Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars INSPIRATIONAL!!, 26 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crewel Twists: Fresh Ideas for Jacobean Embroidery (Paperback)
It was the black and white cover that first draw my attention - it was so different from all the colours. Book was cheap enough so I thought I would order it and see!!
The book took my breath away - the samples shown throughout the book are quite beautiful and I must admit I cannot wait to give a couple a go. Instructions are clear with stitch diagrams at the beginning of the book. The author writes as if she is talking to you - even advice on glasses etc.
A lovely book worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful work, 4 Mar 2012
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crewel Twists: Fresh Ideas for Jacobean Embroidery (Paperback)
It is nice to see someone pushing the boundaries of traditional crewel work. Also known as Jacobean, this form of embroidery has been around for hundreds of years. Hazel's work is definitely traditional but has a twist, in that she uses materials not traditionally associated with crewel work. Her projects also use beads and metal threads and techniques used by lace makers. Great projects in this book. I very much like the way the projects are used in cushions and for useful additions to the home. Not sure about the comments on the Chinese, if I had been the editor I would have deleted that. Daylight lamps are surely the answer to embroidery and eye sight problems. Good instructions and photographs. This review first appeared on yarnsandfabrics website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a gem!, 11 April 2012
By 
A. Broderick "NinaB" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crewel Twists: Fresh Ideas for Jacobean Embroidery (Paperback)
I love this book. What a gem! I received it last week and have already completed a cut-down version of "Midnight Meander" featured on the front cover - using my own colour scheme. I was very pleased with what I achieved. The instructions clearly detail each stage, containing a useful stitch glossary including needle-lace techniques, and clear photos, that guide you step by step, to completion. I enjoyed it so much that I have since ordered the beads and threads for the Autumn Lace project and can't wait for them to arrive! I am so delighted to have found a book that combines several techniques, and that use well-known brands of stranded cotton. Hazel, you have achieved your goal . . . I am well and truly inspired!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crewel Twists Review, 31 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crewel Twists: Fresh Ideas for Jacobean Embroidery (Paperback)
Embroidering in the Jacobean fashion is what I enjoy most. Prior to purchasing this book, I have attended classes and watched a DVD of the technique and completed my first project. I bought this book as I thought it would provide me with easy visual access to the techniques.
I feel this is not a starter book for the complete novice, as there is a need to go back and forth between stitch instruction and the photographic image. While it is easy for the experienced stitcher to know what they are looking at stitch wise on the design, I feel the novice may have a little more difficulity. This book tells one what to do, but does not show you how to do it. Having said that, the graphics are excellent making it easy to see the stitch direction while sewing.
The colour photos provide ample opportunity to go with the suggested colour schemes or to change them to ones own colour blend.
This is a lovely book for the embroiderer to use as inspiration in their own work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh air, 26 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crewel Twists: Fresh Ideas for Jacobean Embroidery (Paperback)
what a lovely book! A very fresh way of working with Jacobean Crewel work. Superb ideas. Not a book for the novice though. Some experience in this field needed as instructions can be a bit sparse. However a great little book and definitely a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stitches, 22 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crewel Twists: Fresh Ideas for Jacobean Embroidery (Paperback)
The most perfectly written book on this subject I have ever used or read. The explanations and diagrams are succint and beautifully written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crewel Twists: Fresh Ideas for Jacobean Embroidery (Paperback)
I am absolutely delighted with this book. It is full of information and beautiful illustrations. The instructions for stiching the designs are very explicit and detailed, with pictures for each part of the work, also many sewing tips which are very useful. Great value for money. Would certainly recommend it to any enthusiast of crewel work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Book, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crewel Twists: Fresh Ideas for Jacobean Embroidery (Paperback)
This is a fabulous book full of new and exciting ideas and beautiful pictures. Hazel Blomkamp is a very talented lady!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very inspiring!, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crewel Twists: Fresh Ideas for Jacobean Embroidery (Paperback)
Have already completed one project and am working on second. Looking forward to working on the rest. Instructions very clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jacobean embroidery, 22 Jan 2014
This review is from: Crewel Twists: Fresh Ideas for Jacobean Embroidery (Paperback)
This is a fabulous book; it gives instructions for creating several Jacobean style pictures - which could be used for cushions or bags, etc.

As well as making the projects by following the instructions, it would be easy to use the ideas to make your own picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb46d93a8)

This product

Crewel Twists: Fresh Ideas for Jacobean Embroidery
Crewel Twists: Fresh Ideas for Jacobean Embroidery by Hazel Blomkamp (Paperback - 1 Mar 2012)
11.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews