (fat quarters or half metres) I was very excited when I saw this book was coming out. I'm always on the lookout for projects to make with small amounts of fabric and this book has 26 different projects in it which use either fat quarters or half metres.

The projects are a mix between things for your home like a tea cosy, pan holder and peg bag, things to wear such as slippers, children's apron and rosette head band to useful things like a craft caddy, glasses case, tote bag and table mat.

There are big bright photos for every stage of the sewing process, making it easy to follow. There are also step by step written instructions plus useful tips scattered throughout the book. What's clever is there are no templates in the book, instead Debbie tells you how to create the templates yourself using common household objects like plates or lids. This means no faffing around with photocopiers trying to enlarge templates (yay!).

This book is ideal if you have lots of smaller pieces of fabric you want to use up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Half Yard Heaven, 9 Oct. 2013
By 
Mrs. Valerie Shepley (Bridlington, East Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Half Yard Heaven: Easy Sewing Projects Using Left-Over Pieces of Fabric (Paperback)
This book is smashing. It is full of really useful things to make, presented in such a clear way that they are easy to make. So glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely projects, 12 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Half Yard Heaven: Easy Sewing Projects Using Left-Over Pieces of Fabric (Paperback)
Very useful and informative book with numerous projects all very clearly explained for beginners through to the more experienced sewer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 74 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks lovely, a bit short on details, 26 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Half Yard Heaven: Easy Sewing Projects Using Left-Over Pieces of Fabric (Paperback)
Lots of things I wanted to make in this one, the photos on Search Inside were great for helping me make my choice. I've made the Craft caddy for my mum's birthday, and found that more detail was needed in the written instructions. The photos are nice and clear, but for instance, the pockets are made with a little pleat in the centre of each piece of fabric. It would have been good to know that by the time you've sewn the side seams together, the pleat that you carefully placed in the middle of the pocket will actually be a good centimetre to the left because you've used up some of the fabric sewing the seam. Perhaps I should have been able to predict this, but I have only been sewing for a couple of years and I simply followed the instructions.
So it's a bit ambiguous in places, but I'm still going to make some of the other items- just with my notes written all over it as I go so I won't make mistakes again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good way to get back into sewing or start completely new, 18 Mar. 2014
By 
Mad Gardener 1 (Newbury, Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Half Yard Heaven: Easy Sewing Projects Using Left-Over Pieces of Fabric (Paperback)
This book is a good one for complete begginers or people who have had a break for a few years & now gone back to it like me.
I have always loved sewing & used to make my own clothes, handbags, cuddly toys etc.
For a few years material became so expensive as haberdashery shops shut down, it didn't seem much point.
Now with the resurgence of all things homemade there are a lot more internet companies, also shops on the high street selling material at more reasonable prices. So here we go again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book love it, 24 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Half Yard Heaven: Easy Sewing Projects Using Left-Over Pieces of Fabric (Paperback)
Got quite a few of Debbie's books love this one its so easy to follow , great for first time sewers as well as accomplished sewers a all round great book for anyone .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fantastic, 21 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Half Yard Heaven: Easy Sewing Projects Using Left-Over Pieces of Fabric (Paperback)
I have waited for this book on waitlist for months and I finally got it today. I can only say this........LOVE IT. Its so clear to understand with fab pictures if all Debbies future books are like this then I will be buying them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great little book, 23 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Half Yard Heaven: Easy Sewing Projects Using Left-Over Pieces of Fabric (Paperback)
I came upon this by chance - it is a great little book, very handy for those odd little bits of fabric and easy to follow. Good projects to make. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Ideas, Colourful and Informative. No half Measures!, 14 May 2015
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Half Yard Heaven: Easy Sewing Projects Using Left-Over Pieces of Fabric (Paperback)
You can see why this book is the number one seller as soon as you open it.
bright colorful illustrations and great projects.

There literally is somthing for everyone to do.

If you know the term Half Yard then this book will be the book to get.

It has clear and easy directions and is easy to follow.

For example both the shapes and sizes of owls are given along with the feet..

There are options given so that your finished item is personal and unique.

It has good ideas to use everyday items to create templates for the projects. (For example using plates for the body of chickens and the like.

My wife attends a sewing club and this is THE book they all seem to rate.
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars half yard of heaven, 10 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Half Yard Heaven: Easy Sewing Projects Using Left-Over Pieces of Fabric (Paperback)
Great book lovely pictures easy diagrams love Debbie Shore books very easy to follow instructions ideal for all those left over pieces of fabric we all have stashed away. Looking forward to making the chicken doorstop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Half Yard Heaven: Easy Sewing Projects Using Left-Over Pieces of Fabric
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews