Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


105 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book!
I have always drawn and painted with watercolour, but never used acrylics before. This book is great if you are new to acrylic painting and full of top tips and explanations. Its well written and has a step by step approach to techniques and methods. It shows how to form a picture, start painting and continue in easy to follow diagrams and colour photo's. A very good book...
Published on 11 Jun 2003 by sesmo_k

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Painting with Acrylics
Wendy Jelbert begins well - materials, colour mixing and the watercolour and oil techniques of acrylic painting are well explained and illustrated very suitably.

Unfortunately her demonstrations let her down: Daisies on a cliff and Hens on a farmyard are hardly going to excite many people.

Even in a preliminary book, water, reflections, people, trees...
Published on 12 Oct 2010 by pebo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

105 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book!, 11 Jun 2003
I have always drawn and painted with watercolour, but never used acrylics before. This book is great if you are new to acrylic painting and full of top tips and explanations. Its well written and has a step by step approach to techniques and methods. It shows how to form a picture, start painting and continue in easy to follow diagrams and colour photo's. A very good book for starters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Painting with Acrylics, 12 Oct 2010
Wendy Jelbert begins well - materials, colour mixing and the watercolour and oil techniques of acrylic painting are well explained and illustrated very suitably.

Unfortunately her demonstrations let her down: Daisies on a cliff and Hens on a farmyard are hardly going to excite many people.

Even in a preliminary book, water, reflections, people, trees should be covered. Her only saving grace was a very good section on painting different types of sky.

In view of the price the book is worthwhile but you will soon want to move on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I second Pebo's review, 12 July 2012
By 
magwitch (Merry England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can't add an awful lot to the previous review by Pebo which more or less covers how I feel about this book. It's okay as far as it goes and I guess the retail price of £5.95 isn't a lot. Still I'm very glad I bought a used copy for only £1.03 as the usage I've had from this book was pretty limited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars introduction to acrylic, 25 Oct 2012
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Painting with Acrylics (Art Handbooks) (Paperback)
This is part of a new series from this publisher of Art Handbooks. The books are small and only 48 pages but they pack in plenty of useful information. Wendy shows techniques, step by step paintings and examples of finished work. This is a good introduction to acrylic painting that does not cost the earth. This review first appeared on yarnsandfabrics website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good little book, 1 Mar 2014
By 
Lady T (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painting with Acrylics (Art Handbooks) (Paperback)
Although this book does not have lots of pages, I found it very informative as I am a novice painter of acrylics and keep referring back to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Smaller than I thought it would be, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painting with Acrylics (Art Handbooks) (Paperback)
The book is actually smaller than I thought it would be and therefore the content is limited. But ok for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars this was more like a booklet, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painting with Acrylics (Art Handbooks) (Paperback)
I was expecting tis to be a book but it would be better described as a booklet. It did not have much content and I was disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painting with Acrylics (Art Handbooks) (Paperback)
great painting in acrylics book with lots of ideas and techniques sample paintings to follow with techniques on use of tone and brushes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Painting with Acrylics By Wendy Jelbert, 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painting with Acrylics (Art Handbooks) (Paperback)
very dissapointed, would really like to return I would have been better to have bought a Dearer Book may I return
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Painting with Acrylics (Art Handbooks) (Paperback)
Good book for beginners but a bit disappointed. Arrived in good order
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Painting with Acrylics (Art Handbooks)
Painting with Acrylics (Art Handbooks) by Wendy Jelbert (Paperback - 17 Oct 2012)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews