Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, bright, and beautiful
Betty Barnden always turns out blocks and items to inspire me, I just love her ideas. This book is choc full of them - loads of beautiful coloured hexagons, squares, circles and triangles together with ideas for using them - love it. There are flower purses and a rose scarf and a daisy cushion and as well as few wonderful things to make there's also useful stuff such as...
Published on 26 July 2012 by Elle B Reader

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too many crochet blocks?
The reason I bought this book is that I saw the triangular scarf in a magazine and liked it, but unfortunately the pattern was not given. I was going to see if the pattern was on Ravelry, but I found the book on Amazon and the 'look inside' view made the book look a useful addition to my small collection of knitting and crochet books. I will probably make the scarf, but...
Published 23 months ago by Mytime


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, bright, and beautiful, 26 July 2012
This review is from: 75 Crocheted Floral Blocks: Beautiful Patterns to Mix and Match for Throws, Accessories, Baby Blankets and More (Paperback)
Betty Barnden always turns out blocks and items to inspire me, I just love her ideas. This book is choc full of them - loads of beautiful coloured hexagons, squares, circles and triangles together with ideas for using them - love it. There are flower purses and a rose scarf and a daisy cushion and as well as few wonderful things to make there's also useful stuff such as showing the difference between blocks if you use various yarns, then there's testing your tension, doesn't matter so much for a throw or cushion but if you're going to use the blocks for a garment then this is useful to know.

You'll also get well illustrated instructions on how to join blocks in various ways, really, the information included, the lovely diagrams and fabulously coloured pictures, and the sheer inspiration in here makes this money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars practical and inspiring, 8 Aug. 2012
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 75 Crocheted Floral Blocks: Beautiful Patterns to Mix and Match for Throws, Accessories, Baby Blankets and More (Paperback)
A great selection of blocks for crocheters. They include the typical square but also hexagons, circles, triangles and diamonds. The theme is flowers and these blocks are pretty stunning, many in a lacy effect but also some solid blocks. The book takes you through materials and tools needed, a very useful block size section, working directions, block arrangements, edgings, project planning and more. The meat of the book is a collection of blocks arranged by colour. There are excellent photos of each block. We then move on to the instructions. These are very clear and you also get another photo of the block plus a chart, which can be read by following the symbols in the book. Last but not least, there are four good projects - a throw, purses, cushion and scarf. I love the daisy chain square, the lacy daisy square, the sunflower square and my favourite pattern in the book is the shamrock triangle. Crochet is the perfect on the go craft and this book is ideal for projects you can create during your lunch hour, on the train etc. It's great for using leftover yarn. You could create some stunning work using this book. This review first appeared on yarnsandfabrics website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars crocheted floral blocks, 8 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 75 Crocheted Floral Blocks: Beautiful Patterns to Mix and Match for Throws, Accessories, Baby Blankets and More (Paperback)
this book has a very good selection of patterns but some are for the more advanced crocheter.that said i found some easy to complete
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 75 Crocheted Floral Blocks, 17 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 75 Crocheted Floral Blocks: Beautiful Patterns to Mix and Match for Throws, Accessories, Baby Blankets and More (Paperback)
I received this book today and couldn't get over it's presentation. What can I say the colours are amazing! The patterns look unique and as I turned each page I just wanted to get stuck in right away. The book is split up into four sections. The first section is on useful techniques which gives information on yarn and block sizes, materials and equipment, block arrangements, joining blocks etc. Section 2 gives you a directory of the 75 blocks in picture form, absolutely beautiful! The Third section gives you instructions/patterns for the individual blocks both in written form and via a diagram. The final section lists some beautiful projects which you can choose to follow and include a purse, a throw, a cushion and a scarf. This is truly a beautiful book and it would make a lovely gift. The presentation is excellent. Suitable for all skill levels from beginner to advanced. The possibilities are endless when it comes to creating your own projects. Praise to Betty Barnden for producing a work of art! A big thank you for sharing your knowledge of the craft of crochet with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 18 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 75 Crocheted Floral Blocks: Beautiful Patterns to Mix and Match for Throws, Accessories, Baby Blankets and More (Paperback)
What a fabulous book, so glad I bought it. Not only the patterns but tips on how to place blocks for joining, how to join with different stitches. A colour wheel and instructions on how to use it to choose colours for projects. And at the back of the book a few projects to get you using the blocks and fuelling the imagination for future projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ., 1 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 75 Crocheted Floral Blocks: Beautiful Patterns to Mix and Match for Throws, Accessories, Baby Blankets and More (Paperback)
Wonderful book, not only are there square blocks but circular, diamond, hexagonal and triangular. At the front of the book are several edgings, at back of the book are 4 projects, full instructions for joining the different types of blocks together are also included.

It has both charts and written instructions and the illustrations are beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well laid out, 30 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 75 Crocheted Floral Blocks: Beautiful Patterns to Mix and Match for Throws, Accessories, Baby Blankets and More (Paperback)
Really liked how the patterns were laid out - the written instructions and the drawn pattern as well. Some lovely patterns in there too which Im looking forward to trying. Piecing suggestions for mixing different patterns for the overall patterns are helpful too.
A good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely patterns, 12 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 75 Crocheted Floral Blocks: Beautiful Patterns to Mix and Match for Throws, Accessories, Baby Blankets and More (Paperback)
Lovely patterns to experiment with. Lots of designs for every ability , clearly set out and easy to follow. Well worth getting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEAUTIFUL, 3 April 2013
By 
Yogette "yogette" (The North, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 75 Crocheted Floral Blocks: Beautiful Patterns to Mix and Match for Throws, Accessories, Baby Blankets and More (Paperback)
Beautiful book to work your way through and improve your knowledge. There is nothing that cant achieved in this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice, 24 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 75 Crocheted Floral Blocks: Beautiful Patterns to Mix and Match for Throws, Accessories, Baby Blankets and More (Paperback)
Really nice and lot of variety, have not crochet any of the patterns yet but certainly give you a lot of choice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews