Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars highly reccommend
This is a brillaint book - highly imformative and interesting to read. (I have been reading it cover to cover in a quest to get to grips with acrylics)
Ideal for someone who like me struggles with understanding how to choose, mix and use colours and more specifically acrylic paints.

This book is split into 3 parts, the first part of the book is all about...
Published 21 months ago by zoek5m

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK
Gives very basic insights to colour knowledge, and if you try the different exercises I guess you will be wiser.
Published 9 months ago by Eva Vig


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars highly reccommend, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acrylic Artist's Guide to Exceptional Colour (Paperback)
This is a brillaint book - highly imformative and interesting to read. (I have been reading it cover to cover in a quest to get to grips with acrylics)
Ideal for someone who like me struggles with understanding how to choose, mix and use colours and more specifically acrylic paints.

This book is split into 3 parts, the first part of the book is all about understanding Pigment Properties; the handling of the paints, mediums, understanding technical things about the paints and pigments etc. The author talks about the importance of using single pigment paints which mix better than paints made of multiple pigments and she gives examples of the colours she recommends that relate to a colour wheel. This is referred to throughout the book. Although the author recommends artist quality paints, in the initial stages of colour explorations I decided to continue largely using my system 3 Acrylics and this has worked for me. I plan to use artist quality paints when I have mastered the basics though.

Section 2 is all about mixing colours and different ways that colours can work for different subjects or moods. The author shows you how colours are selected from the colour wheel and how they work alongside each other. Examples being complementary colours such as those opposite each other on the colour wheel, or the use of high and low key colours.

In section 3 everything starts to come together and examples are given about how to use the knowledge gained and select appropriate colour schemes. It's all quite fascinating and has changed the way I look at things. I'm looking forward to analysing how other artists have used colour.

This book has been a real eye opener for me and is an invaluable part of my collection of art books. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Acrylic tuition, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acrylic Artist's Guide to Exceptional Colour (Paperback)
This very informative book is great. Good price and arrived well packed and on time. I love this comprehensive work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acrylic Artist's Guide to Exceptional Colour (Paperback)
Gives very basic insights to colour knowledge, and if you try the different exercises I guess you will be wiser.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful information for amateur artists, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acrylic Artist's Guide to Exceptional Colour (Paperback)
Useful and informative book for budding acrylic artists. Very inspirational ideas. Extremely useful for the budding artist needing practical advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive guide to one's palette but at this stage ..., 24 Oct 2014
By 
Mr. C. G. Amory "Chris Amory" (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acrylic Artist's Guide to Exceptional Colour (Paperback)
A comprehensive guide to one's palette but at this stage I find it a little difficult to use as a reference guide. The parallel for me is the problem with some guide books on wild flowers. You have to know the name of what you are looking for when it is because you don't know that you are looking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Yeah a good book to have around you when you are painting ..., 19 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acrylic Artist's Guide to Exceptional Colour (Paperback)
Yeah a good book to have around you when you are painting and need advice. Also to read between projects, it's a good book, easy to read and understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Sep 2014
This review is from: Acrylic Artist's Guide to Exceptional Colour (Paperback)
Contains a lot of useful information on mixing of colours and using different pallets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is a good book with step by step explanation of techniques, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acrylic Artist's Guide to Exceptional Colour (Paperback)
I like it because it has inspirational illustrations and explanations on achieving different effects in your painting through guidelines presented in this colourful book. It may not be suitable for complete beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Acrylic Artist's Guide to Exceptional Colour
Acrylic Artist's Guide to Exceptional Colour by Lexi Sundell (Paperback - 28 Aug 2012)
£12.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews